We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, nicely designed, comfortable rooms”
Review of Residenza le 6A

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Residenza le 6A
Ranked #34 of 137 Trieste B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great location, nicely designed, comfortable rooms”
Reviewed 31 August 2012

The beautiful design of the rooms and great location is well documented here. The residenza is clean, comfortable and well maintained. We were there during the Italy-Germany Euro Cup soccer match. The cafe below our window was showing the game on the street and the fans were in full voice. We closed the window and drape and did not hear a sound.

Residenza le 6A is a gem. If more hotels were this nice, I might never go home.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    43
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
9
67
9
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Level 6 Contributor
54 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

On our recent visit, Trieste proved to be a wonderful city with beautiful public squares, impressive buildings, historic cafés and many pedestrian areas that allow for leisurely strolls. We also thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Residenza 6A which is very centrally located in a pedestrian district - within easy walking distance of the train station when we arrived in Trieste as well as the ferry terminal where we picked up a rental car when we left.
It is a little bit of a surprise upon arrival at Residenza 6A because you are buzzed into an uninspiring entrance of a large building and take a tiny vintage elevator to the next floor up. As you step through the doorway into Residenza 6A, however, you walk into a very different scene.
We found the staff very friendly, professional and welcoming. Our room was modern, comfortable and tastefully decorated, as were the corridors and little sitting room for guests. Unlike a hotel, the residence front desk was manned only during the daytime; however, we were provided with a contact number, should an emergency arise. (N.B. We rated service 4 out of 5 simply because of the hours of the front desk. The staff was extremely helpful during the day - with maps, advice, help with our television, and even making a telephone call on our behalf concerning our car rental.)
We liked our accommodation very much and would definitely stay at “6A” if we visit Trieste again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gavazzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

Nice residence with 6 or 8 rooms in the heart of Trieste. Breakfast is not included unlike what some websites claim. The residence is located within a nice, 19th century building. Close from the residentce, you'll find a bar-dancing club and a cafe selling pastries (perfect for breakfast). The decoration is absolutely perfect.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frencquez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Papamoa, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

Residenza le 6 was excellent.Great location,good price.Close to the canal & good shopping &restaurants.Thoroughly recommended.
Make sure you visit Castel Miramare---- wonderful!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HaheiWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

I will keep this review brief. One word sums up this absolute little gem of place, FANTASTIC!! Lovely room, fairly spacious, quiet, very comfy and clean etc. Located right in the heart of Trieste, on a pedestrianised street, but with no street noise (and we were at the front). Very friendly and helpful reception staff. If i ever found myelf in Trieste again, I would only ever think of staying here. The only slight negative (and it is very slight), was that the breakfast items were a little on the small size. However, overall amazing and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusieSue27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

During my brief stay in Trieste I spent the night at residenza 6A and couldn't have been more pleasantly surprised by the experience. With such a great location smack in the middle of town and competitive rates, I expected your run-of-the-mill run-down guest house you often see in this price range. Instead, I received prompt email correspondence confirming my reservation and a room so clean and fresh I could have been in a four-star hotel. Furniture was brand-new and everything seemed so welcoming. The owner was exceedingly helpful with local recommendations and just a lovely woman. If and when I return to triste I will definitely be staying here.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mkday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, PA
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2011

This place was tricky to find, as it is on a pedestrian only street. The receptionist stayed an hour later than her official hours to talk us through on our cell phone to find parking and find the place. Once there, we found it very comfortable, modern, with large nicely appointed rooms with refrigerators. There are about 7 rooms, on a second floor of a multi-use building, as is typical in Italy.There is a small, very pleasant sitting room that felt like a terrace, filled with plants. The only downside was the noise coming from the street below, which disturbed two of the couples in our group late one night, when apparently there was a large event at the bar/restaurant below. My husband and I had a back room which was quiet.
This is classified as a B & B, but as our hostess explained, any B&B with more than 3 rooms is not permitted to serve meals in a dining room, so breakfast is provided in the rooms, consisting of some packaged baked goods and juice. There's a good espresso machine in the lobby. However, we needed more breakfast than that, so 2 mornings we headed to Harry's Grill, which is attached to the elegant Grand Hotel Duchi on the main Piazza Unita. It is is used for breakfast for that hotel's guests, but they were willing to give us breakfast as outside customers for a very modest 12E, a great bargain for the very expansive breakfast/brunch offerings.
We would stay here again, as the value and location are so excellent, and take our chances with the street noise.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not face onto the front street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phalen19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Trieste hotels
0.2 mi away
Zudecche 1 Bed & Breakfast
Zudecche 1 Bed & Breakfast
#8 of 137 in Trieste
87 reviews
0.4 mi away
No photo provided
Gens Julia
#18 of 137 in Trieste
123 reviews
0.7 mi away
No photo provided
Piazza Venezia Le Camere
#9 of 137 in Trieste
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Le Cupole
#12 of 137 in Trieste
43 reviews
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
B&B Zenzero & Cannella
#39 of 137 in Trieste
71 reviews
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Residence Sole
#4 of 66 in Trieste
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenza le 6A? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza le 6A

Property: Residenza le 6A
Address: Via Santa Caterina da Siena 7, 34122, Trieste, Italy
Region: Italy > Friuli Venezia Giulia > Province of Trieste > Trieste
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 137 B&Bs / Inns in Trieste
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le 6A: not a hotel, not a b&b, but your residence in Trieste city centre.The name of "Le 6 A" residence is a tribute to Italo Svevo and to the women from Trieste, who are traditionally held as beautiful, free-minded, caring and strong-willed, just like the women characters in Svevo's novels. Each room is dedicated to one of them.They all feature elegant and comfortable decor, en-suite bathroom, wooden floor, minibar, tv-set and wi-fi internet ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Priceline so you can book your Residenza le 6A reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing