We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Misleading Name, but Very Nice Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tre Merli Beach Hotel
Ranked #34 of 142 Trieste B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 February 2014

The Tre Merli Beach Hotel was definitely NOT on a "beach" as such...a cement ramp led to the water-no beach or sand anywhere in sight--but the hotel was on the waterfront near the city of Trieste...it doesn't make sense to book a "seaview" room--what you get is the view of the cement area where the beach chairs are set up in warmer weather...the hotel itself was very nice and clean, with a "beachy" hotel feel..small, but definitely adequate if all you do is sleep there! The best part, for us, was the excellent restaurant attached to the hotel..no hunting through the city for food or desperately trying to find a parking place...we enjoyed an excellent dinner at the restaurant, as well as the breakfast buffet (included) the next morning..The Tre Merli Beach hotel is not far from the Miramare Castle--which is definitely worth a visit!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy171717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (167)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 167 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2013

The hotel is located right on the sea, the reception and rooms are in a modern part, both being clean and in good condition.
The room was adequate enough but not overly spacious, everything seemed to be on the tall side the wardrobe was very tall, I had a bit of trouble reaching the coat hangers and I'm 6ft tall!
The restaurant is located opposite the rooms across the car park in an older part, the restaurant was closed on a Monday night but the breakfast was served in there the following morning, looked like a nice place with a bit of character.
Only downside to the hotel for me was the wifi, a very slow connection.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelsonabike2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

nice new rooms, modernly furbished. Just on the seaside, 10 mis car from Trieste city center.
Rooms are quite and clean and everything is new.
Seaside terrace is private, therefore not so crowded and sunbeds are available.
Beautiful restaurant with a big terrace overlooking the sea and good food.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank superanna80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Tre Merli Beach Hotel in June. We were immediately welcomed and made at home by the receptionist Alberto who was very friendly and helpful and showed us to our room 'Y'. The room had a modern 'beach hut' feel and was very tastefully decorated with high quality fittings and air conditioning there was also an illy espresso machine. The bathroom houses a very large shower which being 7 months pregnant I welcomed. The room overall was very comfortable and both my husband and I had a great nights sleep. It was cleaned daily by Giuliana and Margherita a great team who were very friendly and extremely efficient. Breakfast was continental style served 730am until 10am each day and there was always plenty of choice of breads, cereals, fruit and meats. The hotels main plus point is their terrace. In Trieste it is extremely rare to find a hotel with beach front location but Tre Merli has one! There was also a 'chill out' area and jacuzzi! My husband and I spent many afternoons soaking up the sun on the sun loungers and drinking the chilled Ice Tea that is served complimentary. There is also great access to the sea so you can go for a morning / afternoon swim. On the same site you will find Tre Merli Restaurant which serves delicious pizza, pasta and fresh fish caught that day. Im a little fussy with food the but the friendly waiting staff Massimo, Sandra and Enrico to name a few were happy to accommodate my needs. The location of the hotel is also another plus. It can be easily accessed by the 51 bus straight from the airport hourly. The number 6 bus will also take you into the centre of Trieste which is every 20 minutes and stops outside the hotel. If driving the hotel is located on the main 'Miramare' road into Trieste. From the hotel you can easily reach the famous 'Miramare Castle' by walking along the Barcola which is the famous promenade in Miramare. At Tre Merli there are also bikes free for residents to use so the option is there if you wish to cycle. I had noticed in reviews on Trip advisor prior to our stay that mentioned the limited car parking. The car park granted is small however the reception team Alberto, Giada and Hotel Manager Luca would happily have our keys off us and park the car when a space became available which was perfect. Also when booking mention that you require a sea view the best rooms are K, Y and W which are double rooms. There are also Suites that have a sea view too. Overall we had a thoroughly enjoyable stay, all staff were excellent and always very helpful and friendly. I will be highly recommending this hotel to family and friends and hopefully we will return soon.

Room Tip: Double rooms K, Y and W have sea views and also the suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

When we booked here most of the reviews were very positive but what no one mentioned is if you are offered a room at the rear you face a brick wall and even the sea view rooms look at the new 'suites' block. If you can afford it stay in that otherwise your view is a wall, the car park or a building. Staff however in the Hotel were really helpful and great. The sunbathing area is nice but if the owner has his friends around it gets very crowded. Expensive and very disappointing as was supposed to be the highlight of our Italy trip.

Room Tip: Ask for the corner that overlooks the slope to the sea, you can see past the suites building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GrahamP31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

The room was dirty. Hairs in the bed. No sea view for the sea side rooms because a new building has been erected in front of sea side rooms but the rate remains a sea side rate.
The staff of the hotel is pleasant but the restaurant staff is not pleasant at all. The parking is too small. Impossible to get a parking when arriving.

Room Tip: go 3 or 4 kms further to the center of triestre, you will find nice hotels with wonderful sea side v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Roland N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

No sea view from the rooms called seaview but sold as seaview. The bed was dirty. I found hairs in the sheet. I had reserved for 5 nights but i have spent only one night and gone to another very nice hotel called Savoia excelsior with true wonderful seaview rooms for the same rate.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Laurent S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Trieste hotels
2 mi away
Hotel Miramare
Hotel Miramare
#8 of 52 in Trieste
458 reviews
1.9 mi away
NH Trieste
NH Trieste
#10 of 52 in Trieste
1,780 reviews
2.1 mi away
Savoia Excelsior Palace – Starhotels Collezione
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Grignetti Bed & Breakfast
Grignetti Bed & Breakfast
#30 of 142 in Trieste
41 reviews
3.7 mi away
B&B Maison 3 Magnoni
B&B Maison 3 Magnoni
#17 of 142 in Trieste
48 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ponterosso Suite
Ponterosso Suite
#14 of 142 in Trieste
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tre Merli Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tre Merli Beach Hotel

Address: Viale Miramare 44, 34136, Trieste, Italy
Region: Italy > Friuli Venezia Giulia > Province of Trieste > Trieste
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 142 B&Bs / Inns in Trieste
Price Range: £93 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tre Merli Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tre Merli Beach Hotel offers a unique terrace with sun loungers and deckchairs, offering panoramic views across the Gulf of Trieste. Here you have direct access to the beach.This boutique hotel offers modern rooms with a contemporary design. Each room features…Hotel Tre Merli Beach is set in the Barcola area of Trieste, a popular seaside destination. Trieste centre and train station are around 3 km away ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tre Merli Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing