We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Minimalist B&B In Bologna A Block From Via UgoBassi”
Review of Mua'

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mua'
Ranked #25 of 295 Bologna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Minimalist B&B In Bologna A Block From Via UgoBassi”
Reviewed 19 September 2013

From the minute you walk in, the design tells you that the owners have a refined aesthetic. The dottore and her architect husband made great use of the space and their minimalist approach gives the traveler a quiet and tranquil room for relaxation after a long day of exploring this charming city. The bus from the airport left us less than 2 blocks from MUA. The rooms were meticulously clean, the shower had plenty of hot water and the breakfast was plentiful.

Room Tip: MUA is on a very quiet side street in the centro storico, so all rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vidadoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    43
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
107
7
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Just returned from a 3 night stay in Mua. It was our first stay in a B & B and we thoroughly enjoyed it. We were glad that we had taken a taxi from the airport as even the taxi driver looked a little puzzled when we pulled up outside the door saying Domus,
We were met by the charming Umberto who showed us a map with all the main sights and told us about breakfast etc, gave us the room card that got us in the main door and into our room. The room is very minimal in style, which was what attracted us. It has everything that you would need. Air conditioning and safe all worked perfectly. The bathroom was modern and had everything that you needed. Beds were firm but comfortable, Breakfast was nice, usual Italian breakfast,with lovely fresh squeezed orange and pastries.
We found it an easy walk into all the main sights, in fact Bologna is a very easily walkable city. You could see everything in a day if you didn't have time, We had read about the covered walkways but had no idea just how many of the streets would be like that. They were beautiful and if you are into shopping there is certainly plenty of opportunity for some window shopping.
Mua lies between Via San Felice & Via del Pratello. At night Via del Pratello totally comes alive. There's just a buzz of voices. We ate dinner all 3 nights at 3 different places and had a lovely meal each time. There were bars a plenty so we never felt the need to go further at night,
Having walked a lot of the historical centre we certainly realised we had picked the right place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scunneredbywork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Stayed at Muà whilst attending a conference in Bologna. Whilst technically a B&B it is a far reach from any traditional B&B I have ever stayed in. The proprietor Uberto's brother is an architect and was responsible for the gorgeous modern minimalist interior design of Muà. It's a perfect counterpoint to the stunning traditional more ornate environment you'll find outside in the Bologna public buildings and churches.

Uberto was a most congenial and helpful host.

Breakfast is the traditional continental affair with a good choice of sliced meats and cheeses. Cereals, tea and coffee and orange juice is freshly squeezed at the breakfast bar.

The bedroom was beautifully styled and all the facilities were top notch. The bed was firm and comfortable and the uncluttered elegant decoration together with being in a quiet street makes for a perfect nights sleep.

I rather enjoyed doing away with the traditional elaborate hotel entrance and facilities that one has no use for and instead having a very simple and beautiful place to stay.

A perfect stay! (see pictures)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael51773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Not easy to join by car, but very well located in Bologna.
Great welcome by Umberto and Gita.
Nice interior, good bed, well working airco.
Breakfast very ok.
Just beware for the staircase if you have physical limitations or heavy bags !

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrunoMBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amman, Jordan
Level 6 Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

I was slightly unsure when I booked here - but what a surprise I got! From the minute we got there the most delightful owner personally comes down to great u and help u with luggage as there's no elevator (such a nice welcome), taking u upstairs to this beautifully designed place. Uberto is the best host/owner, he was so welcoming & warm, explained everything we needed to know & showing us how surprisingly close we were to everything on a map he provided us with. The B&B is designed in a very modern & minimal way, yet there's this elegant vibe throughout it. I fell in love with it. I'll be staying here whenever I come back to Bologna without a second thought. You can't really want anything more, our room was spacious, its simplicity in design is very comforting, its just what anyone would need, & the simple ambiance & the way they've used the lighting makes it really stand out. The bed is too comfortable. There's a table with 2 chairs which come in very handy, and the tea/coffee making facilities are a plus (in addition to the minibar & safe box). The bathroom is my fave. part - its really fantastic. The bathroom I have to confess makes u feel like you're staying in a 4 if not 5 star hotel. The design/ facilities & fixtures, the rain shower, even the toiletries. The natural lighting in both the room & the bathroom makes it so airy. There isn't much of what one would call a view from our room, but its nice how modern the hotel is inside these beautifully old buildings. Its even been rated in a design magazine. The breakfast is really good, fresh & delicious. It has what anyone would need without going all out & putting things no one would actually eat. & the host in the morning is so sweet asking u if its good or if there's things u would prefer more the next day. The location is fantastic, really its probably the best place to stay. Bologna is quite a small city so its easy to get anywhere on foot, but from here its too easy. So near to all the sites you'd want to c, with a plus that the area is so alive. Its packed with people at night and there are so many restaurants and places to hang out just around the corner (literally) which stay open till late & serve delicious food. And there's still the upside of it being so close to all this yet in a narrow street where its quiet. Take a left once leaving the B&B to get to this alive street. Also there's a supermarket near as well. Overall I felt bologna is very very safe. I honestly can't say that I had trouble finding the B&B as we came from the train station in a taxi (too much luggage), so its an easy find for us. All in all it was a terrific stay, & I definitely say to anyone who's planning to visit - STAY HERE! This place is worth every penny.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AreejDaoud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Englewood, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Mua is an upscale b&b that is more like a hotel: clean, well-appointed rooms, great continental breakfast, and close access to tourist attractions. Uberto, the owner, was quick to satisfy any requests and gave us good advice on city tours and restaurants. Gita (served breakfast, did housekeeping and spoke excellent English) remembered our personal preferences for coffee and juice (deliciously fresh!) which made us feel welcome.

Mua is right in the city center. The neighborhood is full of shops and restaurants. It is a short walk from the Piazza Maggiore for all city center attractions. The central train station is less than a mile away. I recommend taking a taxi from the airport because the cost for the train is similar and you still have to walk.

Room Tip: Rooms at the far end of the hall won't hear breakfast set-up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eas555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adana, Turkey
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

MUA is like a guesthouse.Very clean and the owner of the hotel Uberto is so helpful..You have to get a map before coming.Maybe first it is hard to find but when you find it, it is really very near to the places that you want to visit and see.I love breakfast.Thank you Uberto for everything....

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank handab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bologna hotels
Albergo Centrale
#24 of 103 in Bologna
703 reviews
Porto
Hotel Albergo Atlantic
Hotel Albergo Atlantic
#22 of 103 in Bologna
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santo Stefano
B&B ayHome
B&B ayHome
#14 of 295 in Bologna
141 reviews
Central Avenue B&B
#29 of 295 in Bologna
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mua'? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mua'

Property: Mua'
Address: Via De' Coltellini 6, 40122 Bologna, Italy
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 295 B&Bs / Inns in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mua' 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mua' is a modern and elegant structure located in the downtown of Bologna, near to San Francesco square, in one of the oldest and most characteristic areas of the city. It is also near to Maggiore square and the two towers, in a limited traffic area with a lot of public services, such as bus, restaurants, and pub. Mua' is in an historical and artistic building, completely restructured with the aim of recreating a comfortable place with a lovely atmosphere of great design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mua' reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing