We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A disappointing hotel experience”
Review of Sina Maria Luigia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sina Maria Luigia
Ranked #25 of 49 Hotels in Parma
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level Contributor
155 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A disappointing hotel experience”
Reviewed 23 May 2013

in a lovely city. Upon entering the hotel there was no assistance offered with baggage. We found the front desk staff moody and cold. We were told Internet was free in public areas but 7 euros for 3 hours. The Internet was spotty in the public areas, a negative for the business traveler. The room was small and cramped for two people. The red carpet was dirty, the bed as hard as a rock and the pillows flat and hard. The bathroom sink had no counter, the shower only was very small and there was no soap so if you want soap, bring your own. We found the breakfast service poor and selection only average. The bartender was very nice and accommodating. I would rate this hotel average to poor. It is well located.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mahlonjanwhittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    104
    104
    65
    30
See reviews for
37
84
27
158
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013

Stayed for 2 nights while on business nearby. Overall a very pleasant hotel, lovely welcoming staff and an excellent breakfast selection. Rooms typically Italian, very stylish and comfortable. Heating more than sufficient and the sound proofing assisted by full shutters to the windows.

Restaurant tip - search out Trattoria del Corrieri, about a 10 minute walk past Duomo for the most authentic of local flavours and great service.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bavaria, Germany
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

The single room was quite spacious and clean. Bathroom was clean and modern, the shower had good water pressure, despite my room being on 4th floor. Staff was very helpful and kind. Breakfast was great: cappuccino was excellent, good selection of breads, meats, cheese and fruit. There was yoghurt and cereals etc.

The only negative point is that Internet was not included in the room price - quite ancient in the current situation!

Room Tip: Rooms on the last floor have a view over the rooftops of Parma - highly recommended!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013

I just stayed at the Palace Maria Luigia Hotel in Parma for two nights. The room was beautiful--both in decor and cleanliness. The room was big and the bathroom was clean and nicely sized. The breakfast included a very nice selection of pastries, meats and cheese, yogurt, cereal, and fruit. The multiple common spaces were nice for relaxing. If you don't mind a short walk to the city center, this is a great hotel to stay in--especially since it is close to the station. The only complaint comes with the front desk staff. While generally unattentive and somewhat rude, we were also given conflicting information about the hotel internet policy. On day one, it was free on the main level and the business center. Upon checkout, we were charged for our usage on the second day, being told that we must have been given a "gift" of "free hours" the day before as there is no free internet anywhere in the hotel. No such thing as the customer being right here. Otherwise, it was a very nice hotel and stay.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DueNYers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2013

What was planned for a 1 day business trip with a two day vacation was marred by a poor hotel experience.
For the business traveler, the internet was not working in the room, wifi at 6 euros per hour is only available if sitting in the hall opposite the router, as the building is constructed of brick and the antanae are spaced quite far apart. Moved rooms twice of the 3 rooms none had accessible internet inthe room.
For the vacation traveler, the heat was not working in the room, and the reception explained that it is due to the weather. We were advised to book tours not the day before but the day of, which was incorrect as the parma ham factory and the parmasan cheese factory both requested prior booking. The wait in the breakfast lounge were absolutely non-existant, to the point that multiple guests had to enter the kitchen to serve themselves. I actually made a pot of coffee for the dining area guests as we were unable to wake the waiter from his somber.

Room Tip: Check the heat and internet reception, if important to you, before unpacking. The receptionists hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dgs2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Parma hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013

You might be taken aback a bit as you first approach the Maria Luigia: the hotel, it seems, has been carved out of what was originally a not particularly glamorous apartment building. Once in, though, one immediately forgets about that first impression. The interior is pleasant, elegant and spacious. The rooms come with big, marble bathrooms and comfortable beds. The best thing, though, is the staff: always friendly, efficient and helpful.

My husband and I stayed at the Maria Luigia for a couple of nights at the end of December and we’d heartily recommend this hotel to anyone planning a visit to Parma.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ealini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coppet, Switzerland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2012

The hotel is well located, close to the city center and the train station. Having said that there's nothing else good about it. Furniture is pretty dated. Service is not so friendly. There is no parking, You have to pay for internet service. Breakfast is not very fresh. Next time in Parma I will try a different hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gaegalle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Parma hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Parma Stendhal
0.3 mi away
NH Parma
NH Parma
#1 of 49 in Parma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,032 reviews
0.1 mi away
Savoy Hotel
Savoy Hotel
#18 of 49 in Parma
3.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Starhotels Du Parc
Starhotels Du Parc
#12 of 49 in Parma
4.0 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
0.2 mi away
Century Hotel
Century Hotel
#22 of 49 in Parma
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Styles Parma Toscanini
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sina Maria Luigia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sina Maria Luigia

Property: Sina Maria Luigia
Address: Viale Mentana 140, 43121, Parma, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Parma > Parma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Parma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sina Maria Luigia 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the city centre with lovely view of the historic sites, the Palace Maria Luigia, with its highly regarded Restaurant “Maxim’s”, is the reference in Parma, the cradle of Italian cuisine. The public areas enhanced with the view of the patio garden, the rooms and suite have been recently refurbished in elegant and refined style. The fully equipped conference centre provides an excellent meeting venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sina Maria Luigia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Maria Luigia Parma
Palace Maria Luigia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing