We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
Vio.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
ginaminasnooks
darkest somerset

Elegance and cool in Parmesan countryside

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 17 Aug 2012
This B&B exudes sophistication and effortless charm. The fabric of the building and the rooms is very good, soft brick and linen. Airy public spaces comprise the large salon and loggia for breakfast. This meal was beautiful - with Parma ham (!) and feather light home made cakes, copious fresh orange juice, etc.

Also, enjoy the fresh pool!

The town is easy to drive into at night - Elena had good advice for parking and restaurants.

On the down side, the immediate environs are a bit weird. Clearly this villa had a lot of land once and it's now being being developed with flats on either side.
Date of stay: August 2012
Room Tip: The suite has a bath, the others have very good showers. I'm sure all the rooms are very well...
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
£208
No prepayment needed
  • Official Hotel Site
    £198
  • Tripadvisor
    £198
  • Hotels.com
    £208
3.6 miles from Villino di Porporano
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Booking.com
£102
  • Mercure
    £102
  • Hotels.com
    £102
  • Tripadvisor
    £102
3.8 miles from Villino di Porporano
Free Wifi
Room service
Booking.com
£103
  • Hotels.com
    £93
  • Official Website
    £88
  • Priceline
3.6 miles from Villino di Porporano
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Booking.com
£117
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    £117
  • ZenHotels.com
    £88
  • Priceline
4.1 miles from Villino di Porporano
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
£88
Fully refundable
  • HIExpress.com
    £86
  • ZenHotels.com
    £80
  • Hotels.com
    £88
4.5 miles from Villino di Porporano
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
Booking.com
£98
  • Novotel
    £98
  • travelup.com
    £90
  • Hotels.com
    £98
4.0 miles from Villino di Porporano
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
£62
  • ibis Styles
    £62
  • travelup.com
    £58
  • Hotels.com
    £62
3.5 miles from Villino di Porporano
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Booking.com
£108
  • Hotels.com
    £121
  • ZenHotels.com
    £94
  • Priceline
5.2 miles from Villino di Porporano
Free Wifi
Free parking
ROOM
Booking.com
£82
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    £82
  • Tripadvisor
    £82
  • Priceline
6.3 miles from Villino di Porporano
Free parking
NH Hotels
  • Booking.com
    £99
  • ZenHotels.com
    £90
  • Hotels.com
    £99
4.1 miles from Villino di Porporano
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Parma
Reviews (470)
Filter reviews
470 results
Traveller rating
426
36
7
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
426
36
7
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful family pasta wonderful stay bed was very comfortable elena hostess car region
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
195 - 200 of 470 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2012

This B&B is in a separate villa building next to the owner's home. The inside of the building has been completely renovated and the rooms fully decorated. The bathroom is modern and fully equipped. It is all beautiful. Elena the owner is a gracious hostess and a wonderful baker. Her homemade pastry for the breakfast is excellent. Sitting on the patio in the backyard for breakfast is wonderful. Elena arranged for a tour of a Parmaseano Reggiano cheese making "factory" and it was great.

I don't know if this is true for all rooms, but our only recommendation is to put a curtain on the window for the bathroom door. A small detail.

The villa is located about a 15 minute drive from downtown Parma which is a delightful city.

Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 July 2012

I cannot talk highly enough about our stay. My family stayed for 6 magical nights during our recent trip to Europe and I am so glad we decided to stop in Parma and in particular with Elena and Guiseppe at Villino di Porporana. The rooms were of outstanding quality and we loved the way the beautifual building was restored. Paula and Elena prepared a gourmet breakfast and we were also lucky enough to have dinner there as well. Thank yoy Elena for all your help and advice as well.
Margaret T

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 July 2012

I agree with all the comments of the other reviewers so I won't repeat them. But I would like to add that this is the first hotel/ or B&B that I have ever stayed in that provides linen - not cotton- bedsheets. Now, that is luxury :)
Having said that, my husband and I had linen sheets in our room but my son's room had cotton.
The hardware in the bathrooms are top rate.
It's these little things which make a difference.

Date of stay: August 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 100Willow
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Elena was very, very helpful and her breakfast is one of the best we had in Italy. The B&B is very beautifully decorated but the room was a bit tiny. We also could clearly hear our neighbours when they were in their bathroom next door. This is surely an issue to be addressed. But we would definitely recommend the B&B when visiting Parma.

Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stefaan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Elena, we cannot say enough about our stay at Villino di Porporano! Having been to Italy and Emilia Romagna many times, your hospitality exceeded our expectations. The property is decorated in the best of taste, well appointed and still most comfortable. You and your staff, especially Paula, attended to our every desire. Our only regret - we had not stayed longer.... all a prossima volta....

Room tip: Each room was most lovely
Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paula L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews