We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Full marks for the food, insufficient for the service...”

Trattoria del Grillo
Ranked #41 of 664 Restaurants in Parma
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Malta
Level Contributor
260 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Full marks for the food, insufficient for the service...”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Well, particularly in the Emilia region it is very difficult to fault food quality, anywhere, and this place is no exception. I've been told that their traditional torta fritta must be among the best in the region - and can personally confirm this. We had an antipasto consisting of a mixed salumi platter, and tris the tortelli as a main. All was absolutely delicious with an excellent value for money.

Service on the other hand lacks or tends to be a bit rough and unattentive. Perhaps it must be due to the fact that the place tends to get very crowded, despite being a weekday. Atmosphere inside is rustic and very traditional.

Considering everything I would still recommend the trattoria del grillo anytime.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GOH77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    311
    104
    31
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wuppertal, Germany
Level Contributor
198 reviews
193 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“3 stars and a half”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Ok, let's put it that way: everywhere else in Europe the food would deserve at least 4 ****. But we are talking about Parma, therefore the whole experience was just average ;-)
We were here for New Year's Eve, the place was recommended by our Agriturismo. The place is very large and lacks a bit of personnality and atmosphere. The service was friendly enough, but way too fast for the amount of food we ordered, which would have required a bit more time to 'digest'. Additionally, we finished far before midnight, which left us the odd choice to go back to the Agriturismo or hang around in a crowded place for another hour waiting for 2014... we picked the 1st option.
The food was actually very good and the portions (even the half ones) more than satisfying: gnocco fritto (very good) and tomino with tartufo sauce (very good, but sauce cold). 1st courses: tris di tortelli (excellent), risotto al tartufo (very good but a bit al dente), tagliatelle al cinghiale... As seconds, culatello arrosto (good, but very heavy sauce), tartare (excellent), punta ripiena (very good), rabbit (also good)... nobody made it to desserts except the little brother and I.
So, all in all we were happy, but felt the need to try something else the following day...

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Raffy_Burki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parma, Italia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Rustic atmosphere and the best Torta Fritta”
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Torta Fritta is one of the main typical dishes from Parma: is a fried thin layer of bread dough that is the best complement for Parma Ham and all the other kind of salami and hams from out land (you must try for Culatello, Culaccia, Coppa, Salame di Felino or Spalla Cotta).

They also have a very good selection of first courses like Tortelli (if it's your first time eating Tortelli, ask for the Tris of Tortelli (with Herbs, with Pumpkin, with Potatoes), and are well known even for the desserts.

Friendly and Country atmosphere, you will always find a free spot, even without a reservation.
Prices between 20 and 35 euros per person, depending on what you drink and how many courses you have.

Perfect for dinner with many people, you can also agree the menu beforehand and fix the price for groups.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Irene D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MILANO
Level Contributor
520 reviews
379 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Torta fritta: a must in Parma!”
Reviewed 20 October 2012

This restaurant is a must in Parma (it is located precisely in Vigatto)! Order "torta fritta " (small triangles of fried dough served warm) with prosciutto and enjoy it!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BIG_VINX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
194 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“The best of Parma region on our table...”
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Food was basic and absolutely fabulous. Their prosciutto crude and cotto were the best we have eaten during more than two weeks in Italy! Perfect match with the torta fritta.
Pastas were perfect with excellently balanced taste. This is the kind of restaurant you want to discover when traveling through Italy. Top food and fair priced.
Bit out of the way from Parma, but worth a detour.
It was very hot that day, but as good tourists from North Europe we wanted to sit outside under the fan. So we ordered a cold wine, and the waitress suggested their own production. Since then I also like Lambrusco, at least when it is cooking hot!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DVG59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trattoria del Grillo also viewed

Parma, Province of Parma
Parma, Province of Parma
 
Parma, Province of Parma
Parma, Province of Parma
 
Traversetolo, Province of Parma
Parma, Province of Parma
 

Been to Trattoria del Grillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing