We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in iffy location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Victoria Hotel Letterario
Ranked #3 of 50 Hotels in Trieste
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
127 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Great hotel in iffy location”
Reviewed 25 September 2013 via mobile

Loved staying here. The service was great as was breakfast. Parking was just a 5 minute walk away.

But the neighborhood is iffy. Definitely on the downside.

It's a 15-20 minute walk to the Piazza d'unita d'Italia, where the action is.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TandemCyclist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    823
    374
    37
    9
    4
See reviews for
159
642
42
222
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Excellent hotel and convenient for getting to know Trieste on foot. Breakfast plentiful with a varied choice and fresh food. The staff were extremely courteous and helpful with good English. Good hotel.

Room Tip: Comfortable although not huge and rather limited clothes storage space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh

Helpful?
Thank Anne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

This hotel is a class act - spotless, comfortable very tastefully decorated and with a powerful a/c that was a blessing during our stay in July. Helpful staff and a good location, of particular interest to literature-lovers: Joyce's favourite Pasticceria Pirona is more or less straight across the road. The spa facilities are available for private booking for an hour at a time at 15 euros per person, and are very luxurious - real indulgence if you're there as a couple.
Much closer to the city centre than some reviews would have you believe - 10 mins walk, maximum.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MV_Overchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

The room was beautifully appointed and spotless. The bathroom was very large compared to most European standards. If you like a firm mattress as we do you'll appreciate the wonderful bed! Also, I think the room was soundproof because we heard NOTHING during our stay. The breakfast was good and standard for a hotel such as this.
Be sure to ask for a wifi code for 'each' of your electronic devices since the code can be used on one device only.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank artandvino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 September 2013

This hotel was charming, clean, centrally located, and has a wonderful staff. I visited Trieste in Sept 2013 and found the reviews and the hotel website to be accurate. It has the character and cleanliness that I loved and the staff is extremely helpful,especially Xijadu at the front desk. The breakfast was good. There is a grocery store less than a block away and it is centrally located to train/bus station and sea. Rooms were nice size compared to others I have stayed in Europe and again, very clean and elegant. Good value.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank p c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
89 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Sorry to find out a final feedback which comes different from other reviews. We paid 150€/night for a Junior Suite (4th floor) but only had a superior room, with no extra sitting space as we expected. In the bathroom we found items used and left (empty, of course) by previous guests. This kind of room is featured by a bookshelf (you're in a literary hotel, remember) with an electric fireplace: it's hard to say we found very few books and some broken knick-knack! Stylish interior design with nice marble bathroom and wooden floor. Small minibar with few items and no ice. Free internet wi-fi (ask for the password) but very slow and weak. Good buffet breakfast, with salty food and fresh pastries. No info about spa. It seems to be some lack of control by hotel management. I would not recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Beware the Junior Suite is just a superior room, the only extra was a small coffee table.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giorgio R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gross-Enzersdorf, Austria
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We stayed in Trieste for just one night, a stop-over on a longer journey. I decided for Victoria hotel because of good ratings from other guests - and they were confirmed by our experience.
The room was on a high standard, including AC and WIFI - only the TV did not work well.
The service was very good, the people were eager to help whenever they were asked.
The parking is about 50 meters away, over the street at extra charge - OK.
The location is fine, just a few minutes away from the harbor.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Trieste hotels
0.7 mi away
Starhotels Savoia Excelsior Palace
0.6 mi away
Hotel Residence L'Albero Nascosto
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Duchi D'Aosta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Albergo alla Posta
Albergo alla Posta
#8 of 50 in Trieste
657 reviews
0.6 mi away
Urban Hotel Design
Urban Hotel Design
#7 of 50 in Trieste
751 reviews
0.7 mi away
NH Trieste
NH Trieste
#10 of 50 in Trieste
1,608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Hotel Letterario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Hotel Letterario

Property: Victoria Hotel Letterario
Address: Via Alfredo Oriani 2, 34131, Trieste, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Friuli Venezia Giulia > Province of Trieste > Trieste
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Trieste
#2 Family Hotel in Trieste
#2 Luxury Hotel in Trieste
#2 Romantic Hotel in Trieste
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria Hotel Letterario 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nel cuore di una citta da leggere, l'Hotel Victoria e stato creato per esprimere l'apprezzamento per la tradizione culturale di Trieste, con tutto il fascino, la storia e l'eleganza di una miscela mitteleuropea di 44 camere. Situato in un edificio storico - che fu la residenza del famoso scrittore irlandese James Joyce - l'Hotel Victoria e organizzato con una particolare attenzione per i dettagli. E la risposta ideale per uomini d'affari e viaggiatori che amano il comfort e un servizio di qualita. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Nozio Netplan srl, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Victoria Hotel Letterario reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Trieste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing