We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not good for business travelers or vacationers?”
Review of Sina Maria Luigia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sina Maria Luigia
Ranked #25 of 48 Hotels in Parma
indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not good for business travelers or vacationers?”
Reviewed 19 January 2013

What was planned for a 1 day business trip with a two day vacation was marred by a poor hotel experience.
For the business traveler, the internet was not working in the room, wifi at 6 euros per hour is only available if sitting in the hall opposite the router, as the building is constructed of brick and the antanae are spaced quite far apart. Moved rooms twice of the 3 rooms none had accessible internet inthe room.
For the vacation traveler, the heat was not working in the room, and the reception explained that it is due to the weather. We were advised to book tours not the day before but the day of, which was incorrect as the parma ham factory and the parmasan cheese factory both requested prior booking. The wait in the breakfast lounge were absolutely non-existant, to the point that multiple guests had to enter the kitchen to serve themselves. I actually made a pot of coffee for the dining area guests as we were unable to wake the waiter from his somber.

Room Tip: Check the heat and internet reception, if important to you, before unpacking. The receptionists hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dgs2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    107
    107
    65
    31
See reviews for
37
89
27
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013

You might be taken aback a bit as you first approach the Maria Luigia: the hotel, it seems, has been carved out of what was originally a not particularly glamorous apartment building. Once in, though, one immediately forgets about that first impression. The interior is pleasant, elegant and spacious. The rooms come with big, marble bathrooms and comfortable beds. The best thing, though, is the staff: always friendly, efficient and helpful.

My husband and I stayed at the Maria Luigia for a couple of nights at the end of December and we’d heartily recommend this hotel to anyone planning a visit to Parma.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ealini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coppet, Switzerland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2012

The hotel is well located, close to the city center and the train station. Having said that there's nothing else good about it. Furniture is pretty dated. Service is not so friendly. There is no parking, You have to pay for internet service. Breakfast is not very fresh. Next time in Parma I will try a different hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gaegalle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Parma hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 1 December 2012

nice hotel very close to the historic centre of Parma and railway station...staff is friendly enough...price is ok for this period of time -novembre- but very different during high season..quite location and breakfast ok..


  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
99 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2012

I have stayed here on a business trip. The hotel located in good position, sometime will be hard getting parking place for car.The staff are nice and speak reasonble english. Breakfast was continental - no complaints. The rooms are ok.clean and well kept . no free wifi -must but paycard for it.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MoooTi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
289 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2012

We pulled into Parma late in the afternoon without hotel reservations. We were lucky to get a room at the Hotel Paris. The room had a loft containing an extremely comfortable bed. The main room had a fold out couch which was open and could not be closed, thus making things very cramped. However, the hotel was in a great location and offered a very good breakfast the next day. Unfortunately, its parking lot was full, requiring us to park the car about a kilometer away. The hotel is located near a strada that was full of great food shops and which lead directly to la citta' vecchia about 10 minutes away. However, at 140 euros the hotel was troppo caro.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EastVillageDenizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parma, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 September 2012

I've been to a few places in the world due to work, and had no choice in the hotel selection when in Parma. The hotel itself is in a good location, the staff was friendly and it has a certain italian feel to it. The room was nice, bathroom clean and well kept. I did, unfortunately, have the same issue as someone else reported- bad bites from some bugs in the bed. Hotel staff didn't seem too impressed or surprised, the manager issued an 'sorry' but that's about it. Seems to be a general issue, which makes me not return there again. Other than that no problems at all, but I'm sure there's other places in Parma in the price range without this problem.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms not facing the main street. Lifts do not 'bing' so being close to a lift is no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Parma hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Parma Stendhal
0.1 mi away
Savoy Hotel
Savoy Hotel
#16 of 48 in Parma
439 reviews
0.3 mi away
NH Parma
NH Parma
#1 of 48 in Parma
1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Starhotels Du Parc
Starhotels Du Parc
#12 of 48 in Parma
843 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#24 of 48 in Parma
796 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Torino
Hotel Torino
#11 of 48 in Parma
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sina Maria Luigia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sina Maria Luigia

Property: Sina Maria Luigia
Address: Viale Mentana 140, 43121, Parma, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Parma > Parma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Parma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sina Maria Luigia 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the city centre with lovely view of the historic sites, the Palace Maria Luigia, with its highly regarded Restaurant “Maxim’s”, is the reference in Parma, the cradle of Italian cuisine. The public areas enhanced with the view of the patio garden, the rooms and suite have been recently refurbished in elegant and refined style. The fully equipped conference centre provides an excellent meeting venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sina Maria Luigia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Maria Luigia Parma
Palace Maria Luigia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing