We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Culinary excellence in the Pianura Padana”
Review of Strada Facendo

Strada Facendo
Ranked #3 of 734 Restaurants in Modena
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$50 - US$89
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Contemporary, Italian, Seafood, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
642 reviews
590 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 780 helpful votes
“Culinary excellence in the Pianura Padana”
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Emilio Barbieri is not one of those chefs whom you always find on TV and at celebrity meetings: he is one of those very serious professionals working out of the limelight, but with no less ability and no lesser produce than the better known colleagues.

We had an all seafood lunch (with a tortellini sampling out of sheer gluttony) which was spectacular. Lobster from Brittany, prawns and fish from Southern Italy...and more beautiful produce that is masterfully treated in rather complex dishes, with much layering of flavours. Notable the use of spices and herbs. Yet there is a firm focus on the main ingredient and attention to deep flavour extraction. Not something common even in top restaurants nowadays. It's a very peculiar cuisine, with some audacious moves but very logical and never straying too much from the classical Italian tradition.

Service is from 'the wife', who is also a wine and cheese expert (the cheese trolley, which we didn't have the space to try, looked lovely). The room is intimate, the atmosphere is family-like. The prices are very reasonable for quality of this level.

The best way to describe my feeling is by saying that we had had an all seafood meal also at Osteria Francescana the week before and I was happier here.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank thoughtfuldiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    280
    108
    26
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Modena, Italy
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere!”
Reviewed 14 February 2013

Yesterday we were at this restaurant for a celebration dinner (our wedding anniversary). We have only praise! Courtesy, great atmosphere, delicious food with a great presentation, great wines and excellent service by the chef Emilio and his wife, the sommelier Rita.
We chose the menu Strada Facendo, composed of various dishes, where we were able to tes all the skills of the chef. Foie gras, topinambur, lobster, lamb, chocolate, artichokes, canelini beans, seasoned cheese... a multitude of flavors. Like wine, we chose a delicious Amarone. To accompany the Foie Gras, a glass of Sauternes. Finally, a pleasant surprise: a small glass of Pedro Ximenes 30 years.
Great food is not cheap, but we left with the certainty that we made ​​a great choice for that date. We highly recommend the restaurant for a special occasion. They also have a lunch menu executive, most suitable for everyday and very affordable prices.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Celiba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto Alegre, RS
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great service, Great Food.”
Reviewed 6 November 2012

This is a place to eat great unpretentious Italian food in the way it's supposed to be cooked. Chef comes to your table to take your order, the sommelier is super nice and the food is another great chapter. Modena is a foodie city and this is an Italian michelin starred restaurant at its best. A must go.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rschwartz1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
361 reviews
199 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
“Italian cuisine so good it rivals anything a French restaurant can churn out!”
Reviewed 16 September 2012 via mobile

Up till my wife and I ate here, my wife and I were on the fence about the quality of high end Italian food. No longer.

We had the Fish lunch menu, which consisted of an amazing paccheri and scallops, a mouthwatering octopus cake, a wonderful sea bass served over sea salt and an excellent home made ice cream.

This was by far the best meal we had in Italy, and the 1 star is well deserved. In fact, despite finishing our trip in Lyon, not one restaurant in France was able to top this meal. It completely restored my faith in Italian cooking, and shows that there is so much more to it than pizza and pasta. Bellissimo!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank jrocker7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unpretentious Perfection”
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Looking for authentic 5-star local cuisine, you found it. This quaint and respected restaurant has been serving locals and knowledgeable tourists for years. It is situated out out of the main areas and therefore is recommended that you travel by car or taxi. However the small detour is well worth your while.
We decided on this restaurant based on a very strong recommendation from Davide at Acetaia Villa San Donnino so we were able to squeeze in a lunch in our gourmet packed day, and wow what a lunch! Chef Emilio and his wife Rita, Sommelier ensured a memorable experience that was nothing short of exceptional...dare I say more memorable than Osteria Francescana. To be fair, both restaurants are excellent but the warmth offered by Strada Facendo and its owners is difficult to replicate.


The wine collection is superb. There are all the great Italian choices as well as many notable international options which will ensure any wine enthusiast is more than satisfied. Rita will help ensure your choice matches perfectly with your meal.

My wife and I had the lunch menu which included all the regional classics from Tortellini served inside an edible bowl (Parmigiano Reggiano!) to culatello and braised meats. Absolutely nothing disappointed and while the coffee is always good in Italy, this restaurant takes it to a whole new level sourcing its beans from a micro production in Haiti, the coffee is truly amazing...I had to order a second espresso just to appreciate the complex aromas and flavours again. To finish, the selection of after-lunch desserts and sweets were incredible and generous.

Definitely one of the best meals ever

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MigiC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Strada Facendo also viewed

Modena, Province of Modena
Modena, Province of Modena
 
Modena, Province of Modena
Modena, Province of Modena
 

Been to Strada Facendo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing