We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hotel with very nice restaurant”
Review of Hotel Titano

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Titano
Reviewed 14 August 2009

We stayed here as part of an escorted group tour. The hotel is fairly basic but quite comfortable. Our room was tiny but adequate and the bathroom was okay. We had a delicious meal in their restaurant overlooking the surrounding countryside and it was quite spectacular. San Marino is a unique location, with some interesting architecture and amazing views due to it's position on a mountain top. The drive to the town was a bit scarey in a bus, and we had to walk from where the bus stopped into the main area of the town and to get to the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hippodreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (445)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

137 - 143 of 445 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2009

Rooms actually varied quite a bit within the hotel. Sizes varied from being very small to being almost apartment like with a 2nd bathroom, lounge room and balcony.
We were unfortunate to have a room ("dungeon room") 2 floors below entrance level which had not been upgraded as yet. The lower you went, the smellier/mustier the stench. There was also a horrible sewerage smell in the bottom 2 floors.
Our room had no air conditioner/fan which meant we had to open the window. However there was a continuous outside water pipe gushing which was quite noisy.
The shower was also a nightmare...no hot water!
Breakfast was okay, although ensure you are not slightly late as they start packing the food quite early.
On the positive side, location of the hotel was great, being in the heart of the village.

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank H0lidayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2008

Arriving at the Hotel Titano was an event in itself. The city of San Marino is situated on the top of a mountain, and as our tour bus wound its way slowly through the narrow streets, our guide explained that we would not be able to drive directly to the hotel. Instead we would disembark at a small parking lot and load our bags into the hotel's van, and walk up. Travelling with some people much younger than ourselves we felt the challenge to follow their lead and drag our stuff up the hill to the hotel. Not a trek for the out-of-shape! The hotel itself is centrally located and provides wonderful service. The staff was gracious and helpful. The rooms, however, were quite tiny, as were the bathrooms. There is no possibility of getting dressed in the bathroom unless you are a contortionist. We had a room on the 1st floor, which was actually 2 flights down from the front desk, and a charming balcony which we shared with our neighbors. One small concern - the door to the balcony was only covered by a thin sheer curtain, allowing sunlight and streetlights to beam into the room. We solved the problem with a thick beach towel we had with us. We had a nice lunch and a great dinner at the hotel's restaurant which provided breath-taking views. Overall, a good experience tho I would not reccommend this for people with mobility issues.

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank kendrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2007

We stayed in room 310 on the top floor of the left hand section of the hotel. Excellent view of the vally beneath the town.

Room 309 (smaller room but direct access to a roof terrace) and 310 (larger and access of same terrace but from corridor) have great views. Definitely go for rooms from 304 to 310 as they have the view and are in the nicer side of the hotel.

The beds were reasonably comfortable (for Italy) although twins. Air Con, TV (Only BBC World Only in English). Underground parking (13 euros) and Spa facilities available at the Grand Hotel San Marino. Rooms were clean and tidy and if you want to stay the night in San Marino I would recommend it.

San Marino itself is very tacky ... The Towers are worth a visit ... spectacular drops to the valley below and the views are worth seeing but the rest of the town is full of shops selling Samauri swords, replica guns, cheap jewelry and the most extraordinary collection of other rubbish.

When all the tourists leave at night - the town is pretty dead with no decent bars or restaurants ... we ate in the hotel on the Terrace which was agreeable with good service. (Probably as good as it gets)

San Marino should be a beautiful and historic place to visit but falls well short and is runied by all of the low quality cheap tat for sale in all of the shops. (It would be interesting if they did all by it from the same cash and carry!) There are only so many replica AK47s and badly made ceramic fairys that you can need.

All in all, nice hotel, friendly staff but I would suggest that you visit for a couple of hours and look at the views, get your passport stamped at the Municipal office and leave ...

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Giles_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2007

The location of this hotel is quite good--being in the centre of the old town. The lobby was a bit difficult to find initially, but looked quite elegant on entering. Unfortunately, that's where it ended. The room we got was tiny for a family of 4, and the window looked out onto a stone wall. There was no view, unlike what is shown on their website. The air-conditioning barely worked. Internet was available for Eu 4.00 for 30 minutes. Pay parking is available about 3 blocks minimum from the hotel, at Eu.4.00 per day.

One other detail not befitting a 4-star hotel was the incredibly coarse bath towels, which abraided a layer of skin when used.

The main town of San Marino is pretty small, so it's easy to walk around --you might do better if you stay at a newer place outside of the old city, and come in for the day.

  • Stayed: July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Travelling_Axe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2007

stayed at this hotel july 2007 as part of a package tour cosmos italian masterpiece.atmospheric hotel,friendly service.dining room with spectacular views but do not let the head waiter catch you sitting at a table laid for six when there is only one of you!otherwise san marino itself especially at night is wonderful.

  • Stayed: July 2007
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank getaboutalotwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2007

Wouldn't change a thing about this hotel. It is literally on top of the mountain in San Marino with breathtaking views of the city below. You are right in the heart of the shopping/dining area on top. Breakfast was good and they even had parking for our car in a private garage. The staff were all friendly and helpful. Would return for the view above all!

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Newlyweds07-06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these City of San Marino hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel San Marino
Grand Hotel San Marino
#2 of 12 in City of San Marino
725 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ristorante Cesare
Hotel Ristorante Cesare
#4 of 12 in City of San Marino
594 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Joli
Hotel Joli
#3 of 12 in City of San Marino
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Titano Suites Hotel
Titano Suites Hotel
#9 of 12 in City of San Marino
68 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel La Grotta
Hotel La Grotta
#5 of 12 in City of San Marino
196 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Rocca
Hotel La Rocca
#6 of 12 in City of San Marino
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Titano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Titano

Address: Contrada Del Collegio 31, City of San Marino 47890, San Marino
Region: San Marino > City of San Marino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in City of San Marino
Price Range: £60 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Titano 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Titano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Titano San Marino/City Of San Marino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing