We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly service and very good location to see the tourist sites”
Review of Hotel Ravenna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Ravenna
Ranked #25 of 36 Hotels in Ravenna
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Friendly and helpful service.Great location with off street parking. Rooms were clean and tidy. My suggestion is to increase the range of food choices for breakfeast. Room was conpact but cosy. Wifi was free for two hours then you had buy access though the price was reasonable.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giulio L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (232)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 232 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

This hotel is located near the train station, on the opposite side of the road, hence no train noises, and an easy 3 block walk to the pedestrian area of downtown. The station entrance is about 50 m away.

There is a small free parking lot with video surveillance for those driving and the place was easy to find by following directions to the station.

Our room was spotless, as was the bathroom. Beds were comfortable, it had a small desk and built in closet.The location was quiet and we slept well. There was a TV but who has time to watch TV on holiday? Internet was free for 20 mi, then 1 euro an hour, by a card purchased at the front desk. The signal was strong and it was easy to use. The bathroom was fairly small, but there was abundant hot water, good shower pressure and generous towels.

Breakfast was included in the price and was comprised of in cereal, yoghurt, coffee breads ect. (Mostly packaged - but I liked it as I thought it more hygienic). Gluten free crackers were a treat for me - and there was plenty of fresh fruit.

The location was great, all the mosaics were within an easy walk, as was all of downtown. A walled fortification not mentioned in the guide books was about 3 blocks away, turning left out the front door.

Lastly at 60 euro a night for 2 we thought it was a real bargain.

The host owners were gracious and welcoming.

This simple hotel met all of our needs and we would not hesitate to return.

.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Roadbirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

The hotel manager (20/09/13) was so accommodating when we turned up at 10:00pm with no reservation on a friday night very tired and frustrated from driving. He was a pleasure to deal with (sorry I did not get his name). The room was very adequate and clean with the nice touch of a ceiling fan and a small balcony, and the location is perfect for touring Ravenna. There was also free parking in the small parking in front of the hotel. This accommodation is good value for money to be in the heart of Ravenna. The only slight negative was the breakfast as it was mostly prepackaged foods, but adequate.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CS R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We liked this hotel as it was perfectly located to wander around the must-see sights of the fabulous town of Ravenna. The hotel itself is worn and dated but exceptionally clean and the staff were unfailingly lovely. We had a "quadruple" room, meaning we had one double bed and two single beds, as we were travelling with our 4 and 2 year old sons. The room was reminiscent of a youth hostel/dorm - the tv was small and had only Italian TV available and the shower cubicle was pretty tiny. Nevertheless, it was just fine. There is so much to see in Ravenna that as long as where you stay is clean and relatively comfortable ... well, that was our perspective anyway. Appreciated having parking available in front of the hotel, very convenient. Breakfast was very basic, nothing cooked, breads and cereals basically, but it really was fine. Location and cleanliness makes this a great find.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anitha_Harvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

An efficient and very clean hotel 100 yards from the rail station. The rooms, breakfast etc are very typical of the level found throughout Italy in this price range. The location is probably unbeatable for ease of access to all of the 8 unesco sites, two of which are outside of the old part of Ravenna. 7 of the sites are within easy access on the flat city streets, and there is a good supermarket nearby as well as cafes, bars & gelatarias.

There is car parking on site and the rooms are air conditioned but best of all have a fan as we'll. wifi is available. The tv has only Italian stations and only one plug worked in my room making charging of my various batteries (phone, camera, tablet, shaver) a bit of a chore.

Staff were quite ok, but mainly spoke only Italian.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eat-no-fat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

I've been to Ravenna three times to see the spectacular Byzantine mosaics and I've stayed here each time and as recently as this past May. The single rooms are small and basic and a little overpriced.
The problem is with the bathroom which doesn't have a separate shower stall with a divider. This means the entire floor will be wet when you shower (however, this is often the case in budget hotels in Italy).
The location--bang next to the railway station--is very helpful, especially if you have an early morning train to catch. And you can walk to all the sites quite easily since Ravenna is fairly small. So...the only reason to stay in this hotel is because of the convenience factor.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank tunai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

This hotel is within a few minutes walk from the Old Town of Ravenna. There is a small parking lot where we parked our car for free. The woman who checked us in had a sour puss - I don't think she ever smiled. There was another woman who was very friendly, but didn't speak English very well - however she did recommend a wonderful restaurant nearby. The gentleman at the desk was both friendly and helpful. As for the room - it was small. I had to ask for a hair dryer as there was none in the room. It worked fine. The bathroom was tiny - no room to put anything and the toilet paper kept falling out of the dispenser. Breakfast was basic - everything was packaged - nothing fresh. There was virtually no security at the front desk. Keys were hanging on the wall and the desk was mostly unattended. When we came in for the night we just took our key. Anyone could walk in from the street and do the same. There were a couple of steps near the lobby that were difficult to navigate and as a result we were always tripping. Wi-fi was free for 2 hours. I didn't use up the time when I lost the signal. Sour puss told me I used it up! But - in her favor - she gave me another password to use. Score one for her!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LLiv-NewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ravenna hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Centrale Byron
Hotel Centrale Byron
#9 of 36 in Ravenna
436 reviews
1.8 mi away
B&B Hotel Ravenna
B&B Hotel Ravenna
#16 of 36 in Ravenna
448 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mosaico
Hotel Mosaico
#13 of 36 in Ravenna
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
NH Ravenna
NH Ravenna
#7 of 36 in Ravenna
948 reviews
0.3 mi away
Astoria
Astoria
#10 of 36 in Ravenna
896 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Minerva
Hotel Minerva
#24 of 36 in Ravenna
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ravenna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ravenna

Address: Via Pietro Maroncelli 12, 48121, Ravenna, Italy
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Ravenna > Ravenna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 36 Hotels in Ravenna
Price Range: £57 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ravenna 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Ravenna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing