We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful museum, woeful staff” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of MAMbo - Museo d'Arte Moderna di Bologna

MAMbo - Museo d'Arte Moderna di Bologna
Ranked #24 of 317 things to do in Bologna
Attraction details
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful museum, woeful staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2012

Absolutely loved this museum - the pieces have been carefully selected and showcase a wide spectrum of different styles and artists, and I loved the building and how the art was displayed.

The only downside of this great place was the extremely poor attitude of the staff. From buying the tickets, to browsing the bookshop we were met with sullen responses, constant suspicious glares and a general unfriendly attitude (how dare we visit this museum???!) It was a great pity, and totally bewildering. I would recommend visiting, but don't expect to be bowled over by friendliness. I hope they can sort this out and make this place a joy to visit.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank psychic_mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    152
    67
    21
    24
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Interesting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

Our expectations were not very high as many of the reviews had been negative. We decided to visit this place as it was open all day on sunday and was not too far from our hotel and as a change from the old and traditional surroundings we visited diring the previous week. This part of town is a bit different, less pretty, but it is always interesting to see variery. It is not a long walk from the main attractions as long as you take a map it is easy to find. The exhibits were not really to my taste but modern art often has a surprise factor which does entertain. I saw a piece which looked like a fairly ordinary black and white reclining figure but just as i was about to leave it i noticed that one of the lower legs was replaced by a finger. There is also a video made in the 1970s where hundreds of people are filtered through a doorway flanked by a nude man and a nude women, quite entertaining to see their responses. The stsff all look pretty grim and seem to follow visitors around very closely, still, that must be their brief. Even if they would smile or say boun gourno it mught be a little less intimidating. A nice airy white space to spend a quiet hour or so. 6euro entry charge at present.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank katharine l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Interesting modern”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012

It is really nice to see a collection of mostly Italian modern art when most tourist spend there time looking at the old. Great building, English information, nice collection. If your hungry go to Il Tartufo in the small street behind the museum via del Porto 34.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank NMeliW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Try It At Home”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

MAMbo has a very attractive building in which the collection and special exhibitions are well presented. The space is airy, well lighted, and quite conducive to enjoying the art. MAMbo is unfortunately in a less interesting quarter of town, so although Bologna's excellent bus system makes it easy to visit, you are not likely to drift by it unless you make it your destination. And as for the "enjoying the art" part, you can assess in advance the likelihood that you'll do so by checking out the following websites: (1) the MAMbo website (http://www.mambo-bologna.org/en/); (2) Massimo Kaufmann's (http://www.massimokaufmann.com/works/2007-2011/), since MAMbo has a substantial exhibit of his works, and (3) This article on Plamen Dejanoff (http://www.public-republic.net/the-bronze-house.php/) since the it is MAMbo's principal show right now and takes up the entire ground floor. If you like what you see after sampling these three websites, MAMbo will be a lovely destination. All in all, we found it to be pleasant but only mildly diverting. We should add that we thought MAMbo's admission fee of 6 euros standard (4 euros reduced for students and seniors) was quite reasonable.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Not_The_Donald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good collection of contemporary art”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

A very interesting collection of modern and contemporary art with a distinct Italian focus that's well worth the short detour from the main sites of Bologna. The Gattuso near the entrance is particularly impressive, as is the final room with later 20th century work.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank discoverypark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed MAMbo - Museo d'Arte Moderna di Bologna also viewed

Bologna, Province of Bologna
 
Bologna, Province of Bologna
 

Been to MAMbo - Museo d'Arte Moderna di Bologna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing