We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury and traditional style perfectly mixed”
Review of I Portici Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
I Portici Hotel
Ranked #23 of 102 Hotels in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2014

This is really a special hotel with the only one star Michelin restaurant in Bologna. Unfortunately this was fully booked (make sure you book in advance, it really is worth it). This is surprising, since the city has a lot to offer in dining. The hotel offers a good mix between modern luxury (although not overdone) and Italian authenticity. The staff is very friendly and helpful. You feel at home. There is a pleasant teraas and lounge bar to have drinks. Our room 408 was noisy so avoid a room near the street but reserve one at the back since it was noisy. Our children did not have that problem. Breakfast with fresh orange juice (nice change!) in the Miche;in star restaurant which has a nice atmosphere.

Room Tip: Choose a hotel away from the street. It tends to be noisy otherwise.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank HV1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,442)
There are newer reviews for I Portici Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

372 - 378 of 1,442 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Upfront, the hotel looks like an awesome deal to good to be true. Altough not dissappointed, the costs including parking and breakfast turned out to be a lot higher (43 EUR surcharge for two people). The hotel design is on the spot (with the exception of the terrible all-black uniforms of the staff) but the rooms are a bit sterile. The breakfast is not too bad, but I would have expected a bit more eating from a kitchen of a michelin starred restaurant. What we got was the same type of food you would get at a Best Western, yet with better ingredients. Nevertheless, the location is fantastic and I would come back to this hotel again when visiting Bologna.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Nikola C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

This hotel does not show itself from outside. You should be in and stay there to discover this hidden beauty. The rooms are clean and comfortable. Some of the rooms have high ceilings. The hotel is a part of an old theater. You have the chance to have your breakfast in front of the theater scene where the ceiling is high with old mural. They have a Michellin star restaurant. Although I have not tried, it looked very nice.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Earibal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We loved this hotel! Comfortable everything functioned superb staff lovely breakfast at 10€ per person.
The welcome drink was a nice unexpected touch and good wines, not rubbish. As it was raining heavily we ate in the Terrace bar very good food.
Impressed by that we bit the bullet for the outstanding Michelin starred restaurant on our second night. Expensive, formal dining but outstanding value. A similar meal in London would be twice the price. Compliments to the chef and the restaurant team for a very memorable meal.
Overall we would unhesitatingly recommend this hotel for couples. This hotel is not for backpackers. Don't come with small children or noisy kids - it isn't for you!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Gethin683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We had a very successful 3 night stay at I Portcini Hotel. A good room size, beautiful (Very) high ceiling with frieze, excellent breakfast and very friendly staff made our stay memorable. Well located, within less than 10 minutes walk to the Bologna Centrale station, this hotel is very god value. Recommend the Terrazo restaurant.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Malcolm C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Hotel location, cleanliness and comfort were excellent. Staff were very pleasant and helpful, particularly Simone at reception. Great spread for breakfast, stylish terrace bar. Michelin star restaurant on premises. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
1  Thank KMB29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

We were very pleased with our stay. The service was impeccable, the rooms were pleasantly designed. We ate at the restaurant which had a fantastic ambience, during the summer. We have been traveling for the past two weeks and so far this has been the best value. I could not recommend it enough for your overnight stay in Bologna.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank phil_up81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bologna hotels
Metropolitan Hotel
#8 of 102 in Bologna
1,526 reviews
San Vitale
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
#2 of 102 in Bologna
885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aemilia Hotel
#4 of 102 in Bologna
2,472 reviews
Al Cappello Rosso
#9 of 102 in Bologna
815 reviews
Starhotels Excelsior
#24 of 102 in Bologna
1,654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to I Portici Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about I Portici Hotel

Address: Via Dell'Indipendenza 69, 40121 Bologna, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Bologna
#14 Luxury Hotel in Bologna
#15 Business Hotel in Bologna
#18 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
Price Range: £91 - £610 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — I Portici Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your I Portici Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
i Portici Bologna
Hotel i Portici

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing