We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Duchi Vis a Vis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Duchi Vis a Vis
Ranked #14 of 50 Hotels in Trieste
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
77 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A great place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

Nice room, great location on the Piazza, service was excellent and the breakfast position could not have been better- inside or outside seating overlooking the Piazza. Linen sheets on the bed was a nice touch. The only couple of comments which would stop an excellent rating is there was a lack of information in the room on the hotel services and surrounds, and some parts of the hotel were looking a little tired, although I love the older style of the hotel so this may be a bit picky.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MareeandPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    75
    15
    4
    2
See reviews for
15
91
7
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Varese, Italy
Level Contributor
417 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

We spent the 2012 New Year's Eve in Trieste, our choice went to this residence looking to the positive feedback of the community. I do confirm we had a great experience, rooms are very nice and comfortable and the fact that the breakfast is served in the main hotel across the street isn't an issue at all but I would say a plus, 'cause the residence remains very quite all time long. The only small disadvantage is that there's no private car parking, so you need to use the car valet parking or park locally if you find the place (we were lucky), price is almost the same.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the harbour, I recommend it
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GLSI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London (England)
Level Contributor
105 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

The vis a vis is the Annex of the Hotel Duchi d'Aosta. You check in/out, have breakfast and can use the facilities (lounges, free internet computer terminal) in the main hotel. The Annex is just across the street - in windy November Trieste that may mean coat and hat to go to breakfast. In the Annex there is an art gallery on the ground floor and some seats, but no other common facility. Friendly staff from reception showed me to my room. All rooms are on the 1st floor.

The building is old but has been substantially modernised. My double room for single occupancy room was not large but did not feel cramped either, though I think two people might have got in each other's way. The room was decorated in a modern style, so a clothes rail rather than a wardrobe, and a small desk just as you come in. Comfortable bed, Sky television, Illy espresso capsule machine, safe, minibar. quiet.

I had asked for a quiet room and was given one overlooking a side street. There must be rooms with a view down the street to the sea and across the street to the Piazza.

Bathroom was modest sized but did not feel cramped for one, large shower tray, well-equipped, nice toiletries, clean.

Breakfast was a large good buffet in a pleasant old-fashioned room overlooking the large historic square Unita d'Italia with friendly staff.

All very pleasant - I was happy with my choice.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael3112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
120 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

Trieste's most famous hotel: Duchi d'Aosta have just purchased a property across the street and converted the ground floor into an art gallery and the floor above into fabulously well-appointed hotel rooms. Interestingly the prices are lower than the main hotel but the rooms are much, much nicer.

I took a 'standard' room and was really impressed by the level of furnishing - especially the bathroom which featured a full-size bath and a 'rainforest' shower unit. The wash basin was also magnificent too. The toiletries are also wonderful too.

There is a small corner table and desk too and an armchair. The room is painted in light cream which is wonderful if you have an oblique view onto the sea because the sun streams in.

Breakfast is served across the street at Harry's Grill at the Duchi hotel. Very average but good coffee.

Negatives: no ironing board allowed in the rooms - annoying because you have to take your clothes to iron in the Duchi hotel. Internet is free but not very fast. I would not describe the check-in/check-out procedure as smooth but staff were friendly nevertheless.

Negatives:

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ravenna2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2011

Vis a Vis is the new part of the glamorous old Hotel Duchi in the absolute center of Trieste. It is uber chic in the new section, although the hotel staff seem to be miles away. If you want anything (including breakfast) cross the road to the main hotel. Our room faced the sea, and was beautifully appointed..a little small, but perfect. Trieste is a great place to stay (beaches, restaurants and nightlife) and it is just about an hour's drive to Venice.The same kind of accommodation will be at least 5 times more in Venice, and you wont have to deal with a million bumbling tourists. Loved this city, and loved this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NandFTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AUSTRALIA
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

First time to this part of Italy. Trieste was like I feel Vienna might be like. Never been to Vienna. We had excellent service from checking in to the most amazing breakfast,with champagne and checking out. Well above average for service at this hotel. Our room was so gorgeous, very comfortable bed and with shutters opening up overlooking the street and straight through to the sea. Modern bathrooms. I think we were on level 3. Best breakfast anywhere in Europe. Great location, couldnt have asked for better.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the sea. It was lovely looking over the street and beyond.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Niki T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naxxar, Malta
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

We visited Trieste because of a concert that was taking place there on July 22 (Franco Battiato - great concert by the way!). Had only read about Trieste, but had never been there. Beautiful place, long coastline, grand buildings, great food. Our choice to stay at the Vis-a-Vis was very rewarding. Right in the heart of the city (bang on the main square), it is fairly new in design and contemporary in style. Very clean rooms, nicely done up, espresso machine, marble covered bathrooms, jacuzzi bath - all at a price which is affordable. Breakfast is served in the Mother hotel opposite (Gran Duchi D'Aosta) - sumptuous to say the least, great for Italian standards. Very recommendable if you are staying in Trieste.

Room Tip: No views or balconies, so it does not really matter which room you book
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rambumica1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Trieste hotels
0.1 mi away
Starhotels Savoia Excelsior Palace
0.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Duchi D'Aosta
0.6 mi away
Victoria Hotel Letterario
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Urban Hotel Design
Urban Hotel Design
#8 of 50 in Trieste
4.0 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
0.3 mi away
Continentale
Continentale
#5 of 50 in Trieste
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Residence L'Albero Nascosto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Duchi Vis a Vis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Duchi Vis a Vis

Property: Hotel Duchi Vis a Vis
Address: Piazza Dello Squero Vecchio 1, 34121, Trieste, Italy
Region: Italy > Friuli Venezia Giulia > Province of Trieste > Trieste
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 50 Hotels in Trieste
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Duchi Vis a Vis 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Duchi Vis à Vis is a small and elegant four star hotel, built in a historic home in front of Grand Hotel Duchi d'Aosta. Duchi Vis à Vis is a "house " sized books, suffused with an intimate atmosphere. The combination of warm colors with light and shadow gives an overall sense of well being. Even the materials, from solid walnut flooring to the linen sheets, help to emphasize the feelings of pleasure. A small "asset": the Illy coffee maker in each room to ensure proper recovery. Duchi Vis à Vis is also meeting place for art. The hall hosts solo shows of emerging artists, book launches and openings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Duchi Vis a Vis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing