We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sadly disappointing, especially the front desk.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Coppe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Coppe
Ranked #13 of 50 Hotels in Trieste
Certificate of Excellence
Miri, Malaysia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Sadly disappointing, especially the front desk.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

I will start with the good. This hotel is clean, and the rooms are of a descent size. There is free breakfast(see below) and free wifi so it really should be a nice place to stay but...
The front desk support is just plain bad. It is as if you should feel honored that they let you stay with them rather than they are happy to have your stay with them. I stayed three nights with my wife for a business trip and had the worst experience. It was terribly hot in the room we were assigned. The only way to combat that was to open the windows because they had turned off the air conditioning. Of course, opening the windows in a wet seaside town in Italy means incredible mosquitoes. If Mosquitoes dont bother you then you are all set but I was an absolute buffet for these insects. When I asked them to turn on the air conditioning they literally LIED right to my face and told me that it was a city law that they had to turn off the air conditioning, as if! I called two other hotels to see if they had air conditioning and they both said of course. How can they lie to a guest straight faced. If they dont want to turn on the AC then say that but be prepared to handle the insect problem. They did “spray” the room but what good does that make if the windows have to be open?
After two sleepless mosquito filled nights I asked to change rooms or I would have to check out. That was immediately met with a statement of how I would still have to pay for the whole trip. No recognition of my discomfort or an apology for the conditions; what was important to them was that they made sure they told me that I still had to pay. When I expressed that they don’t care for their customers the front desk clerk literally started SCREAMING at me. We ended up moving to a room that faced the street so at least we would have a cross breeze to combat the heat and hold down the mosquitoes. Both my wife and I left exhausted and with an unacceptable number of mosquito bites.
This is of course to say nothing of the double standard they have for foreign guests over Italian guests. The Italian guests at breakfast were offered eggs, coffee from a special coffee machine and table service while no attention was paid to the foreign guests who muddled around with day old bread and self-made coffee. After being showed such little respect the whole time it was not as if we were going to ask for anything either. Who knows what the response would be.

Room Tip: Do not get a room on the inside courtyard, the courtyard is wet and filled with mosquitoes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank hanibol53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    100
    18
    3
    3
See reviews for
25
101
8
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna
Level Contributor
78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

Nice hotel for a short family vacation or short business trip. Very modern hotel, all room modern, staff very helpful. Breakfast is complete. Location is in heart of city, close to many very good restaurants, coffee shops, stores. Car parking has many reasonable options.

Room Tip: Try and get a room facing the back…street side is a bit noisy with buses.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank finnsdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013 via mobile

Super location.close to everything in Trieste. The hotel is nicely decorated the rooms are modern and comfortable. The breakfast was really good. Overall great service. 24 hrs front desk. If you staying in Trieste this is your hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yuvo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2013

Perfectly furnished, decorated, cleaner than my own apartment, but above all very friendly and attentive staff.
Excellent location, though difficult to reach by car, nevertheless parking spaces are available nearby at Molo 4 for 10€ per day.
Recommandable to anyone who plans a trip to Trieste.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EGlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
107 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2012

What a wonderful place to stay. The rooms were renovated about a year ago into an ultra modern, crisp decor. Rooms are on the small size, and some rooms do not have wardrobes, thus hanging clothes in the room, however, I found it to be very interesting in design with high end amenities in their linens, towels and bathroom fixtures. The breakfast was very good serving lots of the local bread and pastry specialties. What was really outstanding was the attention and care received. This is a small hotel almost pensione style where the staff just loves to dote on you and are all too helpful in advising you on restaurants and sightseeing. One just walks out the door and you are in the center of Trieste's pedestrian streets and plazas. Also you are only a block or two away from Buffet da Pepi and GROM and if this isn't too your liking their are hundreds of other great cafes and restaurants to where one can walk.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drjeffh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seixal, Portugal
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2012

Two nights at this hotel. The location is excelent in the center of the city wich now a days is full of people. Restaurants end cafes are easy to find (don't forget to visit the "da Pepi"). It is a pleasant city to walk too. The service and the breakfast (continental) are very good. Just didn't liked the room on the 5th floor (Low light and short windows).

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JRomao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
283 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 565 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

This is a small ultra modern hotel in a central location. The staff are very pleasant and the hotel is comfortable and the breakfast good. However the design wasn't really to our taste eg large white cupboard behind the bed comprising wardrobe on one side and shelves on the other with a shelf instead of bedside cabinets. All a bit stark. Also quite expensive for what it is.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FoggMurphys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Trieste hotels
0.3 mi away
Starhotels Savoia Excelsior Palace
0.3 mi away
Urban Hotel Design
Urban Hotel Design
#8 of 50 in Trieste
4.0 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
0.4 mi away
Victoria Hotel Letterario
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
NH Trieste
NH Trieste
#10 of 50 in Trieste
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,504 reviews
0.1 mi away
Continentale
Continentale
#5 of 50 in Trieste
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Residence L'Albero Nascosto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Coppe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Coppe

Property: Hotel Coppe
Address: Via Giuseppe Mazzini, 24, Trieste, Italy
Region: Italy > Friuli Venezia Giulia > Province of Trieste > Trieste
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 50 Hotels in Trieste
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Coppe 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Hotel Coppe is located in the historical centre of Triest in a building of the XVIII century, which is considered of artistic and architecture interest by the Supervisor of the Fine Arts. Ancient house of a noble family, today it is an exclusive 4-star hotel. In the Hotel Coppe the neoclassical elegance blends with the modern comfort of the internal furnishing, where the modern renewals harmoniously alternate like musical note in a melody! Ideal for business meetings and for pleasant stays. In the Hotel Coppe music will be the frame of your magic moments, before being captured by the fascination of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Coppe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing