We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don`t Drive There!”
Review of Albergo al Viale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Albergo al Viale
Ranked #22 of 52 Hotels in Trieste
Reviewed 24 August 2012

A very nice clean and well furnished hotel. It is located in a quiet side-street just 10 minutes easy walk from the seafront & main piazza of Trieste.
The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful, though only spoke a little English, (why do Brits expect everyone should speak English?).
Breakfast the first couple of days was a little limited, though this improved when the hotel filled up a bit.
Very nice and well located hotel, Trieste is a good base for exploring the Slovenian coast and in easy reach of the capital Ljubljana.
Dont Drive to the hotel- Trieste was not built with cars in mind. The hotel is located in a dead-end side-street. My Sat- Nav turned me into the street, then after dropping off the suitcases and the wife I had to reverse back up the street onto the main road as it wasn`t wide enough to make a U- turn in. Those Italian drivers really appreciated my driving skills, they honked their horns, flashed their lights and waved their arms about endlessly!
When I found the parking garage the hotel receptionist sent me to it was an eye-watering 25 Euros per day. Refusing the price would mean reversing again, out onto another main street, which I just couldn`t face again. Walk, go by train or Taxi. Don`t drive!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank philstreet2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2011

Great hotel to stay at, right in the center, very close parking areas, excellent food and breakfast services included in the room's price, the rooms are very large, very clean and tidy, great bathroom and generaly a lovely atmosphere. Above all very warm and friendly personnal!!!

This is definately the hotel of choice, whenever in Trieste! Me and my boyfriend can't wait to go back there again!

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MGloriana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

Big enough room, clean bathroom, comfortable. Expensive at 70 euros a night considering the blah experience, no free Internet access, so-so locale, indifferent staff, and blah breakfast.

Was not bad and was not good.

Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
Thank FraserCarrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2010

We stayed at this hotel one night: the room was very spacious and comfortable, especially the bed. After a good night sleep, breakfast was unfortunately a delusion: dirty towels and sad small jam boxes.
The hotel has been recently renovated and has also a restaurant (which we did not try). It is located next to one of pedestrian area, where you can find plenty of restaurants, delicious ice cream stores and cinemas
Given the heavy traffic in Trieste, I would suggest not to go by car: find a parking slot can be a nightmare.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cervisia_tiepida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2008

I knew about the previous comment....but friends in Trieste booked for me the place so I could not step back...I just came back and have to say to all that the place is perfect "german style": convenient, clean, great location. Rooms are very small so if you are well above athletic figure you might have problems entering the shower but apart from that...There are also lovely, colorful, and fun statues and paintings from a local artist.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Roscio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2008

Imagine a travelodge...... Now reduce the quality of furnishings, bedding and room size by 30%. Now remove ALL sound insulation between rooms so that you can hear every conversation, every televsion and every badly made drawer closing. Fill the room with the smell of smoke. Double the price and you now have the 'Albergo al viale.'

Don't be fooled by the pictures on the website - they have been cleverly done.

We ended up here for 2 nights after our flight home was cancelled and it really put a dampener on our trip. We fail to understand how it was ever awarded 3 stars, it really is a depressing place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank jones325i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
Thank dada z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Trieste hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Abbazia
Hotel Abbazia
#23 of 52 in Trieste
172 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nuovo Albergo Centro
Nuovo Albergo Centro
#11 of 52 in Trieste
448 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Hotel San Giusto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Residence Rialto Hotel
Residence Rialto Hotel
#17 of 52 in Trieste
80 reviews
0.3 mi away
Albergo alla Posta
Albergo alla Posta
#9 of 52 in Trieste
733 reviews
0.5 mi away
NH Trieste
NH Trieste
#10 of 52 in Trieste
1,779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo al Viale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo al Viale

Address: Via Aurelio E Fabio Nordio 5, 34125, Trieste, Italy
Region: Italy > Friuli Venezia Giulia > Province of Trieste > Trieste
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 52 Hotels in Trieste
Price Range: £57 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo al Viale 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your Albergo al Viale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing