We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Satan in the western art”

Basilica di Sant'Apollinare Nuovo
Book In Advance
More Info
US$83.74*
and up
Ravenna 3-Hour Private Guided Tour
More Info
US$119.63*
and up
Private Walking Tour: Discover Ravenna's Stunning Mosaics
More Info
US$71.78*
and up
Half-day Walking Tour in Ravenna
Ranked #3 of 86 things to do in Ravenna
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
310 reviews
142 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 269 helpful votes
“Satan in the western art”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Following the interpretation of some historians, this mosaic is considered the first western artistic depiction of Satan! Besides that, this church is truly unique and again another crossroad between the old western/eastern early christianity. A must see!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andrea D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    880
    318
    43
    9
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
“Too much beautiful to explain with simple words”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

I live in Ravenna,so I see it every day and every day I remember when I was there with the school and my teachers(who can explain that church better that an old teacher from Ravenna?)and visited the church.First me and my friends was thinking:"What a bore!It will be another example of a ruine church!"but when we get there I said:"ON THE FACE OF THE RUINE CHURCH!!!".If i cannot explain the beauty of the church when I was there,I think I will NEVER have the words to explain it!That beauty,that mosaics all so perfect,in the finest details,made that church the biggest attraction of all Ravenna.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Another "must see" in Ravenna”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

More gorgeous mosaics. You will need a guidebook or knowledgable person to explain to explain their history and meaning.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank TallSteve2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very interesting building and mosaics”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

The external side is very interesting due to its architecture, typical of Ravenna (the campanary, for example). The interior is splendid with the columns and the mosaics.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Henrique Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Level 6 Contributor
441 reviews
217 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“Lovely and worth a visit”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Make sure you have some details or a guide to explain what you are seeing. The most interesting part to me was seeing what was modified over the years as the rulers changed. Without the information it would be beautiful but knowing the history makes it more interesting.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank detraveler_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Basilica di Sant'Apollinare Nuovo also viewed

Ravenna, Province of Ravenna
Ravenna, Province of Ravenna
 

Been to Basilica di Sant'Apollinare Nuovo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing