We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected”

Trattoria del rosso
Ranked #213 of 1,846 Restaurants in Bologna
Price range: US$10 - US$30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Serving typical food of Bologna, Trattoria Del Rosso uses only the freshest, hand-made pasta. Only family, authentic recipes are used to guarantee that you have a true country, Emilia Romagna dining experience. Try Crescentine with Salumi (cold cuts), Tagliatelle alla Bolognese, Tortelloni Burro e Salvia and other typical dishes, in downtown, historical Bologna.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

This was the last item on my list of restaurants to try in Bologna. We came on easter sunday so I believe it was the only restaurant opened at the time. The food was actually a lot better than anticipated. As i was eating i realize that i was eating some really good stuff.

Be sure to get the mortedella on fried dough and the tortellini de brodo.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank RichieBearington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,332 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    467
    1,045
    566
    183
    71
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely lovely”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Been there many times with family. Like home made food from my grandma's kitchen. Loved the smell the service, nothing extra simple, pure full with love

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Varga I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Simple but so good!”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

The Trattoria was close to our hotel and heard good things about it. And we weren't disappointed. From the outside it looks small, but there's an entire back area hidden from view. It was already busy when we arrived at 8 for dinner. There was no place outside, so we were directed to the back room (which is a great option is you aren't fond of cigarette smoke mixing with your dinner). I can't say enough about the food itself. It was simple, but so fresh and so good! You might want to consider getting there early. Some of what we wanted to order was already sold out. The server was somewhat brusque but charming in her own way nonetheless. Next time I'm in Bologne, I'm definitely going back for the Tagliatelle with prosciutto in butter.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Drew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Traditional Bolognese cuisine!”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This is traditional home-style cooking at it's best. It is a true trattoria, so it is NOT fancy, but the food is delicious and fresh! The owner takes great pride in his food, so everything comes out hot and tasty! The house wine is also quite good. If you want a casual and traditional Bolognese meal, this is the place for you!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kelsey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Traditional trattoria”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Expect to wait for a table here. We got here at 1.30 pm and had a 15-minute wait. Customers are locals as well as tourists - always a good sign. Genuine, traditional Bolognese cooking with no frills. My impression is that they take pride in their food, and appreciate it when you appreciate it! The service can be brusque as they're so busy, but when we showed an interest in the menu items, asked questions and thanked them, they were appreciative. We even had a tiny discount off the final bill. We had tagliatelle al ragu (of course) which was pretty good, and a stinco (pork shank). Don't come here expecting fancy food and service, this is homestyle cooking.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Audrey63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trattoria del rosso also viewed

Bologna, Province of Bologna
Bologna, Province of Bologna
 
Bologna, Province of Bologna
Bologna, Province of Bologna
 

Been to Trattoria del rosso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing