We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, Friendly and Great Location”
Review of Residence Liberty

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Residence Liberty
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Our recent visit to the Residence Liberty could not have been better. We arrived barely in time for 8 pm check-in due to flight delays, but were given a room high up in the property with a view of the coast (just as I requested). The small studio apartments are minimally appointed, but clean, bright and very comfortable. We could barely hear anyone in the hotel but were told that it was fully booked.

The woman at reception was so friendly and kind and immediately made us feel welcome. She even suggested we hunt for parking on the street so as to not incur the extra car garage costs. The wifi could have been more reliable, but that was a small drawback to staying in such a gem of a hotel. I loved Trieste and I loved the Residence Liberty!

Room Tip: Request a room high up in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evelyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (263)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 263 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2014

The location was perfect, just a few minutes from the centre of the city and I was amazed at just how clean and spacious the accommodation was. Brilliant memory foam pillows ensured a full nights sleep every night. Massive apartment too. Lovely staff who stayed late as our arrival was due after they were due to close. Can't fault this place atall. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend this.

I would mention that I had read previous comments about the hellish smell of smoke in the lobby. This must have been addressed because there was no smoke smells when we were there (5 day period).

Room Tip: We had room 10a and had a pretty good view do the sea area......
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We visited Residense Liberty in may 2014. Hotel situated in the centre of Triest, near Piazza Unitá d'Italia, Aquarium and Stazione Maritima. 10-15 minutes by walk to Castello di San Giusto. Hotel doesn't serve breakfasts because there is no restaurant there. But there are citchens in the Studio rooms. Parking is extra-paid and doesn't situated at "nearby" location! You'll have to take all necessaries away from the car. Please note that the street under the windows still noisy late into the night! In general Residence Liberty is a good choice for the city trip.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank izamjatin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We were pleasantly surprised by the Residence Liberty. Perfectly located a couple of blocks from Piazza dell'Unita and from the sea, near restaurants, bars, and other attractions, the personnel was exceptionally cordial and helpful. Our mini-apartment included a foyer, a large modern bathroom, and a large bedroom with a comfortable bed. There was also a functional furnished kitchen with electric burners, a mini fridge, a dishwasher, and all the basic essential cutlery. The free internet was fast but a bit odd--you have to have a separate password for each computer. The flat screen TV worked perfectly. Basically, if you have to spend any length of time in Trieste, this would be the perfect place. Our only quibble, and one about which we decided not to make an issue since we were there for only two nights and since the city was packed because of the Giro d'Italia, was that the foyer reeked of cigarette smoke. While we would definitely consider returning to the Residence Liberty for future stays in Trieste, particularly lengthy ones, we would definitely check in advance to avoid this problem.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank restifbretonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We have been very happy with the Residence. We arrived late but they waited for us. We kept forgetting things in a car that needed to be driven away to a private parking lot but they were patient with us. The room was enormous, with fantastic kitchen (with a dining table!). Very clean. We stayed at the 10th floor, with a good view and a lot of light. I can imagine that staying on lower floors is not that exciting. Location is also good, steps from the Trieste port and attractions.

Room Tip: Top floors have probably more light
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adamanta_PL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

I stayed here for a few nights while on business. As always, I booked it last minute. The lady on Reception spoke little English, but don't let that put you off, as she speaks German, Italian and also French. Check in was a swift, and within a few minutes I was in my room.

The apartment itself was huge, with a King bed, 2 comfy chairs and a table. It was very light and airy, with large windows. The aircon was working, but we were assured that they were due to switch the whole system on, very soon.

The kitchen has most of what you would need for a short stay, but take my advice and take a travel kettle, as the one supplied takes an age to heat on the hot plate.

The bathroom was very spacious, and fitted with a Bidet. If I had to find one criticism, it would be the size of the shower. Although adequate, the bathroom size would have allowed a larger one.

The apartment I had was on the 8th floor? There is a lift all the way to the top, but for those with limited mobility, be aware that the lift starts from the 1st floor, and not the ground.

Plenty of places to eat, all within 5 mins walk. Also, be aware that parking can be a nightmare in Trieste. I had to park 2/3 streets away, but having been to Trieste many times, I was expecting it. That said, the car was safe, due probably to the good amount of Police in the area.

Room Tip: The room I had, had an excellent view up the mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChiefBosun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

This hotel offers a central location, huge rooms including a kitchen, comfortable mattress and absolute quiet at night ensuring a restful night's sleep. The front desk clerk, Anna, was delightful and was very helpful during our short stay. We were embarrassed that had overlooked that the check-out time is 10 AM and were late, but Anna cheerfully greeted us and it all ended well. An excellent value!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mascalzone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Trieste hotels
0.5 mi away
Nuovo Albergo Centro
Nuovo Albergo Centro
#11 of 50 in Trieste
440 reviews
0.1 mi away
Savoia Excelsior Palace – Starhotels Collezione
0.1 mi away
Hotel Residence L'Albero Nascosto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
NH Trieste
NH Trieste
#10 of 50 in Trieste
1,757 reviews
0.7 mi away
Albergo alla Posta
Albergo alla Posta
#9 of 50 in Trieste
720 reviews
0.7 mi away
Victoria Hotel Letterario
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Liberty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Liberty

Address: Via Generale Armando Diaz 14, 34124, Trieste, Italy
Region: Italy > Friuli Venezia Giulia > Province of Trieste > Trieste
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 70 Speciality Lodging in Trieste
Price Range: £69 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Liberty 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Residence Liberty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing