We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, quaint, and wonderfully priced.”
Review of Hotel Castello

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Castello
Ranked #2 of 33 Hotels in Modena
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice, quaint, and wonderfully priced.”
Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

My husband and I spent one night here on our food tour through Emilia Romana. The hotel was clean, nice, and the staff was very friendly and helpful. Great breakfast included. Would definitely come back, especially for the price! The woman at the front desk set us up a balsamic vinegar tasting at San Doninno, which I would highly recommend!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    135
    18
    7
    1
See reviews for
90
147
14
81
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We had a very good experience with this hotel. We made a mistake with our reservation and arrived one day prior to the reservation date, but the hotel accommodated us with no problem, for the same rate of the original reservation, in a very comfortable room. The hotel is lovely and we loved to see the family working in the hotel. The location, although in the outskirts of Modena, was not a problem for us, as we had a car. And dinner was very good at. Restaurant called La Vecchia Fornace, about 1km from the hotel by car at Strada Vignolese 1120. We loved that the restaurant was packed with locals every night, and the food was just delicious.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shs_orlando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
100 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Nice Hotel, close to the centre of modena (5 minutes by car). Clean hotel with descent breakfast.
Nice garden, Clean rooms, well maintained. We stayed in the new building. One room with bath, one without (same price). Friendly staff. Overall nothing to complain.

Room Tip: ask for a bath, a few rooms have a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petah Tiqwa, Israel
Level Contributor
89 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

This hotel is not like all the others. It's located outside of Modena, a few minutes ride only, which means you have to be traveling by car. But you get to experience a taste of the countryside atmosphere.
It looks like a small castle, and has two buildings. We stayed not in the main one, and couldn't find any downside to that. On the opposite, we had a balcony, which the main building doesn't offer all rooms.
The rooms were very wide and spacious, the bathroom too. Everything decorated lovingly, and creates a great atmosphere for your visit.
The hotel offers lots of parking space. And you have it's charming little garden to explore if you like.
The only downside was the big amount of bugs, from being so close to nature...
The breakfast was very very rich, and the staff was more than just nice, trying to fulfill your every need. They even gave us a delicious package of cookies on the check out!...

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Masha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gold coast
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

This place is just wonderful. Set a little bit out of town in great gardens, real old world charm. Staff were fantastic, very helpful and good with English. Room 258 on third floor very nice with good view of garden and off main building. Breakfast included very good, especially since the lady had moto Gp practice on. Gift of biscuts as we were leaving for on the road very nice touch. Would recommend highly

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nowweare4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mosta, Malta
Level Contributor
217 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

This hotel exceeded our expections. It is located a few metres off the main road of Modena, yet it is extremely peaceful and cosy. Large well kept gardens surround the hotel with ample parking. We were given a huge room in the new wing, which, would bring many 5 star hotels to shame. Well decorated, rich solid furniture and a huge bathroom with every possible amenity available. More like a suite than a hotel room!
Wifi everywhere, a vast selection buffet breakfast, and staff who are more than willing to help. What more could you ask for??
More importantly it is only a few minutes away from all Ferrari locations as well as Lamborghini. Certainly far better than the hotels which are closer to these venues, and certainly worth the effort. Definitely recommended.

Room Tip: Try to stay in the new building - rooms are superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank markmosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

the best hotel i came across in Modena. Traditional and heritage hotel with good ambience and sorrundings. Food and stay were good experience. Breakfast system was elaborate and healthy.
Cycles to tour nearby areas were good. It seem you have come down to some Punjab Village clean and green setups nearby. Unforgettable experience because of good hotel staff and clean environments. Looks like a castle!!
I like the stay very much

Room Tip: Try this good hotel rooms on the east for sunshiny start
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hpreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Modena hotels
2.4 mi away
Best Western Premier Milano Palace Hotel
2.3 mi away
Hotel Cervetta 5
Hotel Cervetta 5
#3 of 33 in Modena
395 reviews
4.5 mi away
UNA Hotel Modena
UNA Hotel Modena
#1 of 1 in Baggiovara
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotel Estense
Hotel Estense
#6 of 33 in Modena
263 reviews
2.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Liberta
4.1 mi away
Hotel le Ville
Hotel le Ville
#7 of 33 in Modena
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Castello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Castello

Property: Hotel Castello
Address: Via Armando Pica 321, 41126, Modena, Italy
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Modena > Modena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 33 Hotels in Modena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Castello 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Hotel Castello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing