We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 07:30 - 19:30
Parmigiano Tasting & Wine Private Tour in Parma
15

Book in advance
from
£141.31
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Ways to Experience Parma Food n Wine Tours
from £141.31
More Info
Reviews (273)
Filter reviews
273 results
Traveller rating
264
5
2
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
264
5
2
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews prosciutto pasta full day tour food tour wonderful guide light lunch our honeymoon aceto balsamico would highly recommend this tour kings angelo tasting process factory cheese production samples
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 273 reviews
Reviewed 22 December 2023

We did the Two Kings tour in Parma in November. It. was. phenomenal. I had very high expectations because well, it is Italy, but it exceeded my expectations. Angelo is the best tour guide - so knowledgeable and wonderful at explaining things. You can tell We started out at a parmigiano reggiano factory just outside Parma, where we got to watch the giant wheels of cheese being made in front of our eyes. The aging room was enormous and made me excited to taste some! We had a delicious tasting of different ages of cheese and were able to buy some take-home cheese from the charming shop attached to the factory, with one of us buying enough to possibly open a small cheese store back home. Then we headed to a small family-owned and operated prosciutto di parma factory where we got to watch prosciutto being cured, prepped and, aged. It was incredible to see how some of our favorite Italian foods are made. Then it was a short drive to a beautiful agriturismo in the hills near Torrechiara Castle, where we had a delicious lunch with an amazing view. I'm so glad we went on this tour - it was a wonderful way to spend a day exploring the region and its most delicious foods. Cannot recommend this more highly!

Date of experience: November 2023
Thank EatsAllOverTheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nicholas John G, Founder at Parma Food n Wine Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2024

I had very high expectations because well, it is Italy, but it exceeded my expectations... love to hear this and we are here for your future visits... with a lounge table publication coming along mid year.
N

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2023

We booked the 2 Kings tour with Angelo, originally for March 2020! Of course that trip was canceled because of COVID. But we revived the trip for November 2023. Angelo tailored the trip for us. Knowing that we have separate tours planned for Modena, he showed us the production processes of prosciutto and parmigiano reggiano. The process of the cheese making has many steps (bringing in the milk; adding rennet, heating; lifting the curds; fitting into the mold, pressing; soaking in the brine, aging, etc.). To see everything in chronological order would take too much time but Angelo timed everything perfectly - showing us everything right when they were happening and explaining the processes very well. We got to test the cheese wheels with the knocking tool and of course we tasted cheeses aged for different months. Similarly for prosciutto, he painstakingly explained how it was all made. We also got to observe, for example, sealing of the ham with the salt/fat/pepper mixture. The tasting was so good. Both the cheese and prosciutto tastings were accompanied by a bottle of wine. Because November is already off-peak, even though we booked the regular group tour, it was essentially a private tour. We did everything just ourselves with Angelo without other tourists.

Angelo then took us on a beautiful drive up the hills to a agriturismo location to have lunch. The food and wine were so good, all made locally. And the view was breathtaking on the hill. He had lunch with us, essentially as a private guide. He was knowledgeable and humorous, and always patient with all of our questions. Truly this was aptly named as "2 Kings tour" because me and my friend were treated like 2 Kings!

Date of experience: November 2023
1  Thank Albert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nicholas John G, founder at Parma Food n Wine Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2024

The hills are such a treat... right on the Tuscan border - lunch tastes incredible up there... for 2 Kings and more!
N

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2023

What a perfect day. We chose to have a driver,Guido, pick us up at our accommodation. Guido arrived right on time and drove us to meet Angelo at the Parmigiano factory. Guido was very professional and courteous.
Angelo greeted us when we arrived at the factory. We were the only two people on the tour so it was a great experience,non rushed and very informative - Angelo is a great guide. There was a cheese/wine tasting at the end of the tour of the Parmigiano factory.
After that Guido drove us to the Prosciutto factory to meet Angelo again. Once inside we toured the whole factory - the aromas were amazing. Again there was a tasting at the end of the Prosciutto factory tour.
After this Guido drove us to meet Angelo for lunch. We didn't have a menu - Angelo ordered for us & didn't disappoint, the food was excellent and very reasonably priced.
After a leisurely lunch we were driven to the Balsamic producer. Again Angelo was very knowledgeable and answered all questions.
After a tasting of the balsamic the day came to an end.
After the drive back to Parma the whole day was about 7/8 hours and one of the highlights of our trip to Italy- highly recommend.

Date of experience: March 2023
Thank Adrian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nicholas John G, Guest Relations Manager at Parma Food n Wine Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2024

An excellent listino of the day many thanks Nick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2023

What a wonderful introduction to Emilia-Romagna - the food, people, and landscape! Angelo was a fabulous host and guide taking us to smaller producers where we were able to truly learn how the parmigiano, procuitto, and balsamico are produced. Lunch was delicious and inexpensive in a spectacular setting. Highly recommend to any!!

Date of experience: October 2023
Thank 934kirstinf
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nicholas John G, Director of Sales at Parma Food n Wine Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2024

Yes our tours are very much about the quality traveller looking for genuine places to absorb the true nature of these locations. It takes time to sit with the makers in this culture and very glad you came to FWD. Best always Nick and Angelo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2023

An amazing experience. The highlight or our trip to Italy. From our tours of the the Parmigiano Factory, Prosciutto Facilty and the Balsamic winery to an exquisite lunch at a hilltop winery, everything was first rate. The experience was mae even better by our excellent tour guide Angelo. His knowledge and kindness made the tour a truly memorable experience!

Date of experience: September 2023
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nicholas John G, Founder Experience Maker at Parma Food n Wine Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2024

Kindness.... how lovely.


- yep that's the word.


It takes time to sit with the makers in this culture and very glad you came to FWD and it happens best surrounded by careful moments of kindness. Best always and thanks you Nick and Angelo, Founders/Destination Guides.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews