We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hosts, great place.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
a casa di paola suite
Ranked #10 of 135 Ravenna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great hosts, great place.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the Masion across the street from A Casa di Paola, owned and operated by the same hosts. We had booked in A Casa di Paola, but due to travel changes, had to arrive a day early. They kindly made room for us at the Masion. We were very comfortable there with luxurious A/C room and modern private bathroom across the hall. This was a great base to explore the Ravenna mosaics and museums.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Justin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    49
    18
    3
    1
See reviews for
50
89
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ypsilanti
Level Contributor
87 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

We stayed for one night at A Casa di Paola Bed and Breakfast in Ravenna in July 2014. I chose this place based on its listing in the Rick Steves Italy 2014 guidebook and was not disappointed. It's not hard to find while coming from the train station. We arrived (there's a sign on the door), rang the bell, and were buzzed in. The friendly woman spoke some English and let us into room C. That's when our jaws dropped. The room was HUGE and luxurious! I actually thought we'd been given the wrong room! (I think any American traveler would be impressed with the room.) Once we confirmed it was the right room, we left our luggage and headed out to enjoy all the Ravenna mosaic sites (easily walkable since this place is in the city center). The room was smoke-free (and we believe this B&B is non-smoking), very clean, and air-conditioned (got down to 72-74 F). The room was quiet (even though it faced the street) and had very good lighting. The TV got a lot of channels (and we enjoyed watching a World Cup game). The room also had a lot of plugs. Breakfast was nice (pastries, toast, cereal, juice, coffee) and served in the beautiful upstairs breakfast room. The ensuite bathroom was huge (the largest of our entire trip) with a modern feel and large glass shower. The only cons to this place: the beds were so-so (in our two-bed room, one [my twin] was wonderfully soft, the other [the double] was firm), there were a lot of stairs, the street was not well lit after dark, and we couldn't get the in-room wifi to work (but the shared guest computer was great). The biggest problem was we really, really struggled to get the outside door (from the street into the house) unlocked. It took a special key, and we tried and tried and couldn't figure out the method to use it. After 1-2 minutes of turning, we always got the door to unlock, but we never could figure out how we did it. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank ChemTeacherTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Brilliant location, fabulous rooms with air con, huge Italian breakfast, amazing decor, 24/7 coffee and cold water, very friendly owner and housekeeper, charming 'staying with a friend with great taste' feel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

I stayed here for a few days in June of 2013. Needless to say, it was the best experience I've had as far as accommodations in Italy. The breakfast attendant was warm and very friendly. I met some of the other guests on the upper veranda and enjoyed an apertivo. One was welcome to help themselves to various food and beverages throughout the day. The room itself was stunning with beautiful exposed beams and a gorgeous bathroom. The only minor detail was finding somebody to let me in. There is a number to call the owners, but I did not have a cell phone. The store owner next door graciously helped me. I would stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AAHpera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

A reasonable suitcase pull from the rail station brings us to the solid green door of this Bed and Breakfast. After a telephone call and a short wait we are let in and climb the stairs (!) to the bright living quarters in this well converted roof space, with huge beams and skylights in the bedrooms (operated from the light switches). The very friendly staff all speak fluent Italian, Most of the guests didn't, but everybody was happy with smiles and pointing. There are about 6 bedrooms. The breakfast choice was very adequate, with fresh pastries as well as cereals and eggs cooked to order. Ideally situated to walk to Ravenna's mosaic jewels. Good value.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights, after booking on the net 6 months ago. Quiet room, lovely breakfast, good WiFi, a terrace where we had our own picnic lunch. Close to everything. The house has a wonderful collection of treasures: books, paintings and a classic motorbike. A small courtyard garden breathes life into the house. Lovely.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alasdair MacA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013 via mobile

A marvellous hotel: gorgeous and immaculate rooms (with high, beamed ceilings); sumptuous breakfasts; perfect location; and very hospitable hosts (who invite you to anything in the fridges). A top recommendation for any stay in this glorious city.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ravenna hotels
0.3 mi away
Palazzo Bezzi
Palazzo Bezzi
#2 of 36 in Ravenna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Centrale Byron
Hotel Centrale Byron
#7 of 36 in Ravenna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.3 mi away
M club De Luxe B&B
M club De Luxe B&B
#1 of 36 in Ravenna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
NH Ravenna
NH Ravenna
#6 of 36 in Ravenna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
0.2 mi away
Residence La Reunion
Residence La Reunion
#8 of 36 in Ravenna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Noctis
Villa Noctis
#4 of 135 in Ravenna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to a casa di paola suite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about a casa di paola suite

Property: a casa di paola suite
Address: Via Paolo Costa 31, 48121, Ravenna, Italy
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Ravenna > Ravenna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 135 B&Bs / Inns in Ravenna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — a casa di paola suite 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mansion of the seventeenth century. finely restored in 2009th Travin and with ancient frescoes. We are in the old city in a street adjacent to the Square but freely accessible to people with car parking areas free and secure garage and an agreement in the immediate vicinity (only 10 euros for 24 h.) All rooms have private baths, air conditioning, LCD TV and free internet access. Garden and terrace inside. Bicycles and mini bar available for free. Agreement with typical restaurant. The central station and 'only 500 mt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your a casa di paola suite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing