We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Delightful Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Victoria Hotel Letterario
Ranked #3 of 50 Hotels in Trieste
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A Delightful Stay”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

What a great choice of hotel for our 4 day stay in Trieste. Wish it could have been longer! The hotel is beautifully presented. We had a suite with a king sized bed and a trundle bed for our granddaughter and there was still ample room. The spacious bathroom included a spa which we put to good use. All the staff were extremely accommodating including in the dining room where we enjoyed a very nice breakfast each morning ( included in the tariff). The hotel also has a gym which my husband used but it is very small and definitely for one person at a time. However - great to have. The hotel is well situated being approximately a 15 minute walk to the main square. If arriving by train the hotel can be reached either by bus or taxi (taxi approx €9). Lots of cafés/bars nearby and a very nice restaurant just around the corner. We had a lovely stay there and wouldn't hesitate to return or to recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    823
    375
    37
    9
    4
See reviews for
159
643
42
222
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I hadn't stayed at the Victoria, or Trieste, for nearly two years, but didn't hesitate to book this hotel, as I'd enjoyed my time there previously. I wan't disapointed either, Same staff, same standard, depite hard times throughout Italy, the Victoria continues to provide an excellent service. Many hotels located in older buildings struggle with the marriage of an older building, but providing all the modern comforts a traveller needs today. But, the Victoria manages this very well, with elegent, stylish rooms, with robust internet and a decent, clean bathroom. I look for 5 things in a hotel - Room : excellent / Pool : unfortunately it hasn't got one / Location : not in the downtown area of the city, but only 10/15 minute walk away / Price : Fair / Breakfast : Good, traditional Italian, but with a limited hot option too.

Parking is always an issue in Trieste, but for an extra 13 euro a night, private, secure parking is available in the oposite street. I would not hesitate to recommend the Victoria and hope that I don't have another two year gap before I stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PEM67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Stayed here for three nights in May on a city break. A lovely hotel, good standard, very clean rooms and extensive, fresh breakfast. We received an upgrade to Superior rooms. The reception staff were extremely friendly and helpful with very good recommendations for excellent and reasonably-priced restaurants locally. The hotel is about a 15 minute walk from the main square, and thoroughly recommended - would return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KSBNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

After a long drive, the girls at the desk were so welcoming, nothing was any trouble.. Private covered parking for the car less than 100 mts from hotel.. Our room was absolutely beautifully decorated, the bathroom fittings superb, and everything was spotless. The location ,pleasant walk into the centre, passing super shops and cafés on the way! Breakfast was served with a smile and was excellent. At check out, again staff so professional. I will most certainly stay here again and can highly recommend it .. Beautifully run hotel, and attention to detail great to see. Thank you everyone at the hotel

Room Tip: The quality of the windows meant that the room was silent despite traffic on the street outside!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jlbireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

we went to Trieste the last week of April... we were a group of 15 people, attending the wedding of my cousin. The hotel is very nice & CLEAN... the staff were very helpful. i think the Location is good, you need around 15-20 min walk to arrive to the center, or you can take a bus. i loved the hotel & would recommend it for anyone who wants to visit Trieste.

Room Tip: Rooms, 106 or 103 or 403 are larger than the other rooms we booked like 402, 302 & 301
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanine_Karam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nocera Umbra, Italy
Level Contributor
102 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

The hotel is quite central but, as already mentioned, not in the most attractive area. However, the staff are just wonderful and work so hard to please you. Parking was interesting but with a bit of maneuvering you can unload/load at the door. We arrived to find that we had been upgraded to a superior room that was really comfortable and would imagine that the standard rooms are equally as good. Breakfast was abundant and good. It was a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

I stayed here with my friend as a treat to use the spa and see Trieste for the first time. Trieste didn't live up to our expectations but the hotel certainly did. The reception area isn't particularly special but our superior room was wonderfully decorated with a fantastic bathroom, which felt more homely than 'hotely'. We had exclusive use of the spa, which was great apart from the cold jacuzzi. The majority of staff were very warm and helpful- especially Lorenzo, however when we checked-in a female member of staff repeatedly swore in Italian. Brekkie was great, I'd definitely go back if just for the spa!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andersvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Trieste hotels
0.7 mi away
Starhotels Savoia Excelsior Palace
0.6 mi away
Hotel Residence L'Albero Nascosto
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Duchi D'Aosta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Albergo alla Posta
Albergo alla Posta
#8 of 50 in Trieste
657 reviews
0.6 mi away
Urban Hotel Design
Urban Hotel Design
#7 of 50 in Trieste
751 reviews
0.7 mi away
NH Trieste
NH Trieste
#10 of 50 in Trieste
1,608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Hotel Letterario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Hotel Letterario

Property: Victoria Hotel Letterario
Address: Via Alfredo Oriani 2, 34131, Trieste, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Friuli Venezia Giulia > Province of Trieste > Trieste
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Trieste
#2 Luxury Hotel in Trieste
#2 Family Hotel in Trieste
#2 Romantic Hotel in Trieste
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria Hotel Letterario 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nel cuore di una citta da leggere, l'Hotel Victoria e stato creato per esprimere l'apprezzamento per la tradizione culturale di Trieste, con tutto il fascino, la storia e l'eleganza di una miscela mitteleuropea di 44 camere. Situato in un edificio storico - che fu la residenza del famoso scrittore irlandese James Joyce - l'Hotel Victoria e organizzato con una particolare attenzione per i dettagli. E la risposta ideale per uomini d'affari e viaggiatori che amano il comfort e un servizio di qualita. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Victoria Hotel Letterario reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Trieste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing