We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Okay - Clean and comfortable"”
Review of Hotel Roma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Roma
Ranked #18 of 50 Hotels in Trieste
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“"Okay - Clean and comfortable"”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Stayed here 25th October 2013 pre-cruise. Arrived into Trieste Bus station using the very good bus service that runs from Trieste Airport, and the Hotel Roma is an easy walk from the bus station.
Reception was efficient, the chap didnt speak much English but we got by. Our room was a "Quadruple" room, which was basically a large double with two extra single beds in. The room was big enough to take the extra beds.......just. Disappointingly there was a very strong smell of smoke in the room, even though I'm sure there was supposed to be no-smoking in the rooms, maybe I was wrong??
A basic room but it was clean. We were on the front of the hotel, and with the air-conditioning apparently "broken" we needed the shutters open for a while to keep the room relatively cool, if we had been here in the summer it would have been impossible to keep them open all night as it was very noisy from the road, as it was we were Ok to shut them when we went to sleep. I hope the Air-con gets sorted for customers next summer!!
The bed was comfortable, and the bathroom was clean with a good shower.
Good location to walk into the city for an evening meal.
Breakfast was acceptable, typically continental, rolls, ham, cheese etc and a few cereals. As other people have said though, the area that they serve breakfast is just too small.

Room Tip: I would try and get a room at the back of the hotel if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rob c c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    143
    121
    58
    35
See reviews for
66
149
34
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ontario canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Stayed Oct 9-11 before cruise. Came by train from Venice. Very short walk from train station. We like to walk, so, this was a great base to explore the city from. It is also only a 10 minute walk to the port for cruise....again we like to walk...pulling suitcases was not an issue for us.
To be fair, the day staff were good, the breakfast was fine and the room & bed were clean. That meets all of our requirements. The room was also bigger than we expected. Obviously not a 4 star hotel, perhaps 3 is even a bit of a stretch....old and dated, but it is kept clean and also offers free wifi and breakfast. After reading previous reviews, I was a tad afraid that I made the wrong decision when booking, but, we have no regrets. The hotel was full with other like-minded guests, most of whom were going on a cruise also. Trieste is a very neat city to roam.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cathycanuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

Friendly people at reception, clean hotel, good clean toilets, perfect location.. Not too fancy breakfast. Old room with noisy beds, the hotel wasn t really worth the price i paid i.e. 100 € per night

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank talaldaher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pezinok, Slovakia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

we stayed in this hotel for 2 nights.It looks much better on the pictures than in reality.Our room has old furniture and was rather smelly. The parking is in a public garage, about 10 minutes wallk from the hotel, ina very scary neighbourhood... The lady at the rception on our arrival spoke very little english and was neither friendly, neither helpfull. Would not return.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jarka O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Trieste hotels

Leeuwarden, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

+ Perfect location, right at the center. But pretty busy street.
+ Free wifi: also in the room.
+ Good breakfast: nice choise of yoghurt/bread/ croisants/ spreads/ fruits etc.
+ Verry nice room - clean and not too small.

- 12 euros parking fee per day at the garage next to the trainstation (5 min walk).
- noisy airco,
- stinky elevator.

Room Tip: Dont take a room at the streetside - its verry rushy and loud. As far as I know there are no rooms w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vakantievincent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gisborne, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

We wanted something central, close to the station, which would not break the bank. We booked on line Venere or Expedia; one of those after carefully studying the Tripadvisor write-ups. Quite a few were uncomplimentary. Perhaps the review a person writes depends on their mood and expectations. I am writing this on a train en-route to Lake Maggiore after 7 nights in Hotel Roma. Of course a couple of things went wrong: One night we had a noisy neighbour in the room above us, one morning the breakfast maestro (he was so good we left a tip on our last morning) must have overslept and management had to find out how just how valuable an employee he is; for those who arrived for an early breakfast that morning it would have seemed chaotic. Yes it’s self-serve continental and plenty of choice - quality and quantity – whatever nationality and breakfast custom you claim. I see one reviewer complains about not being able to take food away for later consumption - well I guess that reviewer's expectations are higher than most.

Overall the most unexpected thing was the cleanliness of a hotel designed for short stays and a very high turnover of rooms. I doubt the Roma has more than 15 staff from desk manager to fanciulla and they are good at their jobs. I cannot even complain about the lift which stops on the mezzanine between floors because it means you always have some stairs to enjoy and that’s good for general fitness and the figure.
What else? Fridge, room safe, double glazed windows, a shower cabinet that doesn’t let water spill all over the floor and a shower with temperature control that squirts water in unexpected places from the side as well as from above.
It was perfect for our requirements.

Room Tip: IF you book in advance and have the opportunity to specify I would recommend third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KapitiTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level 6 Contributor
307 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2013

We stay in this hotel.very unfriendly people special with the breakfast. Checking if you take to much food.in the reception dont ask to much same unfriendly .rooms for 100 euros a night far to much,not very clean location is not that good .all in all 45 euros hotel thats is enough.
Will never stay again.no restaurant. You have to go out site 200 meter to look for the restaurant
Connected with them.

Room Tip: .???? Look somewhere eslse
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Petrus Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Trieste hotels
0.2 mi away
Nuovo Albergo Centro
Nuovo Albergo Centro
#11 of 50 in Trieste
428 reviews
0.1 mi away
B&B Hotel Trieste
B&B Hotel Trieste
#20 of 50 in Trieste
363 reviews
0.1 mi away
NH Trieste
NH Trieste
#10 of 50 in Trieste
1,660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Albergo alla Posta
Albergo alla Posta
#8 of 50 in Trieste
681 reviews
0.6 mi away
Starhotels Savoia Excelsior Palace
1.0 mi away
Best Western Hotel San Giusto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Roma

Property: Hotel Roma
Address: Via Carlo Ghega 7, 34132, Trieste, Italy
Region: Italy > Friuli Venezia Giulia > Province of Trieste > Trieste
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 50 Hotels in Trieste
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Roma 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roma Hotel Trieste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing