We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peace and quiet” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Castello

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Castello
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Modena
Certificate of Excellence
Heraklion, Greece
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Peace and quiet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

We decided to stay an extra day after just arriving here. The staff were very kind and helpful. Free internet access. Lovely gardens to relax in, fabulous buffet breakfast lovely large bedrooms it was a treat relaxing here before we drove south for our holiday.

Room Tip: No resturant or swimming pool at the hotel. There are some places to eat nearby ask the hotel staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    129
    18
    7
    1
See reviews for
85
143
14
79
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
387 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

We checked into Hotel Castello the day of the May 29th earthquake. By the way, this is NOT normally an earthquake area -- from what I've learned, last time this happened was in the year 1300 so it was a real fluke.

The staff was great from first moment to last, couldn't do enough to make our stay nice. They started by offering us a choice of a room in the original part of the hotel or the newer wing. The original part looks lovely -- but there is no elevaor so we opted for the new side. The room we got was in a corner of the new building and it was really big, with a nice bathroom. The side view looked out over trees -- the front view was across farm land (and the rear parkade but not bad!) The cross ventilation was lovely -- it was a warm day and the breezes across the trees was really nice. And the furniture is in keeping with the "castle" atmosphere.

The bed was excellent and the free wi-fi a great plus. We had a rental car so the free parking was another bonus and the drive into the historic area is only 10 minutes (best parking for the old section is on the north side, near Gate 6!)

We also went out to one of the gazebos to enjoy a beer, which they willingly brought out to us from the bar.. Beers were reasonably priced (I think three or four Euros for the larger size) -- especially for a hotel.

Finally, the buffet breakfast had great choices: fruit, yogurt, juices, cheeses, meats, cereal, lots of baked goods, coffee any way you like (cappucino please!)

All in all a very, very pleasant stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room to take advantage of the cross-ventilation and extra views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ASASG_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
118 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

A manor house built in 780AD that has been extensively remodeled into a quaint inn about 10 minutes outside of Modena. It has 38 rooms and offers free WiFi, a business center with a computer and printer, and pleasant grounds with gazebos to sit outside and enjoy the gardens. A nice breakfast buffet with lots of options is included in the room rates. The bar is open in the evenings but breakfast is their only food service. The staff is very helpful and any problems are resolved quickly. (I had two light bulbs in my bathroom that were out and they came up and replaced them within minutes) I would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay here again.

Room Tip: Some rooms have private balconies. Second floor are best rooms. No elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest
Level Contributor
116 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

Only 10 minutes drive from Modena downtown, an extremely quiet and relaxed place. Easy parking, free use of Internet, comfortable rooms. Antonia at the bar prepares simply the best capuccino I ever had in life and all receptionist are very kind - especially Francesca, who gave me a wealth of information about cheese farms, vinegar factories and restaurants to visit in the area - all her advises turned out to be excellent! I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KisgyorgyEva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
109 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2011

A rare trio: real old castle tower combined with every comfort you could hope for AND lovely lovely staff.
My 10 year old daughter wants to go back, she loved it and so did we!

Room Tip: great great restaurant 10 mins drive : Trattoria Paganine (in Paganine itself) MUST have the torte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Giacomina63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Modena hotels
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Milano Palace Hotel
2.3 mi away
Hotel Cervetta 5
Hotel Cervetta 5
#4 of 34 in Modena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
4.5 mi away
UNA Hotel Modena
UNA Hotel Modena
#1 of 1 in Baggiovara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Liberta
2.6 mi away
Hotel Estense
Hotel Estense
#7 of 34 in Modena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Canalgrande
Hotel Canalgrande
#6 of 34 in Modena
3.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Castello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Castello

Property: Hotel Castello
Address: Via Armando Pica 321, 41126, Modena, Italy
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Modena > Modena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Modena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Castello 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Hotel Castello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing