We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very expensive good 3-star hotel but not a 4-star hotel”
Review of HC3 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
HC3 Hotel
Ranked #62 of 102 Hotels in Bologna
Reviewed 10 March 2013

We book this hotel at the time of a fair in Bologna. Room rate (240 euro) was outrageous for this hotel located in the outskirts of Bologna Historical Center (25 min by bus). Very noisy hotel: you can hear your neighbours TV, the people speaking in the corridor through the door, the maids yealing at each other in the early morning and the planes (the airport is a short taxi ride). We could not use the free Wifi because it was not reaching our floor. The TV screen is small and channels in other language than italian are limited, most fims are paying. The good thing about this hotel is that people at the reception desk and breakfast room are very kind & helpful. The hotel is clean. Room & bathroom are normally sized. Breakfast buffet is OK and included in the rate as well as coffee/tea breaks. Overall, this good 3-star hotel, definitely not a real 4-star, would have been perfect at a decent room rate. We had the impression that management was exploiting the situation as all other hotels were booked in town for the special fair. Avoid those dates if you would like to pay normal hotel rates as simple tourists. The city is entertaining & the food is delicious. We recommend drinking hot chocolate topped with thick cream (pana) at La Torinesa, the best in town. We also ended up at a small trattoria "il Tinello" where food is home made (20 euro/pax including Proseco wine).

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank voyagespro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (242)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 242 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2012

This place was over 300 Euro per night. It was okay, but nothing special. The mattress was hard.
The air conditioning was turned OFF!! It was October, but daytime temps were in the upper 70's.
The room was quite stuffy. When I inquired why the a/c wouldn't come on, I was told it was turned off for the season. We had to open a window to get some air, but then we heard all the street noises and traffic, including jets flying overhead. The room was small and we didn't have space for two suitcases to lay open. I would not advise staying there.
I will say that the staff was friendly and helpful though.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BuffaloGal56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

The hotel was worth booking,cheap,but clean and modern!Nice beds and matresses and shiny bathrooms. it is quite far from the centre, but bus No 11C stops actually just outside it. (stop Villa Erbosa) There is not anything nearby, but there are bus routes until 1 o'clock late at night! The pizza place and grocery were cosed in August, when we went...Breakfast was great,ncluding both savoury and sweet flavours and you could get tea, milk, chocolate or coffee anytime for free!Sheets were not changed daily, though...On the other hand, the receptionists were helpful!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barbaraThessaloniki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

The rooms are modern and clean.
The receptionnist was nice.
The mattress are news and a litle too hard

The breakfast and service during breakfast were not nice : the milk was cheesy and when we asked for some glasses because there were no more available for some time, the waitress told us that she saw it but she has not yet the time to bring clean one.
Therefore nobody dare to ask for fresh milk.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrHn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2011

I stayed in the hotel during Cersaie Fair. It was totally rip-off the charged me Euro 375 per night
It stayed its 4 star Hotel, but to my travel experience 2.5 - 3 it’s similar to Ibis or Holiday Inn Express standard.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mbehzad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

The hotel is 15 minutes bus ride from downtown. In itself is not too bad. But the air condition in the room was controlled centrally by the hotel and the room was warm all night and not comfortable in the middle of July. We decided to walk back from downtown to the hotel instead of waiting for the bus, we passed some shady area of the park and I was not comfortable. The breakfast was good. As long as you don't mind taking bus into town, it was OK place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mei Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2011

For a short business stay in Bologna, HC3 is a good choice. Friendly staff, free wireless WiFi, clean, modern, stylish rooms. Good cold breakfast buffet. Only snag is no restaurant so you have to eat out. Also only one english TV channel. You won't be watching TV though with Bologna to explore in the evenings.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thegenealogist_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bologna hotels
Borgo Panigale
My One Hotel Bologna
My One Hotel Bologna
#31 of 102 in Bologna
485 reviews
Best Western City Hotel
#30 of 102 in Bologna
763 reviews
Navile
Hotel Astor
Hotel Astor
#75 of 102 in Bologna
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Savena
Best Western Plus Tower Hotel Bologna
Flyon Hotel
#72 of 102 in Bologna
643 reviews
Navile
Executive Suite Hotel
Executive Suite Hotel
#52 of 102 in Bologna
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HC3 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HC3 Hotel

Address: Via Dell'Arcoveggio 46/4, 40129 Bologna, Italy
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna > Navile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Luxury Hotel in Bologna
Price Range: £47 - £275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — HC3 Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your HC3 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hc3 Hotel Bologna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing