We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stopover”
Review of I Portici Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
I Portici Hotel
Ranked #24 of 103 Hotels in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Stopover”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

An easily accessible hotel. 5 minute walk from railway station and airport bus stop and 15 minute walk into Piazza Maggiore- centre of old town. Rooms are very clean and adequate for a short stay, but may be a little sparse in hanging /storage facilities for a longer stay. The air conditioning was ok, but in our room was rather noisy. The bed was comfortable. Breakfast, included in our price, was fresh and various and the restaurant is a delightful venue being in the old theatre.
The staff in hotel and restaurant were helpful without being over bearing. We stayed overnight at the end of a holiday on our way to the airport. It was exactly the right choice and the complimentary glass of wine in the bar area was a lovely touch. Would stay here overnight again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isa3524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    609
    500
    169
    62
    32
See reviews for
158
554
90
350
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Lovely boutique small hotel in Central Bologna. Minimalist decor is not to everyone's taste but we liked it. Situated in an old building the rooms had lovely high ceilings and neutral colours in the wall. Comfortable bed with European bedding. Air conditioning was hard to regulate and consequently noisy at night. Fluffy towels and plenty of them. Modern bathroom. Great shower. Breakfast was not included. But we bought it one morning for 10 euro per person. Buffet continental with some hot options including eggs, bacon and sausage. Drinks on the terrace at night was very pleasant. Attentive, professional but unobtrusive staff. Great value for money and top location within walking distance of train station. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley_Rod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2014

only stayed one night. centrally located. clean. nice welcome drink. price/value ok. negative point: by getting a free upgrade to a bigger room, we were a bit disappointed by entering the room - a room with obscure glas windows, starting at 1.50 m - so there was no view at all.

Room Tip: check the orientation and glass type of the windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maarten360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippines
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

We chose this hotel because of its proximity to the train station, as we were also traveling to nearby Modena and Maranello. But it is also only a short walk to the main piazza and many shops, cafés and restaurants abound. We had a large 3rd floor room with a pretty balcony, a nice comfy bed and a big bathroom. Housekeeping may have been remiss in cleaning the dusty coffee/tea service set and the stained rinse cup (till the day we left!) but at least the bed, floors, bath and trash were always cleaned out. Other than that, I'd say we had a pretty good stay here.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tetd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Only stayed one night, but wish it had been more. Originally reserved 2 standard rooms for a family of 4, but was able to upgrade to the Imperial Suite for not much more cost - GET THIS ROOM IF YOU CAN! 3000+ square ft, 2 master suites, exclusive roof top terrace, AMAZING VIEWS, just fabulous!!! Now, having said that - the room had issues: the toilet didn't shut off - I had to pull off the wall access panel to manually shut off the flow valve. Also, one shower head setting shot water out at such force that it blew under and out the shower door. Easily solved by switching settings, but still. It's the flagship room so there should be no issues with the bathroom. Regardless, the staff was excellent, the room luxurious - the property just needs to tie up some loose ends post-renovation.

Room Tip: Get the suite if it is in your budget! Worth every euro.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Planegator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dungarvan
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We were absolutely delighted with our experience of this hotel it is a very short walk (5 minutes stroll) from the centre of Bologna. The rooms are large and furnished in a minimalist, modern way that might not be to everyone's taste but I really liked them. The bed is comfortable. Our bedroom had no view to speak of as we were on the ground floor. The air conditioning was superb. The breakfast was fantastic scrambled egg, bacon, sausage, cold cuts, multiple types of fresh bread and pastries. Freshly squeezed orange juice was fantastic. Coffee was spectacular. Lastly I'd like to mention the staff. We felt that they made the hotel and were it's most important attribute, unfailingly friendly and polite, several of the ladies assisted us making bookings for restaurants & tours. They really helped make our stay in Bologna a fantastic experience.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank williewh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

I read the review that Silverbug74 wrote earlier, I should say we AGREE that it felt like a hospital :(
We stayed in a very nice hotel in Florence which we felt we were staying at someone's home. Very nice staff and cozy environment.
Then we arrived at this blank hotel (imagine our disappointment). It is located close to the train station. We walked to hotel with our luggages easily.
This hotel is decorated in white color with leather furniture. At first glance, it looks nice and clean BUT then you realize you DO NOT feel comfortable there. We did not want to stay in the room longer than necessary.
I could not sleep at the first night. I got an allergy reaction to the bed sheet. Possibly due to cleaning detergent used for washing the bed sheets. I should mention I have never had a similar experience before. My husband called the reception in the middle of the night but they did not have any other type of sheet. Also the noise from AC made it hard to sleep.
We experiened a problem with shower. Water did not go down the drain in normal speed. So we had to wait and again turn the shower on.
We never tried the breakfast or restaurant. Although when we arrived, they welcomed us with two tickets for glass of wine in the bistro only during the first night. We were out in the city and never used it.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samaneh U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bologna hotels
San Vitale
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
#2 of 103 in Bologna
839 reviews
Metropolitan Hotel
#7 of 103 in Bologna
1,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aemilia Hotel
#4 of 103 in Bologna
2,366 reviews
Royal Hotel Carlton
#18 of 103 in Bologna
743 reviews
Starhotels Excelsior
#23 of 103 in Bologna
1,600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to I Portici Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about I Portici Hotel

Property: I Portici Hotel
Address: Via Dell'Indipendenza 69, 40121 Bologna, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Bologna
#14 Luxury Hotel in Bologna
#15 Business Hotel in Bologna
#18 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — I Portici Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your I Portici Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
i Portici Bologna
Hotel i Portici

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing