We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice experience”
Review of Hotel Castello

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Castello
Ranked #2 of 33 Hotels in Modena
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Really nice experience”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Very nice room in a very nice building, rich breakfast, Jacuzzi outside, hidden relax space among the trees. And close enough to city center (need for car however...). Just one night there, we loved it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adellascala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    135
    18
    7
    1
See reviews for
90
149
14
81
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

My wife & I arrived wet & tired after 3 hours on a motorcycle in the rain - we were warmly welcomed and settled into our room very efficiently. The hotel looks like a castle and the rooms are comfortable. It is ideally located just outside Modena and 20 mins from both the Lamborghini & Ferrari factories / museums. No restaurant, but the friendly staff can offer nearby recommendations or even dial for a take away pizza. Highly recommended.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank AMnDMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We booked this hotel with our two teenagers as we had a prior booking @ the Lamborghini factory (20 minutes away) so very convenient. It is also 5 minutes from the centre of Modena.
The Hotel is relatively new and designed to resemble an Italian castle.The rooms were great and Francesca the receptionist was particularly helpful. We had a great stay and our only negative really was in mid summer we would have liked a pool, instead of the 2 jacuzzis they have outside.
The Trattoria down the road was excellent too.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lyn s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nyon
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed there on July 19 on our way through Italy. Comfortable, everything worked well and the personnel were really friendly and helpful. The breakfast outside in the seating area was a real treat. We were recommended a restaurant for dinner in Modena which was quality and lived up to the comments of the hotel. A place to remember and to stay again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MEllis1152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

OMG! If you want to get away from tourists or just a bit if time back to reality this is the place!
Not only is it situated in a quiet area but the rooms are really cute!
It's about a 10-15€taxi trip from the centre of Modena.
The owners were so accommodating and lovely. Even when we spent an hour in the jacuzzi the owners came out and ordered our drinks.
They made a fantastic recommendation for dinner at "da Danilo". They rang and made a booking for us and called the cab so we could drink.
The rooms were lovely and if you get too cold there are blankets in the cupboard.
If I had to pick at something it would have to be the water pressure in the shower. We stayed in the newer part on the 1st floor in 149 and the pressure was poor.
However, the other positive thing was breakfast. It was tasty and if you like hot chocolate and have tried the Max Brenner chain stores in Australia it was thick hot chocolate. So good!
The staff were so lovely and we highly recommend you give it a go.

We are considering coming back through here on our way back up to North Italy :)

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This hotel is I an old castle on the outskirts of Modena. A nice big bedroom & spacious bathroom. One of the best breakfasts experience in our 2 wks driving around Italy.

You need a car to stay at this hotel - we found driving into Modena & parking more difficult than expected.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Di-Syd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Castello with 3 other friends in May for 4 nights. We could not have been more pleased with this charming former country home of a noble family which has been converted into a unique hotel. The professional service, beautiful accommodations, bountiful buffet breakfast, quiet and serene location (a short drive from Modena), and certainly the very modest price all contributed to making our stay there so enjoyable and relaxing.

The perfect hoteliers – Federica and Roberto – addressed our every need and took care of all our requests. In addition to providing beautiful accommodations and an excellent breakfast each day, they also recommended nearby local restaurants (there is no restaurant onsite), helped with our garden picnic on the hotel grounds, and prepared an early breakfast on the day we departed.

I highly recommend this beautiful hotel with its welcoming staff. The added bonus was watching the fireflies appear while taking an evening walk in the countryside.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beaglegirl11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Modena hotels
2.4 mi away
Best Western Premier Milano Palace Hotel
2.3 mi away
Hotel Cervetta 5
Hotel Cervetta 5
#3 of 33 in Modena
403 reviews
4.5 mi away
UNA Hotel Modena
UNA Hotel Modena
#1 of 1 in Baggiovara
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Liberta
2.6 mi away
Hotel Estense
Hotel Estense
#6 of 33 in Modena
267 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel le Ville
Hotel le Ville
#7 of 33 in Modena
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Castello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Castello

Property: Hotel Castello
Address: Via Armando Pica 321, 41126, Modena, Italy
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Modena > Modena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 33 Hotels in Modena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Castello 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HRS so you can book your Hotel Castello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing