We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Ristorante Cesare
Certificate of Excellence
Aartselaar, Belgium
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Super Place”
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Great hotel. Great view with stunning terrace. Good breakfast with super breakfastlady! We Did something wrong at booking.com And booked two rooms. The reception arranged for us To fixend that! The location into the old city is Great. Rooms are clean and in style from there. Mix charm and mountain

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    241
    60
    18
    7
See reviews for
88
335
28
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oshawa, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

When we first arrived, we were notified by the lady at the front desk that she had our reservation for the night before, when in fact we had booked it for the day that we had arrived. This was a little bit irritating, but luckily they still had some rooms left and the receptionist only charged us half price for these ones. The room was okay, and the view was beautiful. The bathroom was alright, except for the shower, which is so tiny that you can hardly move. The breakfast was average at most. If I were to stay there again, it would only be for the location, which is wonderful.

Room Tip: My partner's mother had a single room by the elevator, which was active for most of the night an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kally-Ocean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCesare, Hotel Staff at Hotel Ristorante Cesare, responded to this review, 24 August 2012
Dear Madame,

We thank you for having reviewed our hotel, our guests’ feedback is always important for us.
We remember you very well and we think it is correct to clarify better the circumstances, in order to let tripadvisor users know what actually happened.
Your reservation was indeed booked for the night before the day you arrived: we showed you the printed online confirmation and we kindly asked you to check your email inbox in order to let you make it sure personally.
We had to ask you the payment of the no show because we were fully booked that night, we received many requests from other guests but we kept the rooms for you all night long, otherwise we would certainly have given them to you for free.
We were very sorry for this mistake and, therefore, we offered you half price for the night after (we only had the few last rooms available even for that second night).
Furthermore, we assured you that in case, once you came back home, you could find your own evidence that you had made the online reservation with the dates you thought were correct, we would have refund.
This period without any contact from you makes us in fact really surprised for your review, moreover in consideration of the special discount we offered you.
We are nevertheless very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay so that you would come back to stay in our hotel again in the future. We wait for you and we send you our kindest regards,

Reception Staff
Hotel Cesare****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WashingtonDC
Level Contributor
831 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 403 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

My partner and I spent a night at the Cesare hotel and found it to be an adequate room with an AMAZING view and location. Cesare is located right at the top of the City of San Marino, and you park in the highest parking area (which is very close), so there is not much more walking “up” like at some of the other hotels. The hotel is very near the First Tower and restaurants and shops are everywhere

The view from our room was absolutely fantastic. I would recommend this hotel *provided that* a view of the mountain comes with your room. There are street-view rooms on the other side of the hallway, but I could tell that those wouldn’t be as memorable as the mountain-view (though, the streets are quaint). I’ve enclosed pictures along with the review so you can get a sense of what I mean – all of the countryside is visible, and there aren’t any structures or trees blocking the view. The terrace (only two rooms have a terrace) was large and we stayed out there quite a bit with some wine and cheese and soaking up the view. The room itself was fine, but nothing to speak of.

The service was hit-and-miss. One of the front desk people was very nice and accommodating, but later in the night we had trouble with the air conditioner, and a different front desk guy was surly and barely spoke English – he was clearly peeved at us. My partner also managed to forget his passport in the room, so when we called Cesare from our next hotel in Florence, they sent it promptly and we received it the next day. The breakfast was OK, but it’s at a lower level, so there is no view.

Overall, Cesare is a good choice if you’re staying a night or two in San Marino. We enjoyed our time, and there’s free WiFi.

Room Tip: a room with a balcony or view of the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jg325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Booked 2 classic rooms for an overnight stay within the old city of San Marino. Parked at the wrong car park (P5) and ended up walking through most of the old town in order to get to Cesare. Tip - make sure you park at P6 which is a 1 min walk from the hotel!
I had wanted to get a better room but the hotel was booked out for the medieval festival. The rooms were a little cramp and dated - however they were clean. The aircon worked well in one of our rooms but not the other - I ended up opening a window and listening to the trumpets at midnight as part of the close out of the festival.
We ended up eating in the main restaurant - very handy and you get a 10% discount as a guest.
The breakfast was also good - very friendly lady serving coffee and tea.
Overall I would stay at the hotel again as long as I could get a better room.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WaimanCheuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012 via mobile

Best room - blue room, #306. Very nice view from the room.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank korzun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

Pros: Location is fantastic! Good restaurant with nice views. Different restaurant for breakfast and dinner. The Fish menu for dinner was wonderful. Staff were very nice and helpful - just a little shocking that they only knew about transportation in san marino - they didn't even know how to get to rimini airport! free wireless.

Cons: Room was tooo tiny for the money paid. I got a street view even though I requested otherwise 2 weeks prior. Bathroom was basic as well. Room was such a disappointment for the money paid otherwise i would have rated higher.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCesare, Hotel Staff at Hotel Ristorante Cesare, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
Dear Guest,

We really thank you for your review.
It is true, our Classic Rooms are not so big, but they offer all the comfort of the other typologies.
We often offer our guests room upgrades for free, even for last minute reservations, but it may happen that sometimes this is unfortunately not possible.

Nevertheless, we are really glad to know that you find our staff very nice and helpful and that you liked our location, our restaurant and the buffet breakfast.
It will be a pleasure for us to have you as our guest again in the future, we wait for you again!

Kindest regards,

Hotel Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malta (Europe)
Level Contributor
43 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

My husband and I, together with a group of friends, stayed one night at the Hotel Cesare. It is perfectly positioned in the heart of the Historic town of San Marino and our room had a terrace with views to die for!The receptionist was very friendly and helpful and the meal we had in the hotel restaurant was the best out of all the holiday! I would definitely stay in this hotel again when in San Marino.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a room for a view....the view is breathtaking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cachia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCesare, Hotel Staff at Hotel Ristorante Cesare, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for having shared your experience in our Hotel Ristorante with all the TripAdvisor users.
We would like to let you know that we appreciate and we really wish to have you again as our guests, it would be a great pleasure!

Best regards from San Marino,

Hotel Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near City of San Marino
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel San Marino
Grand Hotel San Marino
#2 of 11 in City of San Marino
654 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Joli
Hotel Joli
#3 of 11 in City of San Marino
452 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Titano
Hotel Titano
#7 of 11 in City of San Marino
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Titano Suites Hotel
Titano Suites Hotel
#8 of 11 in City of San Marino
65 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Grotta
Hotel La Grotta
#4 of 11 in City of San Marino
172 reviews
3.6 mi away
Oste del Castello Wellness & Bike
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ristorante Cesare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ristorante Cesare

Property: Hotel Ristorante Cesare
Address: Salita Alla Rocca 7 | Centro Storico, City of San Marino 47890, San Marino
Region: San Marino > City of San Marino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in City of San Marino
#1 Luxury Hotel in City of San Marino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ristorante Cesare 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cesare, a small and elegant hotel within the ancient walls of San Marino, is located in a in a pedestrian-only and panoramic area, only 20m far from "Piazzale Cava Antica" (the public parking N.6, in the highest position). You can easily walk among nice shops to the Towers of San Marino and to all the places of historic and artistic interest of the city. Within this historic palace we will be welcomed by a multilingual staff. The rooms are elegantly furnished and equipped with many comforts, including free unlimited WIFI internet connection and Sky TV with international channels. At the breakfast buffet you will find, among other things, cakes of various kinds, homemade tarts, fresh fruit salad, typical products of San Marino and the corner of cold cuts and boiled eggs. Hot drinks are served at the moment by the staff. The restaurant offers a discount to the clients of the hotel and proposes both international and traditional cuisine. The specialties are homemade pasta and wood-fire grilled meat and fish. The hotel provides its customers with a short guide of the historic center with a useful map of the city and several reductions for visiting the places of interest such as the castles, the museums and the Palazzo Pubblico, for getting the cable car to Borgo Maggiore, and also discounts cards for shopping. The hotel is located just a few kilometers from the Adriatic coast and from San Leo, Montebello, Verucchio and other jewels of the Montefeltro Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ristorante Cesare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ristorante Cesare Hotel
Hotel Ristorante Cesare San Marino/City Of San Marino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing