We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazingly Italian hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Albergo Cappello

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Albergo Cappello
Ranked #15 of 36 Hotels in Ravenna
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Amazingly Italian hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

We didn't find much choice in Ravenna when looking so we didn't really know what to expect when we arrived here as we had found it for a rather reasonable price. We certainly didn't expect such a beautiful hotel. If you are looking for something authentically italian and different from standard hotel chains, a comfortable bed and a distinctive room with friendly staff then this is the perfect place, not to mention the great location right in the heart of the old town. It's easily accessible from the station on foot.

Despite the hotel being relatively small, and there seemingly few guests, the breakfast was good - cereals, cold meats, really good fresh fruit and they can make eggs for you. Also, the pastries are amazing and huge.

We didn't try the restaurant but it looked good. Everything about this hotel blew us away, but special mention to the friendly staff who couldn't do enough for you and were very professional.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KateM1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    53
    16
    4
    4
See reviews for
30
88
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Landford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

By far the best 3-star we have stayed in. The setting is old town Ravenna and the hotel is charming, quite and efficient. The rooms were majestic, and the restaurant was tasteful in setting and of 5-star quality. The wine waiter is good and the range available is outstanding.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carllamos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

A friend and I stayed at Albergo Cappello for two nights in October after a month-long tour of Italy, and found it a lovely place to linger in the last days of a fabulous vacation. Clean and well-appointed rooms, charming dining room with good food, extremely helpful and personable staff, and a perfect location in Ravenna's "old city," within walking distance to St. Vitale, the Duomo, and shopping. We left with great memories.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oneoffive105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arkansas, U.S.
Level Contributor
61 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

I decided to do a weekend trip to Ravenna while on a trip to Bologna. I only was able to book one night but the building is magnificent. I would however, consider getting an upgraded room to not be envious of the suites. The rooms on the second floor off the main area are incredibly appointed. However I had to select the low priced alternative, which was nice but not as well appointed, Very, very tiny room and bathroom requiring agility to take a shower;wished I could have stayed in the palatial suites but the room was clean and importantly air-conditioning-- a benefit not shared by other b & b or hotel locations in the same price range. A great location; bicycles available if you are inclined to get around the town. Close to the best mosaics (yes you should go; everyone tells you to go see the mosaics but they really are fantastic and not just another church in any way). Besides feeling like a wealthy person in another time when walking through the building (its really incredible), the bonus of this boutique hotel is the extraordinary staff. Far and away the best. They investigated how I might get to the arena for the concert by Yo Yo Ma; got me a cab in seconds; were able to contact the folks at the b & b I was to move to the second day of the trip when they were fully booked and the b & b folks were not answering the doorbell--- on a sweltering day when I stood in the doorway there (another story) with all my bags but no one answered the door; let me store my bags when I had no idea of what would be happening with my next reservation. Did not have international access on my phone so they called around for a number of things from the main desk--to arrange concert tickets, find a cab for me, deal with the b & b, etc.. Stay at least one night if you go to Ravenna and splurge for a major suite. You won't regret it.

Room Tip: dont get the cheapest room; you will have incredible room envy and not have the feeling you are roya...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DrPatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

We spent 3 nights in the Albergo Capello and our experience was far better than expected. The hotel is very well located in the center of the old city of Ravenna. The rooms are very spacious and very comfortable. The bathroom is also big and comfortable. Very good internet connection and tv cable are also provided. The breakfast was great as well. We could choose among a wide variety of delicious options. The hotel also has a restaurant with reasonable prices and tasteful italian dishes. As if all that was enough the staff is very kind and helpful. In my opinion, this hotel should be a 4 star hotel. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dmitrov, Russia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

Great old-styled hotel in the historical part of Ravenna... Outstanding interiors with old furniture... exellent restaurant, but the breakfast is rather basic... helpfull and friendly staff... free bike to use... don't stay anywhere else in Ravenna...

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaRys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

The young women at the desk were so friendly and helpful that my friend and I felt like we were their only guests. The old, stately place is comfortable in an excellent location. A hearty breakfast in the beautiful dining room was an added pleasure.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ravenna hotels
0.4 mi away
Palazzo Bezzi
Palazzo Bezzi
#2 of 36 in Ravenna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
0.2 mi away
M club De Luxe B&B
M club De Luxe B&B
#1 of 36 in Ravenna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
0.3 mi away
NH Ravenna
NH Ravenna
#6 of 36 in Ravenna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Residence La Reunion
Residence La Reunion
#7 of 36 in Ravenna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Centrale Byron
Hotel Centrale Byron
#8 of 36 in Ravenna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sant'Andrea Hotel
Sant'Andrea Hotel
#14 of 36 in Ravenna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Cappello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Cappello

Property: Albergo Cappello
Address: Via IV Novembre, 41, 48100, Ravenna, Italy
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Ravenna > Ravenna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 36 Hotels in Ravenna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo Cappello 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Albergo Cappello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Cappello Ravenna
Albergo Cappello Hotel Ravenna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing