We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting and Exotic Array of Food”
Review of SaluMare

SaluMare
Ranked #31 of 838 Restaurants in Trieste
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$22
Cuisines: Fast food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Takeout
Description: Fish Smokers
Louisiana
Level Contributor
70 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Interesting and Exotic Array of Food”
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Located in an area with other interesting food shops. We talked to the owner and picked up some spread made with fish. Had it as an appetizer and it was very good.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank elana25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    171
    43
    20
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
217 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Good for tapas-type meal”
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We ate here on a hot evening, out on the high tables under the parasols outside (as there is very little room inside). This place started as a fish shup, which it still is, but they will also cook and serve for you. There is a large menu up on a blackboard behind the counter, and you can see the fish and seafood spread out before you. You order what you want (each serving is small, taspas-sized, so you need to order several things), plus what you want to drink (they have a wide variety of drinks including wines), and pay for it, then go outside and wait until they bring the dishes out. You spend time people-watching: everyone we saw was local, and talking very energetically! Not cheap, but then seafood isn't.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank redskifreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Concept place that works”
Reviewed 10 July 2013

If you like seafood and its local variations, this is a place for you. Sophisticated, modern and excellent quality food, friendly service. Would give highest rating, if not for the prices being on the high side. Well worth it though.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank adriana872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
190 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Nice spot!”
Reviewed 23 October 2012

I've been here with a couple of friends. The place it's almost located in the city center of trieste. The atmosphere inside and outside it's quite nice and well intergrated in the sourranding neighbourhood.
This isn't a restaurant, it's for what the italian's call "Aperitivo", that can replace your dinner or just be a different entree to a proper meal somewhere else.
Once there you can order wine and some "tartine" with which you can have some seafood as you can see from the other's review pictures. It taste delicious.
Personally i've no clue about the prices because i was invited.

I'll reccomand this place for your aperitif in Trieste, it's a valid alternative of "Osteria da Marino" where they are more likely meet oriented.

NB: i was told that they do close quite early i think around 9/10pm.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alberto D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
436 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 432 helpful votes
“Overpriced food not worth eating”
Reviewed 27 September 2012

Nice and clean, self serve kind of a place. We ordered 3 small dishes and a Panini. The Panini was about 2 inches in size with smoked fish that tasted like nothing at all. The sardines pickled with onion were the best dish but one can get much tastier version at a fraction of the price from any supermarket. Octopus salad was a horrible, tasteless thing, and the fourth dish, the sea food salad was equally bad, tasteless mess. We lived in Portugal for almost 5 years and the Octopus salad there is to die for. If you ever visited or lived in NYC and went to Zabars, you will know what I mean by the smoked fish could not be sold in any decent place in NYC. Then came the wine. One Red and one White. Each was about 2 thimble full. I could have forgiven that but these wine tasted bad, the white one was almost at room temperature. Do not be fooled by the price written on the food. These are the prices for "Take Out". If you want to eat in, you will pay 100% more and for that you will get a few pieces of lettuce and two little pieces of bread. The cost of our food was 34 Euro. Walk to the nearby Co Op supermarket. Buy food that tastes much better and costs a fraction. Enjoy a lovely picnic in Trieste.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Purobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed SaluMare also viewed

Trieste, Province of Trieste
Trieste, Province of Trieste
 
Trieste, Province of Trieste
Trieste, Province of Trieste
 
Trieste, Province of Trieste
 

Been to SaluMare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing