We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boise, Idaho, USA”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
B&B Al Battistero d'Oro
Ranked #7 of 68 Parma B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Our stay at Al Battestero d'Oro was one of the highlights of our 24 day adventure in Italy. Our host, Patrizia, was incredible. First of all, we were in need of a doctor when we arrived and Patrizia not only helped us arrange an appointment, she guided us to the places we needed to go including a trip to the farmacia to pick up the medication that was prescribed. She also acted as our translator to be sure everything was understood and clear to the doctor and at the farmacia.

After our little medical episode, Patrizia not only provided a delicious breakfast for us each morning at the time of our choosing, but she recommended restaurants that we really enjoyed... particularly La Forchetta, which was our favorite.

We stayed in the Reina room which was very clean and comfortable. We felt like we had our own wing in the house. The building is beautiful with a lift to help get luggage to the 1st floor where our room was. Patrizia has decorated everything beautifully with her own antique furniture and many amazing antique rugs that were particularly interesting to us since we have many of our own.

We found Parma to be a charming place where we wish we could have stayed longer - our 3 days was just not enough. There were plenty of things to do and see and the people were very welcoming.

Thank you again Patrizia! We hope to be back to spend more time with you.

Room Tip: The Reina room was very nice and away from the main part of the house, so it is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vince P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pavi20, Proprietario at B&B Al Battistero d'Oro, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

My beloved friends, I did what was in my power to do in my country.
Thanks for the wonderful personal email you sent me. A big, big hug. Witing you soon Patrizia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (193)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 193 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2013

After choosing to stay in Parma for two nights to experience the culinary delights of the Emilia-Romagnaregion, we decided upon B&B Al Battistero d'Oro after reading the reviews posted here for our stay in mid-October. We were not disappointed. The absolute highlight is the lovely proprietress, Patrizia, who has opened her home to a few fortunate visitors and gives such a warm welcome you immediately feel at home. Patrizia provides breakfast in your room, which was delicious. Her homemade plum jam was fabulous! We also greatly appreciated Patrizia's dinner recommendations and she was kind enough to call one of her favorite restaurants, Trattoria del Tribunale, which squeezed us in for a wonderful traditional Parma dinner.

We stay in the Duchessa room which has it's own private entrance off the internal court yard. The room was delightful with all the necessary comforts and plenty of storage. A small refrigerator was always stocked with water (both with and without gas) and a hot pot and selection of tea and coffee was provided as well as a tin of cookies for a quick treat in the afternoon or evening.

Location is ideal, you are literally a five minute walk (if that) from the baptistery and duomo which was absolutely stunning inside. Restaurants and shopping are just a few minutes walk more in the heart of Parma as well as some the the must-see's of Parma.

We highly recommend enjoying Patrizia's hospitality if you are staying in Parma. Thank you Patrizia!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lebnv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pavi20, Proprietario at B&B Al Battistero d'Oro, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

It has been a pleasure having you guests in my bed and breakfast and I'm happy to have you recommended for the best. I try to recommend the right things to each of you. I hope to see you soon. Sincerely Patrizia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

I will be brief, given that I share much of the comments posted before me regarding the excellent place the Battistero d'Oro is for a relaxed stay in Parma. To the beauty and elegant calm of the city we added, with fortune, the stay at Patrizia's place. She is the most welcoming host we have had in the last few years. Her love for the city and knowledge of its events allow her guests to enjoy the city at its fullest. Her will to help is unparalleled...including the lighting meet on the train binario on our way back from Cremona to pick up our forgotten IPod. Do enjoy the stay at Al Battistero d'Oro!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlvaroHig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pavi20, Proprietario at B&B Al Battistero d'Oro, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Dear, Dear Alvaro, a PLEASURE having you had as guests!!! Thanks a lot for your review I notice it is the first one you done it so I consider myself a privileged.
I want to tell you a segret............:"I'm alwayys a lighting meet!!!!!!". ha ha ha ha
Waiting you soon Sincerely Patrizia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We spent 5 nights in September at Al Battistero d’Oro and thoroughly enjoyed our time at the bed and breakfast and in the city of Parma. Parma is an elegant, sophisticated city that offers the visitor a wide variety of delightful restaurants, friendly people and opportunities for easy day trips.
We were also impressed with Patrizia, who is the owner of Al Battistero d’Oro. Our emails were always answered promptly and she was willing to assist us with any details. Prior to our arrival in Italy we inquired about train schedules to our destination following Parma and she kindly researched departure/arrival times, options available etc. and forwarded them to us. Patrizia also suggested enjoying a home-cooked dinner with a local couple, who live very close to the bed and breakfast. We were intrigued and decided to take advantage of this excellent opportunity. We had the most delightful evening with Beppe and his wife Ros, who cooked a memorable, multi-course meal. What a unique chance to converse with locals on a variety of topics ranging from history to education to taxes – all while being fed the most scrumptious food prepared with such love by Ros. Our hosts were warm, welcoming and truly made us feel at home. Neither Beppe nor Ros is fluent in English, so they invited a friend, Antonella, to assume the role of translator. This title, however, doesn’t do her justice. Antonella, like our hosts, is well educated, charming and added so much to our evening. As a professor of French and a teacher of English, she is multi-talented and translated in such a way that conversation still flowed smoothly. We would highly recommend partaking in this unique experience.
We would be remiss if we didn’t mention Carla, a lovely young woman who stepped in so capably to replace Patrizia who was out of town for most of our visit. Carla, who is fluent in English, took us under her wing and gave us restaurant suggestions, sourced our train tickets, walked us to Giuseppe’s, and generally wanted to guarantee that we had a wonderful time in her city. She definitely went above and beyond our expectations.
Al Battistero d’Oro is located on a quiet street within very easy walking distance of the centre of town. We could not have selected a more lovely bed and breakfast in which to enjoy our stay in a beautiful city.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank CuriousCanadians2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pavi20, Proprietario at B&B Al Battistero d'Oro, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2013

Thank you for the wonderful review.
It 's wonderful to know that the special personaly proposal offers to each of you turn out to be liked.
Waiting you soon! Sincerely Patrizia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

My fiancee and I spent two nights here, though we wish we could have stayed longer. Patrizia is such a welcoming host and we regret not having more time to learn about her family and her home. She kindly arranged taxis for us and recommended a couple of excellent trattorias in town (we only had time to eat at one and we weren't disappointed).

Breakfast was perfect, and the room (Reina) was the best we had in a month of travel through Italy. The B&B is an easy walk to the train station and all of the attractions/food/shopping in town.

Parma is a great place to base yourself if exploring Emilia-Romagna. We were drawn there for the Parmigiano Reggiano, Prosciutto di Parma and balsamics. We will come back some day to treat our taste buds again and Patrizia's place will be the first place we look to stay.

Thanks for your hospitality Patrizia,
Nathan

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sometimestravellerau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pavi20, Proprietario at B&B Al Battistero d'Oro, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

My adored guests!! I'm glad you had a good time in my home and with me.
You are right!! Why should someone go to an hotel if he stays in a wonderful way at my home? ha ha ha ha thanks for the wonderful review a big hug Patrizia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We had no trouble at all booking over email and were excited to meet Patrizia as she was lovely to communicate with while planning our trip.
We had a rental car and were travelling through Italy for the first time. Parma would be our first stop after arriving in Venice and we were a little nervous, but very excited. We had no trouble finding the place with the GPS and thought everything was going a little TOO well.
We finally got to meet Patrizia - only to find out that our room was booked the DAY BEFORE and we were basically without a place to stay!! I messed up on the dates when I neglected to consider the time difference after our overnight flight - completely my fault.
She was so kind and sympathetic - she not only ignored the charges for a missed night, but she accommodated us in the apartment vs B&B to help us in our predicament.
I didn't get to see the B&B rooms, but I must tell you the apartment was FANTASTIC!!
It was adjacent to a beautiful gated garden with a private entrance. It had the most spectacular high ceilings and spacious living area, bedroom, bathroom and kitchen area.
I'm sure the B&B rooms are beautiful, but the apartment is fantastic and we really loved the additional privacy.
If you're looking for somewhere to stay while in beautiful Parma, we HIGHLY recommend Al Batistero D'Oro apartment - and we can assure you that you'll be in good hands with Patrizia.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FMKShort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pavi20, Proprietario at B&B Al Battistero d'Oro, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Thanks a lot for your review Madame.
This is my way of living and workink. See you soon in my bed and breakfast. Sincerely Patrizia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

What a treat it was to stay for a few days with Patricia in her delightful B&B. Right from the moment we arrived, we were treated like honoured guests. Arrangements were made to drive into the walled city of Parma to deposit our luggage and then make our way to a nearby parking garage. This home has an elevator which makes carrying luggage very easy. Our room was well appointed, quiet and comfortable. The bathroom was magnificent - clean, well equipped and tastefully decorated. Breakfast was served at a time we chose each day and alterations were made to the menu to accommodate our taste preferences. Patricia and her staff were friendly, helpful and courteous. Close to the city centre, we had ready access to a number of historic buildings and great shopping as well as many restaurants to choose from for our evening meal. Patricia speaks excellent English and we enjoyed not only getting advice from her about things to do and see in Parma, but also we discussed a variety of topics with her that increased our depth of knowledge about Italian culture. Patricia made arrangements for us to visit the home of some friends where we were served a traditional 6 course Italian dinner (35 euros each). It was a wonderful experience. Our hosts, Ros and Beppe, were most hospitable and the food was delicious. When we struggled to find the right word to extend our conversation, we all raised a toast and had another sip of wine!! Overall, Al Battistero D'Oro B&B is an outstanding place from which to explore Parma.

Room Tip: There is a choice of a traditional B&B bedroom and bath or an equipped apartment here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kanuckkoala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pavi20, Proprietario at B&B Al Battistero d'Oro, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

I am honored to know that the choices made for you ​​were righ!!
Waiting you soon. Thanks a lot for your review. Patrizia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Parma hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Button
Hotel Button
#3 of 48 in Parma
382 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Parma Stendhal
0.5 mi away
NH Parma
NH Parma
#1 of 48 in Parma
1,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Opera 11 R&B
Opera 11 R&B
#4 of 68 in Parma
177 reviews
3.6 mi away
Villino di Porporano
Villino di Porporano
#1 of 68 in Parma
409 reviews
0.3 mi away
Opera B&B
Opera B&B
#8 of 68 in Parma
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Al Battistero d'Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Al Battistero d'Oro

Address: Strada Sant'Anna 22, 43121, Parma, Italy
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Parma > Parma
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in Parma
Price Range: £73 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Italian Private and Precious home in an old ancient palace of 1700 in the heart of the town in a short walk from the Cathedral and Baptistery Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. so you can book your B&B Al Battistero d'Oro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing