We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place in Trieste ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Victoria Hotel Letterario
Ranked #3 of 50 Hotels in Trieste
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice place in Trieste ”
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel is very immaculate and the decor is elegant and welcoming. It is incredibly clean and a fantastic size bedroom and bathroom. We only had an issue with the air conditioning which the hotel staff looked at twice for us and said it was working however our room did not drop below 26 degrees and on a 30 degree day in Trieste that was very uncomfortable. We ended up having to have cold showers to cool us down as it was too hot to sleep. It was a shame that this could not be fixed as it would have been perfect otherwise.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sophie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H_VictoriaTrieste, Responsabile reception at Victoria Hotel Letterario, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear Sophie,
First of all we would like to thank you for having been our Guests and for leaving a nice review on Hotel Victoria.
The air conditioning was not working properly, because the hotel is set to ENERGY SAVING and is turning off when the windows are open. This was the case since we came up to your room and we found out that it was open, then it was difficult to cool down the room again as outside were about 30 degrees.
We thank you for the nice words spent to review our property and we hope to have here you as our Guest again. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if you may have any kind of request at info@hotelvictoriatrieste.com
Best regards
Lorenzo Vidoni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    821
    374
    36
    9
    4
See reviews for
158
642
42
221
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

This was probably the most luxurious of all the hotels we stayed in on our recent trip.
The rooms were lovely plenty of room even with the sofa bed and extra bed in the room.
Nice breakfast, dressing gown and slippers in room. Comfortable and clean. Check out quick and lady at desk organised a taxi to come pick us up for the train station.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Touringthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Everything in this hotel was great. The service was excellent, making sure that we had a perfect time during our stay. We stayed at a junior suite, which was absolutely amazing and we couldn't believe the price was so low for such a great room. It is located in the center of Trieste so there is no need to take the car at all during your stay.

I would recommend this hotel to everyone travelling to Trieste. Definitely the best hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlos B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ra'anana, Israel
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Location is ok even though not really central. Double rooms are very nicely decorated, large, with a good smell and a nice bathroom. Our disappointment comes from the fact that we had 2 double and a single room and the single room was not larger than a jail cell. For the very small difference in price take a double room !. The reaction of one of the reception desk hostess ("thats your single room, i know its very small" and she stopped talking) was also disappointing. On the contrary the other lady at the reception (Vanessa) was always with a smile on her face and very helpful.
Breakfast was of good quality but was lacking of choice on the buffet in a small dining room.
Good but can do better.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanDanAmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We recently stayed at Victoria Hotel for 3 nights and were very happy with everything about the hotel. It was beautifully decorated and updated. The room sizes are very generous, with all of the amenities you need. Breakfast has many delicious choices and is located in a beautiful room off of the lobby. We had a car and were directed to a parking garage a few blocks away; the hotel gives a discount ticket for 24 hours and the price is very reasonable at 11,50 Euros. You can also park on the street in any "blue lined" spots where it is pay-per-hour and then free from 8pm until 8am; we found a spot easily each evening after returning from day trips and only had to pay an hour or so at about 1 euro an hour. (The spots that we found were right in front of the parking garage near the hospital.) Note that arriving at the hotel with a car can be difficult, since there is no place to pull up and check in and drop your luggage. We found a spot right around the corner from the front door where you can leave your car for a short time. Just be prepared to drive around the block a few times until a spot opens up. We found all of the staff at the Hotel to be friendly and helpful. The Hotel location is about a 10 minute walk to some of the main squares and maybe 15 to the waterfront. Also right next door to the hotel is a nice grocery store. If going to Trieste, I would recommend you consider staying at The Victoria Hotel.

Room Tip: We payed about $10 more for a superior room and were given a large corner room which had several lar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

What a great choice of hotel for our 4 day stay in Trieste. Wish it could have been longer! The hotel is beautifully presented. We had a suite with a king sized bed and a trundle bed for our granddaughter and there was still ample room. The spacious bathroom included a spa which we put to good use. All the staff were extremely accommodating including in the dining room where we enjoyed a very nice breakfast each morning ( included in the tariff). The hotel also has a gym which my husband used but it is very small and definitely for one person at a time. However - great to have. The hotel is well situated being approximately a 15 minute walk to the main square. If arriving by train the hotel can be reached either by bus or taxi (taxi approx €9). Lots of cafés/bars nearby and a very nice restaurant just around the corner. We had a lovely stay there and wouldn't hesitate to return or to recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I hadn't stayed at the Victoria, or Trieste, for nearly two years, but didn't hesitate to book this hotel, as I'd enjoyed my time there previously. I wan't disapointed either, Same staff, same standard, depite hard times throughout Italy, the Victoria continues to provide an excellent service. Many hotels located in older buildings struggle with the marriage of an older building, but providing all the modern comforts a traveller needs today. But, the Victoria manages this very well, with elegent, stylish rooms, with robust internet and a decent, clean bathroom. I look for 5 things in a hotel - Room : excellent / Pool : unfortunately it hasn't got one / Location : not in the downtown area of the city, but only 10/15 minute walk away / Price : Fair / Breakfast : Good, traditional Italian, but with a limited hot option too.

Parking is always an issue in Trieste, but for an extra 13 euro a night, private, secure parking is available in the oposite street. I would not hesitate to recommend the Victoria and hope that I don't have another two year gap before I stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PEM67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Trieste hotels
0.7 mi away
Starhotels Savoia Excelsior Palace
0.6 mi away
Hotel Residence L'Albero Nascosto
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Duchi D'Aosta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Albergo alla Posta
Albergo alla Posta
#8 of 50 in Trieste
656 reviews
0.6 mi away
Urban Hotel Design
Urban Hotel Design
#7 of 50 in Trieste
749 reviews
0.7 mi away
NH Trieste
NH Trieste
#10 of 50 in Trieste
1,601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Hotel Letterario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Hotel Letterario

Property: Victoria Hotel Letterario
Address: Via Alfredo Oriani 2, 34131, Trieste, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Friuli Venezia Giulia > Province of Trieste > Trieste
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Trieste
#2 Luxury Hotel in Trieste
#2 Romantic Hotel in Trieste
#2 Family Hotel in Trieste
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria Hotel Letterario 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nel cuore di una citta da leggere, l'Hotel Victoria e stato creato per esprimere l'apprezzamento per la tradizione culturale di Trieste, con tutto il fascino, la storia e l'eleganza di una miscela mitteleuropea di 44 camere. Situato in un edificio storico - che fu la residenza del famoso scrittore irlandese James Joyce - l'Hotel Victoria e organizzato con una particolare attenzione per i dettagli. E la risposta ideale per uomini d'affari e viaggiatori che amano il comfort e un servizio di qualita. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Nozio Netplan srl, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Victoria Hotel Letterario reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Trieste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing