We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Choice in Trieste”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hotel Duchi D'Aosta
Ranked #5 of 50 Hotels in Trieste
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“The Best Choice in Trieste”
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We spent three nights in the Grand Hotel. Room 305, a nice corner room. The ever helpful ladies at reception, Tomy (?) at breakfast, the attendants who promptly brought our car, and the housekeeping staff---all made our stay most enjoyable. If you plan to book, bring your bathing suit because the pool, steam and sauna rooms are a very pleasant surprise!
Highpoint: real linen sheets and pillowcases.
Disappointment: Harry Bar and Grill for dinner in the hotel. It is lovely but the food is mediocre and pricey.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RavenLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    310
    182
    38
    20
    10
See reviews for
75
253
25
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Graz, Austria
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
170 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

This hotel is very nice, with historic atmosphere and wonderful decoration. The service was magnificent. The breakfast was very good as well. The location may be the most central. Our suite was not oriented to the Piazza Unita d'Italia, but with the only balcony in the hotel. The only minus was the shower cabin, which was completely closed - it was hard to breathe after 10 minutes of taking a shower.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Igor U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2013

There is an interesting indoor pool and Harry's Bar in the hotel. I was trying to find a restaurant outside the hotel and a staff member walked me to the the restaurant.

The room was large and quiet. Good internet access

They have a sister hotel a short boat ride away with a fantastic swimming area. It is private, but the front desk can make a reservation. The boat goes by the famous castle. Check it out

Room Tip: My room was quiet. I was overlooking the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shallotte, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Having read the pros and cons of this hotels' reviews we decided to go ahead and see for ourselves. After 4 nights here let me be clinical. The reception staff is courteous but cool. And they are clearly partial to their local clientele. As an Italian American who has enjoyed over a dozen trips to Italy I feel that I am a good judge of customer service in this country. And the hotel does not meet my expectations. The last straw was being asked to leave the "public" living room because it was booked for a private meeting. Really? Same can be said for the breakfast staff who need to be reminded of a simple request for cappuccino while delivering eggs to their regulars. Ok let's move off of customer service and on to amenities. Inconsistent is the best I can say. Some nights we got turn down service others nights no. Sometimes the wifi worked sometimes not. And our personall favorite - the TV had to be unplugged as the on-off switch didn't work. Now on to the room. Again expectations of staying in a historical building is at a minimum peace and quiet. Disappointed again as each day we heard our neighbors toilet habits, closet rummaging and yet another rpersonal favorite - the husband serenading his wife each morning at 8AM. Did I forget to mention his belching? The hotel is in a perfect setting on the Piazza Unita I'talia and that is its charm and convenience. Otherwise it is an average hotel in need of a facelift and some soundproofing as well as a refresher course for customer service.

Room Tip: Do not book a room on the piazza. Sounds charming but noisy. This weekend was the NBA Arena weekend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank charlene0507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
München
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

If you expect friendly service, do NOT book this hotel. The receptionists (at least the two ladies who worked there in the afternoon on september 14th) are not just extremly unfriendly, they are also very arrogant. It's a shame. Especially for a hotel of this category. I will never use this hotel again.

Italy is known for its guest friedly people.

There is an exception to every rule. In terms of this clichee it is this hotel in trieste. The reception in probably every hotel of italy (or the world) is better than in grand hotel duchi dagosto.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChristianGretz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexBenvenuti, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Duchi D'Aosta, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Dear Mr. Gretz,

Thank you for having signed your review.

This signature has allowed me to discover that YOU HAS NEVER BEEN ACCOMMODATED IN OUR HOTEL .

Any further remark is unnecessary.

Alex Benvenuti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sweden
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

This is a great hotel on a great location. I love everything about this hotel; reception's welcome, check out, helpful personnel, nice building, nice good size room with all necessities, free wifi, free bottled water, gorgeous breakfast with cappuccino, espresso, ...; extremely nice waiters during the breakfast; nice pool! The only small minus was shower which was not easy to adjust to the right temperature. everything else was perfect!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LolaSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

The location of the hotel is perfect, the staff very polite and ready to help you all the time. This hotel is located in very nice, historical building with unforgetable atmosphere.
Breakfasts are fantastic expirience - tasty italian illy cappuccino or any kind of coffee you wish with waiters "dancing around you". There is variety of fresh, quality food and nice italian prosecco, if you like.
The whole hotel is decorated with antiques and the wellness center in old Romanian style. Nothing is like in other hotels.
The hotel is 4 ****, but it's service is for 5*****.
If I will ever visit Trieste again, I will deffinitely stay here again.

Room Tip: if you can, get room with front or sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanna_KM2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Trieste hotels
0.1 mi away
Starhotels Savoia Excelsior Palace
0.6 mi away
Victoria Hotel Letterario
0.1 mi away
Hotel Residence L'Albero Nascosto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Continentale
Continentale
#4 of 50 in Trieste
470 reviews
0.1 mi away
Urban Hotel Design
Urban Hotel Design
#7 of 50 in Trieste
788 reviews
0.4 mi away
NH Trieste
NH Trieste
#10 of 50 in Trieste
1,661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Duchi D'Aosta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Duchi D'Aosta

Property: Grand Hotel Duchi D'Aosta
Address: Piazza Unita' d'Italia 2, 34121, Trieste, Italy
Region: Italy > Friuli Venezia Giulia > Province of Trieste > Trieste
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Trieste
#4 Luxury Hotel in Trieste
#7 Romantic Hotel in Trieste
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Duchi D'Aosta 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Hotel Duchi D'Aosta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Trieste
Grand Hotel Duchi d Aosta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing