We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food and entertainment in Bologna city centre”

Cantina Bentivoglio
Ranked #154 of 1,835 Restaurants in Bologna
Price range: US$22 - US$73
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: San Vitale
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing food and entertainment in Bologna city centre”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We went here for my Mum's 50th birthday as she loves jazz music. We were pleasantly surprised to find the food was also of an excellent standard.
Tortellini and beef fillet, the best I've ever eaten.

Dessert was also incredible.

Wide selection of wines.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kimberley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

909 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    246
    394
    157
    70
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paw Paw, Michigan
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Food was fantastic, Music was a bonus”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Been in Italy over a week now, most of it in Bologna, some in Rome and this was my best meal so far. We are actually going back tonight. It is a bit pricey, but everything over here is pricey, especially if you are going to sit and have a real multiple course meal.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Krahzee189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pero, Italy
Level Contributor
221 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

The Via Mascarella offers a choice of restaurants and bars, but this is probably your best bet. Service is kind and prompt and the food absolutely top notch. Your average check will be in the region of Eur 40 per head, which is very good value for the quality of the meal and the surroundings. The restaurant offers live jazz on many nights, so I would recommend you play it safe and make a table reservation.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Teerex51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
97 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Fun night!”
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We were looking for a place to hear some live music and our hotel suggested Cantina Bentivoglio. We had a light dinner and then enjoyed the music. We didn't have a reservation, just walked in, and they were able to accommodate us, but the place definitely filled up. It seemed like a place that was popular with local Bologna residents vs. tourists. The performers were fun and we enjoyed ourselves. Nice atmosphere.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ellen5181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing atmosphere and food”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

After a few reviews saying this was the place to get some of the best, traditional bolognese sauce, we had to check it out, and we're so glad we did! We went during the week, so it wasn't as packed as some of the other reviews we have read said. But by about 9:30pm, the restaurant did get pretty crowded. The atmosphere is fantastic with live jazz music and small, intimate tables. The pasta was perfectly cooked and the bolognese ragu was spot on. Would definitely recommend to anyone looking for traditional Italian food and good entertainment.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank willsie9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cantina Bentivoglio also viewed

Bologna, Province of Bologna
Bologna, Province of Bologna
 
Bologna, Province of Bologna
 

Been to Cantina Bentivoglio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing