We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Grand Luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Hotel Duchi D'Aosta
Ranked #5 of 50 Hotels in Trieste
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis Mn
Level Contributor
341 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Grand Luxury”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

This hotel made my wife and me feel like Hapsburg royalty down from Vienna to check on the province. It is really grand and deserves to have grand in its name. The beautiful old parquet floors in the hallways are varnished to the highest sheen possible. We almost felt guilty walking on them. In the room, the linens had alternating white-on-white stripes and were perfectly pressed. The lighted double closet was lined in red damask with gold piping. The door frames were surrounded by gold piping. This is about as plush as it gets.
On the desk was a welcome gift of a scroll, a 12" x 26" color photograph of the main square of the city. The hotel is one of the elaborate buildings on the square.
There is an element of luck with any one-time travel experience, and luck was with us at this hotel. Our beautiful room overlooked the main square and we had three wonderful nights in the hotel. At breakfast, however, we overheard people whose rooms were on the back side of the hotel complaining about the noisy traffic that went by all night long. Are those rooms cheaper? If so, don't go cheap, stay in the front of the hotel.
Breakfast in Harry's Bar was more than ample, and individual coffee drinks are made to order upon request.
We wandered into Harry's Bar late one afternoon and were greeted by Tony, who assured us that he could make a sandwich for us even though the kitchen was closed. It turned out to be the biggest club sandwich we have ever seen, and it was delicious, with ham, huge slices of chicken, tomatoes, some greens, and a boiled egg. While waiting for the sandwich, my wife had a Prosecco and I had a local beer, and with that came a delicious dish of some sort of herring with mild onions that is a local specialty. When we complimented Tony on the herring, he brought us more!

The front desk people were friendly and accommodating. They were very helpful in calling taxi's for us, which arrive on the busy street behind the hotel.

After a cleansing rain one night, I was very surprised to see the snowcapped Alps in the distance the next morning. The square opens to the Adriatic every day, but it also opens to the Alps on a clear day.

The only negatives were spotty TV reception on the English stations and strange lighting in the bathroom. It wasn't quite adequate, yet a huge spotlight in the ceiling shown down on a cactus plant suspended on chains just below the light. The spotlight light came on in the evening, and we were told it was necessary so that the plant didn't die. Also, because of the location of the bidet, it was difficult to get near the lighted shaving mirror in order to use it.

The dates of our visit were April 8-11, 2014.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JandJ67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    296
    176
    35
    20
    10
See reviews for
71
245
25
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

We arrived on a busy Saturday night and went straight to to Harry's Cafe (bar and restaurant) below the hotel to have a drink. There are only two staff serving drinks and food. We felt sorry for then as we watched them work flat out to filet fish, serve food, clear tables and serve drinks. Making cocktails for the bar customers was last on the list and we waited a while.
Sunday morning at 10 for breakfast after a good night sleep in a clean and comfortable room. Whole breakfast room was full and three staff tried their best to fill up the empty rolls, cheese, hot food, glasses etc while many customers waited for tables to be cleared and for their coffee orders to be taken let alone delivered.
Why the lack of staff? Management must know how many people are staying in their hotel? We pay for staying in a 4* and it isn't the fault of staff that they can't deliver the service you could see they wanted too.
Saying that, the price was reasonable for 4* but our room faced the road and it is noisy.
Asked 3 times that they leave our room alone yet beds turned down and towels changed. Save the planet!!
Mon am breakfast serene. Hardly any customers, so time for the staff to ask what coffee we wanted and to bring great coffees to us Bucks fizz. Lots to eat. Marvelous.
Comfortable. Centrally located. Reception staff were friendly and helpful with information.

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valerie_1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bandungan, Indonesia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

We stayed here for the spacial occasion. The staff at the reception was very friendly and upgraded our room. We have spent just 2 night but had memorable time .
Pros:
overlooking the large square of Piazza dell'Unita'
historical/ authentic antic furniture
comfortable and the staff were friendly, helpful
lovely pool area in the basement with sauna designed in antique Roman style, steam room, jacuzzi etc.
Excellent drinks ( my best spritz) in Harry's Grill
Cons;
very small rooms for this standard hotel
the decor is a outdated ( although furniture are nice)

Room Tip: For the view room on the top floor facing main plaza ( but at weekend can be noisy)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cezaryfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

We spent 3 nights in January in this hotel in an outstanding position in Trieste. Overlooking the large square of Piazza dell'Unita' it is in a prime position for visiting all the sights. The hotel is comfortable and the staff were friendly, helpful and charming. There is a lovely pool area in the basement with sauna, steam room, jacuzzi etc. in a Roman style. Very welcome after a long day's sightseeing.
The excellent breakfast was served in Harry's Grill (opened in 1970 by Harry Cipriani himself) and this also served as the hotel bar.
The decor is old world and a little dated but bedrooms were very comfortable.
One word of warning; if you choose a piazza view room and are staying at the weekend there may be some noise from revelers on the Saturday night despite the double glazing and the shutters.

Room Tip: Avoid piazza view room at the weekends
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G_dogDublin_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novi Sad, Serbia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

Probably the best hotel in Trieste. Located in the heart of the city on the main square. We had rooms in the new modern part which is across the street. Rooms were small but for one night stay it was great. You have bottled water and Illy espresso machine in each room. Bathroom very clean with plenty of towels. Breakfast was amazing! If you walk in on it its like 25€ or something!?
We had a deal that was included in the price. Parking is on the street but they have parking close by for extra charge. If you want to treat yourself like a royalty this is it!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DjMalcha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

My favorite part was the restaurant that overlooked the plaza. Nice atmosphere with live music. The room decor was a little dated but clean and comfortable. The shower was awkward. The location was the best. I would stay here again

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie2070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

Stayed a couple of nights after reading good reviews - however the hotel did not live up to expectations at all. The 'suite' was just a large room with a bathroom from 20 years ago. Full hotel refurbishment is needed to start to live up to modern standards. Lady on reception was helpful and friendly, but there is nothing she can do about the decor and facilities.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2809GPL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexBenvenuti, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Duchi D'Aosta, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear guest
Thank you for your review of the Grand Hotel Duchi d'Aosta.
I am sorry that you did not like the style of our house, and you are quite right: modern is only the comfort.
The atmosphere is very special (described in many reviews of our guests), and we constantly try to maintain it jealously.
Junior suites are in fact particularly large rooms for our standards, while senior suites comprise a bedroom, a living room and two bathrooms.
We recently built the Hotel Duchi Vis a Vis, very popular among our guests who are looking, as you did, for a home with a contemporary style. Furthermore, from April 2014 onwards our guests will profit from an even more enriched offer represented by a completely renovated Hotel Riviera & Maximilian's, in a contemporary and charming style, and with a beautiful wellness area with gorgeous sea view.
Sincerely
Alex Bevenuti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Trieste hotels
0.1 mi away
Starhotels Savoia Excelsior Palace
0.6 mi away
Victoria Hotel Letterario
0.1 mi away
Hotel Residence L'Albero Nascosto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Urban Hotel Design
Urban Hotel Design
#8 of 50 in Trieste
4.0 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
0.5 mi away
Albergo alla Posta
Albergo alla Posta
#7 of 50 in Trieste
4.0 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
0.3 mi away
Continentale
Continentale
#4 of 50 in Trieste
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Duchi D'Aosta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Duchi D'Aosta

Property: Grand Hotel Duchi D'Aosta
Address: Piazza Unita' d'Italia 2, 34121, Trieste, Italy
Region: Italy > Friuli Venezia Giulia > Province of Trieste > Trieste
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Trieste
#4 Luxury Hotel in Trieste
#7 Romantic Hotel in Trieste
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Duchi D'Aosta 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Hotel Duchi D'Aosta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Trieste
Grand Hotel Duchi d Aosta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing