We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Trattoria Aldina

Trattoria Aldina
Ranked #10 of 724 Restaurants in Modena
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

You could easily walk right past the entrance to this place, but that would be a total shame. The spinach and ricotta stuffed tortellini -- a regional speciality -- were the best I have ever had. Anywhere. And, generous portions to boost. There's no mystery as to why this place was packed to the brim.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Josh T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

941 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    406
    394
    108
    17
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Just like Mama! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

What a gem! If you didn't know where it was it would be very difficult to stumble upon, this first floor restaurant is well worth seeking out!

For Primi Piatti we had the tagliatelle ragu and tortellini in brood. Both wonderful representations of the region. For mains we had the pigs calf and the traditional sausage on a bed of mash. Equally wonderful, incredibly filling. Desserts were a mascarpone cream with crumbled chocolate cake and pumpkin crime caramel.

Wonderful meal, great service, wonderful night out in Modena!

Helpful?
1 Thank Chitchchezzina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Modena, Italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Incredible”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

It makes you feel you are at some italian friend's house, with his wife being a queen of the kitchen. This tiny place looks like a real flat, it's a best kept secret among people in Modena. Book in advance, there are few seats. Traditional food at its best.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Francesco C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Trattoria Aldina: a real taste of Modena”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

We have been recommended this place by a friend who lives in Modena.
I must say that all of our expectations have been definitely satisfied, if not exceeded.
It is highly recommended to be there quite early as, being a popular place, it gets busy very easily.
All the waitresses were very kind and well prepared to fulfill all of our queries.
The atmosphere reminds of the warmth that you can only find in a relative's house.
The food was all home made (as we've been told) with a taste that it's rather unique.

Tip: ask for mascarpone with torta Barozzi, as dessert...you won't be disappointed!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank calexico7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
40 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“OMG! If you can find it - you'll be blown away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

Situated on the 1st floor of an apartment block facing the large food market is this gem of an Italian trattoria. The menu is very small and read to you by the waitresses! The pasta was simply as good as I've ever had, especially the tortellini al brodo. Second courses all about the meat! There's little finesse here and the queues at lunch are immense but do make the effort.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BradtheBarbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trattoria Aldina also viewed

Modena, Province of Modena
Modena, Province of Modena
 
Modena, Province of Modena
Modena, Province of Modena
 

Been to Trattoria Aldina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing