We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The perfect place to stay in Bologna”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Bologna, Province of Bologna, Emilia-Romagna

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
justin w
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“The perfect place to stay in Bologna”
Reviewed 6 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Wow - what a beautiful appartment, right in the centre of Bologna. The location is perfect, and every aspect of it is perfect - the bathroom, the bedroom, the living room, the kitchen (yes, it's that spacious) are just lovely - and to top it all there is a roof terrace with glorious views over to San Luca. And it's totally quiet - no rooms are anywhere near any roads and so you get a lovely quiet night.

And our host, Maria Cristina communicates very very well and is ever so friendly and her husband showed us round the place on arrival.

The only point to note is that the appartment is on the 3rd floor and there is no lift.

So as long as the stairs are no issue, stay here if you visit Bologna!!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Aug 2017
Ciao Justin, ti ringrazio tantissimo per essere stato mio ospite e per aver così tanto apprezzato l'Atelier di Marcella.
Cari saluti,
maria cristina
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flossie03...
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic apartment”
Reviewed 30 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

This is a lovely apartment - having everything that you may need. It was light, comfortable, airy and everything was spotlessly clean. It is also in a great location - near to everything but away from more touristy parts. The roof top terrace was fantastic with beautiful views over the city - the furniture on the terrace allows you to dine or sunbathe.
Maria Cristina is a most charming and helpful host, and she always responded quickly to any queries via text.
In the apartment there are numerous books, guides and information regarding Bologna
We have stayed in many apartments in Italy and this is one of the best. We highly recommend it to anyone visiting Bologna - it would also be a good base to explore the other wonderful towns of Emilia Romagna.
Thank you so much Maria Cristina

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jun 2017
Many Thanks Teresa!
It was really great to have you as a guest at Atelier di Marcella in Bologna.
I wish you all the best and I hope to meet you again.
maria cristina
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kalusn
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great appartment in the centre”
Reviewed 6 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

I arrived with two friends of mine over the weekend 1. May.
Already before we started our Journey Maria Christina was very helpful on contacting me.
When we arrived she and her husband welcomed us very warmly and helpful!
The appartment is very clean and cozy and the rooftop the highlight! We enjoyed our stay a lot and got back to the appartment for some breaks its really perfectly located to reach everything by walking.
Just only be aware that the third person sleeps in the living room which might prevent you from going upstairs in the morning. ;)
I would definitly recommend this place and would get back myself.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 May 2017
Thanks a lot Nadine and friends.
We are waiting for you again in Bologna!
maria cristina e gastone
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maggie M
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful apartment with stunning rooftop terrace in central Bologna”
Reviewed 17 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

The Atelier di Marcella is a beautifully appointed, spacious apartment in the classy Via Farina right next to the historic centre of Bologna. It has the most wonderful roof terrace with 360 degree views of the Bologna rooftops and surrounding hills. There are shops within seconds of your door selling everything you need - including one of the most well stocked and gorgeous fruit and veg shops we've ever come across. The strawberries! There are also too many restaurants to mention within walking distance - though you could just eat all the time at the welcoming trattoria just a couple of doors along which offers great, local dishes. Bologna is also full of interesting places to visit -the San Stefano complex of seven churches in one is a must as is the appetite building walk up through the colonnades to San Luca with glorious views of the surrounding hills and the outskirts of the city. We also loved the Very moving terracotta statues of The Lamentation by Niccolo dell'Arca in The Sanctuary of Santa Maria della Vita. We also used Bologna as a base to visit other nearby cities by train. The bus and train service is great. You can get to Florence in 30 minutes, Ravenna and Parma in one hour twenty. We can't end this review without mentioning the owners of this amazing apartment: Maria Cristina and Gastone. They really made our visit special with such a warm welcome and they were incredibly helpful when we had questions about our stay. We would thoroughly recommend a visit to the Atelier do Marcella and would like to return ourselves one day.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Apr 2017
Thank you so much Maggie!
We hope to meet you again in Bologna.
Maria Cristina e Gastone
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kenny028
Derry, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Wonderful apartment in heart of bologna”
Reviewed 30 November 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Fell in love with this apartment on the basis of the reviews and photos booked it for 5 nights in September and decided it was every bit as good as they suggested.the atelier is really big inside well looked after with 3 levels inside.most striking is the access to the roof terrace with fabulous views over the Bologna skyline and surrounding hills.there about 60 steps up to the apartment and if like us you are over 60 you might need to catch your breath on the way up but it's perfectly manageable.once you leave the apartment block you are out on one of the main porticoes streets with excellent shopping _more important to you are immediately in the heart of the quadrilateral the food centre of Bologna.
Maria Christina and fast one were excellent hosts meeting us after midnight when we arrived and giving all the information we needed to enjoy our stay.if you plan on going to Bologna the atelier do marcella is well worth exploring.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and size and roof terrace
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Dec 2016
Thank you so much for your nice review Kenny, as well as you yourself were very gracious hosts.
We would love to meet you again in Bologna.
maria cristina
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
I2world
Heidelberg
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A home in the center of Bologna”
Reviewed 5 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

I spent a weekend in this lovely house.
It is perfectly located in the center of the city but doesn't have the noise of the streets around.
It was really clean and cosy.

It is a little bit old building but it is very well maintained.
Just a warning: it has no lift. But it is just in the third floor.

The landlords were really kind and were all the time concerned for our comfort and needs.

We had a little problem with the internet connection (it was too slow sometimes of the day) but they took care of it.

I really recommend everybody to feel like at home in Bologna in the AtelierdiMarcela. It was a pleasure to stay there.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Nov 2016
Thank you Raquel ,
you have been really lovely guests!
We hope to meet you again in Bologna.
maria cristina e gastone
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
61fiona
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning, luxurious, quiet, central with a warm welcome”
Reviewed 29 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Maria Cristina and Gastone are lovely hosts, so welcoming and helpful, their apartment is just a few minutes walk from the town centre, along wonderful porticos (good if it's raining). The apartment is light spacious comfortable (especially the bed) and quiet, it looks out over a lovely garden at the back of the palazzo and the roof terrace upstairs is private and very spacious and has panoramic views, we managed to have 3 days sunbathing even in late october. The apartment is scrupulously clean and the kitchen is well organised and has everything you could want. There is a fairly large supermarket just across the street and many restaurants and cafes just next door. We have stayed in many apartments and we rate this one as the best, we are going to go back again next year!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Oct 2016
Cara Fiona, we sincerely thank you for your detailed and positive review. It fully confirms our desire to give our guests a genuine home in Bologna and to welcome them as our friends.
Then we wait for next year!
Ciao,
maria cristina and gastone
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing