We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family break in Ravenna”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Residence La Reunion
Ranked #6 of 36 Hotels in Ravenna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Very helpful staff in the hotel and a great location. All rooms / apartments furnished to a luxurious standard. Close to the train station for travel to further destinations within Italy. Many great restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Paul Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (363)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 363 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed at the La Reunion for 2 nights and had a great experience. We do not speak Italian and the staff made us feel so comfortable and welcome. The staff went above and beyond to ensure that our stay was top notch. We dealt with Cloro most often and she was awesome! Garavini and Sara also helped make our stay very comfortable. Thanks to the housekeeping staff for keeping the rooms so clean. The location was central to all the action and good restaurants. We will definately recommend La Reunion and plan to come back.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Todd G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

I planned to stay in Ravenna for three nights and found this lovely apartment-hotel online at a reasonable rate. I had such a wonderful experience that I extended for a week.

The front desk staff is so kind and helpful, Anike, Filippo, Alicia, the sweet Sara to help at breakfast, Carolina and the other women who clean the room, the owner is on site and is as delightful as everyone else.

One issue-- at check-in late in the day/evening, you may need to telephone them if Filippo is helping another guest and isn't at the front desk. Having a phone helped (call the cell # provided on the sign at the door) and he quickly let me in. Unlike a hotel, always bring your key with you. Use the little key area to the right of the massive wooden entry door to sound the little buzzer and push the door open. I tried to use the key unsuccessfully in the door itself and a resident in the building showed me how to use the keyhole to the right if the door.

I stayed in Suite Rasponi. It was perfect for me and would be great for a couple. The bed was very comfortable. Bathroom had a shower (no tub) and is a bit small, but serviceable. Hair dryer, iron and ironing board, all all-over liquid body soap are provided. I didn't use the washing machine, hand washing laundry and hanging it on the provided drying rack on the balcony instead. There is a nice balcony overlooking the pedestrianized little street and the wine bar across from it.

Ravenna has nearby wetlands, great for nature-lovers but it invites mosquitoes. Ask Anike to use their Vape plug-in repellant or get could if you want to keep your balcony door or window open.

As I love to cook, I chose an apartment with a kitchen. It came with a smallish refrigerator and a gas stove and oven. I believe there was a microwave (didn't use it). The fridge is stocked with minibar expensive items so they said to just put them all in a plastic bag to the side and there was no problem using the fridge that way. The kitchen is stocked with basic cooking utensils such as some pans, a couple of pots and colander, large glass salad/pasta bowl, but it's not equipped for someone who is really there to cook. There's not a grater, zester or vegetable peeler, for example, but there's a basic cooking spoon, spatula, silverware and plates and bowls and four small glasses. You'll need to supply your own salt pepper olive oil and all cooking supplies. There is a kettle with some teabags, instant coffee and sugar packets provided.

There is a nearby expensive, very nice grocery store, gastronomia, which is a couple of blocks straight down Via Ricci heading away from Piazza di Popolo.
The Conad is much larger and cheaper about 10 blocks away near the arch at Via Roma.

The living area has a loveseat which I think is a pullout sleeper, a television and a dining table with four chairs. It's a small space but perfectly serviceable and if a couple work to stay here, it would be great to have that extra space for some privacy and watching TV separately time or whatever.

A unique and wonderful thing about the apartment is that it is also a hotel. There is someone on the desk from fairly early in the morning until 11 o'clock at night.
They were so helpful, providing information and maps and suggestions and even very sweetly giving me a QR reader card that I loved using at the Museums. Buy the €9.50 card for all five attractions and then the QR Reader gives you a free English guide and interesting little "curiosities" about each place not talked about in guidebooks. (Like
that Klimpt was so inspired by the gold mosaics in one Basilica that he was inspired to paint The Kiss.)

The owner really has tried to make this a luxury apartment stay experience. And he has succeeded. There is daily housekeeping and your towels will be changed, your bed made and sheets changed appropriately, the apartment cleaned and the ladies are wonderful. I left out my iPad and jewelry sometimes and there was never am issue with security.

I was struck by the fact that this is a true team effort led by this lovely owner. You can tell that he is devoted to his staff. There are beautifully printed brochures with the names and faces of all the staff members which to me indicates a long-term commitment to the people who work for him and the guests. Dott. Casalegno: Complimenti!

The breakfast was a highlight. Served until 10:30, it's a great start to your day. There is a machine that dispenses espresso and cappuccino and café macchiato and all the rest. What was so unique here is that it also has a big juicer and a huge bowl of fresh fruits and some veggies. I love starting my day with a platter of fresh cut up melon and watermelon and pineapple along with the juicer. There were celery, cherry tomatoes, carrots, fresh apricots and bananas and anything else in season. The owner rightfully takes great pride in the fresh organic fruits and vegetables and other products that he serves at breakfast. There are preserves and honeys from local farmers, fruits and vegetables are from local farmers, and even unusual things in Italy like organic rice cakes were provided. Beautiful pastries, cakes and breads are baked by a woman associated with the hotel. They have Swiss cheese, the little triangle cheese that is creamy, some prosciutto and ham and salami and boiled eggs. Lovely fresh juices. And the adorable, hard-working Sara keeps it all well-stocked and organized.

The price is very reasonable. Email the hotel directly for a bit better rate than you find on third party booking sites.

5* all the way. Enjoy!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank Lana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Great location, friendly and immensely helpful staff, clean, large and very well provisioned rooms, wonderful breakfast (delicious and healthy) -- couldn't be better and all at a very reasonable rate. An excellent hotel in a fascinating, small city.

Room Tip: We had two suites on different sides of the hotel and both were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 60Italy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gianluigi Casal... C, Receptionist at Residence La Reunion, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014
Google Translation

Gentilissimi,

Vi ringraziamo per i complimenti a nome di tutto lo staff dell' Hotel Residence La Reunion;
è per noi sempre un piacere averVi come graditi ospiti e condividere con Voi il meglio che la città e le meraviglie del territorio hanno da offire.
Cerchiamo di dare solo il meglio a tutti i nostri ospiti ed è per questo che dotiamo tutti i nostri appartamenti dei migliori servizi di cui il viaggiatore o il businessman possono richiedere;
dalla cucina americana completa di tutto, all'aria condizionata (bed room, living room) regolabile autonomamente,vasca idromassaggio e lettini solarium negli attici delle Suite Executive, lavatrice e lavastoviglie, Sky tv con pacchetto Calcio, Motogp e F1 e Wifi in ogni Suite.
Alla Reunion crediamo che il pregio e l'eccellenza non siano qualità straordinarie ma semplici modi di condurre la nostra vita quotidinamente, amando ciò che facciamo e, prestando in particolare attenzione anche al più piccolo dei dettagli che spesso è quello su cui poggia il benessere delle nostre vite ordinarie.
Proprio per questo motivo siamo molto attenti all'alimentazione e alla scelta degli alimenti della prima colazione, accuratamente selezionati per offire a tutti nostri graditi ospiti il gusto e la vitalità di un prodotto il più possibile BIO e salutare.
Oltre a pane e brioche sfornato in mattinata, marmellate, miele e frutta della nostra tenuta agricola offriamo ai nostri ospiti anche prodotti non tipici della colazione meditarranea come riso, fagioli e uova in stile anglosassone, salumi e affettati, crostate torte e plumcake di alta pasticceria; inoltre se lo si desidera è possibile bere una centrifuga (sedano, carota, etc.) della frutta o verdura preferita
così da iniziare la giornata con la vitalità e l'energia che solo i migliori nutrienti naturali possono offrire.
Ultimo ma non meno importante abbiamo a disposizione una vasta scelta di prodotti Gluten free così da soddisfare anche i clienti più bisognosi in termini di apporto e scelta nutritiva (es. Celiachi, Vegetariani o Vegan).
Speriamo di averVi ancora in futuro come nostri graditissimi ospiti e Vi porgiamo i nostri migliori saluti dal cuore di Ravenna e dell'arte Bizantina.

In fede

Filippo Garavini

Segreteria di Direzione

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

The location is a cross the street from the piazza de popola, which puts you right in the center of all of the sites and restaurants.
The room was comfortable as we're the beds. We even had a little washer in our room. Figuring out how it worked was a challenge, but it did wash our clothes eventually. Wifi worked great. Breakfast was good, and the front desk and all of the staff couldn't have been nicer.

We have been in Italy for almost 3 weeks, and this is the nicest accommodation we have had to date. Stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank cps59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

We had two very agreeable nights here on a sentimental return trip to Ravenna to meet friends of more than 40 years ago. The central location was extremely convenient as we could reach many of the premier sights on foot as well as good restaurants and bars. The staff were unfailingly helpful and gave excellent advice on restaurants, flower shops etc and organised parking effortlessly. Dott Casalegno - the sparkling, engaging and larger than life proprietor - also made himself known seeking to ensure that we were being looked after well. Breakfast room was elegant with great choice of "continental" fare. The deal through booking.com was excellent and we would return without hesitation. Our only slight negative is around access. It won't be a problem in future now we know the score but it would have helped to have had in advance of arrival details of how to negotiate the restricted routes and pedestrianised streets to get to drop off luggage.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank BobbyGor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I stayed at this gorgeous hotel two nights recently and wish I could have stayed longer! Right in the heart of town, just a short walk from the train station. It was actually a suite with a sitting room/kitchen with a nice big sofa, a 4 burner stove top, microwave, little fridge and everything one would need to cook up a meal, plus nice dishes, pans, tea towels, etc. It had a giant bedroom and big bath. The bathroom even had a mini washing machine!!!! I noticed a drying rack and ironing board in the closet, so this place could be used as a base for long-term exploration of the surrounding area. Breakfast was soooooo delicious with gourmet honeys, jams and preserves to go with the delicious pastries, fresh fruit salads, cold sliced meats and cheeses, cereals, juices, really deluxe eating. The staff was super super nice, offering me a coffee upon my arrival while my room was readied. On a scale of 1-10, I'd give this place a 15!!!
Oh and the weekend flea market right out the door was perfect for an antiquer like me! : )

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marti C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ravenna hotels
0.3 mi away
Palazzo Bezzi
Palazzo Bezzi
#2 of 36 in Ravenna
757 reviews
0.3 mi away
NH Ravenna
NH Ravenna
#7 of 36 in Ravenna
973 reviews
1.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Mattei
Grand Hotel Mattei
#5 of 36 in Ravenna
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Centrale Byron
Hotel Centrale Byron
#8 of 36 in Ravenna
447 reviews
1.2 mi away
B&B Hotel Ravenna
B&B Hotel Ravenna
#16 of 36 in Ravenna
460 reviews
0.4 mi away
M club De Luxe B&B
M club De Luxe B&B
#1 of 36 in Ravenna
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence La Reunion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence La Reunion

Address: Via Corrado Ricci 29, 48121, Ravenna, Italy
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Ravenna > Ravenna
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 36 Hotels in Ravenna
Price Range: £78 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence La Reunion 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence La Reunion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing