We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value hotel in Parma”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Parma Stendhal
Ranked #5 of 48 Hotels in Parma
Orange, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great value hotel in Parma”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Spent a week here for a conference and very happy with this hotel. Excellent location in the old part of town, comfortable rooms and excellent value. Close to restaurants and other attractions and convenient to the station. Worth staying here just for the breakfast!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    349
    96
    37
    11
See reviews for
95
371
23
152
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

With only one night in which to maximise our time in the area and see as much as possible, we
wanted somewhere central to stay. This hotel was perfect location and we booked quite late so got a good deal on rates.
The room was clean and comfortable and breakfast choices pretty extensive, but the central location is what makes this hotel stand out. The local area around the hotel feels safe enough to wander around after dark. Parking was available underground nearby (at an extra cost). We didn't spend much time in the hotel other than to sleep so I don't feel I can comment more about it.
Personally I'm not sure it is worth its full rate, though I would recommend it to friends and it would be on my list of hotels to consider if I ever returned to Parma.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MsPhileasFogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Hotel Mercure Stendhal is located a stone's throw away from the Duomo and Parma's centre of attractions. There are many first-class restaurants in the vicinity and Daniela, the hotel reception staff, gave excellent recommendations for good local food especially parma ham which one must not miss out on while in Parma! We had our best meal at Il Trovatore where all the ingredients were fresh and priced reasonably.

For those who love shopping, the hotel is located near the outdoor market which operates on Wednesday as well as the main shopping belt where there are many small interesting shops selling a variety of things.

The hotel offers secured underground car park located just next to the hotel entrance.

The room we were given was spacious for the three of us and was very clean. We had an enjoyable overnight stay at Mercure Parma Stendhal.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth_CQY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cool, California
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Large, spacious room and bathroom, very clean and very nice decor. Within easy walking distance of the train station, historical center, and many restaurants. They have their own small bar off the lobby, making it easy to have a nightcap. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast offerings were great, including real scrambled eggs, bacon and sausage besides a huge array of typical European items.

My only complaint is that there were not enough stands for luggage in the room although the one they did have held my standard suitcase better than most of those flimsy folding types. Also the area in front of the hotel looks awful! Put some landscaping back out there!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank EcoLogic2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

The Stendhal offers a really great location - a short 5 minute stroll to the heart of Parma, close to all the attractions and restaurants. other than that, nothing too special about this place, which feels somewhat outdated. Our rooms bathroom had a very strong smell coming from it, though we could not identify its origin. The AC was freezing the room and the heating didn't really work.
The furniture, carpets and design all scream "90's"...
But - it was clean, comfortable and for a good price.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amit A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
403 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Alessio welcomed us for our registration and was very helpful and kind. We asked for his recommendation for a restaurant and he said, "You cannot find bad food in Parma." He was right!

Our room was utterly lovely. It and the bathroom were both spacious. The bed, pillows, linens were all nice. We were only there one night, but would definitely go there again. Breakfast was delicious with something for everyone's taste buds.

The lobby is pretty and relaxing and has free wifi.

The location is really good with easy walking distance to everything you could want to see, including a grand park rimmed on one side with via John Fitzgerald Kennedy. Parma is a very easy city to walk around and keep your bearings. Out our room was a very old building--church? School? Not sure.

Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MurryG08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Parma hotels
0.4 mi away
NH Parma
NH Parma
#1 of 48 in Parma
1,119 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Styles Parma Toscanini
0.8 mi away
Park Hotel Pacchiosi
Park Hotel Pacchiosi
#3 of 48 in Parma
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Best Western Hotel Farnese
0.4 mi away
Hotel Button
Hotel Button
#4 of 48 in Parma
338 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Torino
Hotel Torino
#12 of 48 in Parma
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Parma Stendhal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Parma Stendhal

Property: Mercure Parma Stendhal
Address: Via Giambattista Bodoni 3, 43121, Parma, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Parma > Parma
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Parma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Parma Stendhal 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Mercure Parma Stendhal is located in the heart of the old town, opposite the Palazzo della Pilotta and just 328 yds (300 m) from the station, and serves an extensive buffet breakfast. Rooms are furnished with wooden period furniture and have TV with cable channels and free WIFI. The hotel is 437 yds (400 m) from the cathedral, a 5-minute walk from the European Food Safety Authority headquarters and approx. 10 mins' drive from the airport. An onsite car park is available subject to availability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, ACCOR, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Parma Stendhal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stendhal Hotel Parma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing