We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cheap, great location, and a nice all round stay”
Review of B&B Hotel Trieste

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
B&B Hotel Trieste
Ranked #20 of 51 Hotels in Trieste
Reviewed 21 July 2011

Stayed in this hotel on our single night passing through Trieste and we were very impressed. Cheap accommodation, clean spacious rooms, and very friendly customer service. Receptionists and manager went out of their way to exceed customer expectations. We left very happy and would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hanban91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (396)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 396 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2011

Chosed this hotel based on trip adviser's reviews. After staying there got a bit disappointed! Relatively helpful staff that couldn't communicate with us in English so we had to understand a mixture of Italian and gestures)
Our room was ok but really really outdated! A tiny window goes to a small yard and to a sewege pipe on a wall covered with pigeons' poop that live right above the window)
Very poor breakfast, suitable for a one star hotel!
But it is located in the city center, close to a bus going various directions, train station that is just right across a square, and it takes max 10 mins to the main Piazza(square)

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MyrziKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2011

As reported by previous TA members - ideal position for those arriving by train or coach - just 100 yards from both the rail and coach stations.

If arriving by air, use the bus service to the hotel. Service N° 51 takes just under an hour with a charge of only €3.30 each way.

Breakfast simple but plenty of it.

Bedrooms big an clean, with flatscreen tv.

Free wifi very good

Location is excellent for visiting Trieste and surrounding area

Hotel is dated but very good value for money

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NicholasEJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2011

As reported by previous TA members - ideal position for those arriving by train or coach - just 100 yards from both the rail and coach stations.

If arriving by air, use the bus service to the hotel. Service N° 51 takes just under an hour with a charge of only €3.30 each way.

We had a very large room (214) - large bed/TV/batchroom, although only a hand held shower head over the bath. View from the room not inspiring - into an internal courtyard. Aircon is included, as is a room safe.

Staff extremely helpful and with good English language. Reception area had a TV area and a small Bar and the free to use computer with broadband access.

Breakfast was good - drinks/juice/breads/yogurts/tinned fruit etc - no hot items but that is the norm in Italy.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kule Dude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2011

This hotel is literally across a small plaza from the train station, and in the middle of multiple bus stops. So, for arrival and departure by train, the location can't be beat. It is also within walking distance to the Grand Canal area where there are many shops and restaurants. The rooms and bathrooms are very spacious and clean. For Americans, the furnishings in the rooms would be considered very basic and minimal, but still quite comfortable. We were in Trieste helping our daughter get settled at the university and every member of this staff went out of their way to help us with some problems we needed to resolve. When our daughter needed to move back to the hotel with us, the staff immediately changed our room to a triple, and gave us the special online rate. They were always available and willing to help us as we tried to navigate our way around the city. We were in the hotel for 5 nights, and by day 3 the staff would usually recognize us as we entered, and have our key ready on the desk. Even the staff in the breakfast room was always friendly and attentive. Breakfast does not offer any hot items however, there are delicious croissants, jams, a "laughing cow" type of cheese, as well as some very good cereals and yogurt. For coffee you can choose expresso, cappuccino or regular. This is a reasonably priced hotel in a great location, with large comfortable rooms and a staff that is top notch. We were very thankful for their kindness during a somewhat stressful time.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trbrown36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2010

This is a dated, but perfectly located hotel (literally opposite Trieste Centrale train station). If 70's chic is your bag, then go stay here! We had a very large room (Rm 204), with double aspect windows and a balcony, but it was a super smelly room (stale smoke), and the cleaning left a little to be desired. The sheets and towels were good, but it is difficult to clean such old fittings (especially bathroom!). Breakfast was very average - usual continental buffet stuff, but no real interest from me. Staff were good and friendly, making good suggestions for day trips and visits around the town. The beds were really hard, though massive. Free (and very dodgy) WiFi, slow and cutting out, but I repeat, free - so can't complain too much. This is supposed to be a 3 star hotel, but I reckon it was more like 2 star. One last point - bring your own toiletries, the packets of cheap shampoo and soap (does anyone actually use soap anymore?) literally stripped my hair and body of all moisture! So a trip to the supermarket 3 doors away was necessary :-) I would recommend this hotel, but don't expect too much.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MawkieLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eleonorafac, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at B&B Hotel Trieste, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2010

Dear guest,

we are surprised to read this comment because we were never informed about your discomfort during the stay.
As you know, hotel rating can be very subjective and what one person feels is a 3-star could be either a 2 or a 4 star for another one, depending on experience and expectations:
- Continental buffet breakfast is included in the room rate and it's up to standard for 3-stars hotel in Italy.
- we do have other kinds of matress in other rooms but you never asked to speak to the Hotel Manager about these issues. Usually travellers always ask for hard matress.
- Amenities like soap and shower gel are normal and this is the very first time we receive a compaint about this.
We sincerly apologize for what reported about the bathroom but we are doing some renovation in order to improve our rooms.
Thank you for your comment and you can be sure that from now on we will check carefully all rooms.

Please notice that we always do our best to put our guests first, but it's difficult if we are unaware about the problems during the stay.
Hoping you will give us another opportunity to have you as our guest we send you our best regards.

Alessandro Porporato - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2010

We picked the Novo Hotel Impero, because we were spending a long, long day traveling by train and leaving the next afternoon. The hotel is conveniently located across the square from the train station. Our room was large, simple, and clean. Original art hangs throughout the hotel. With a very high ceiling, our room contained a very large work and several smaller ones. The hotel recommended a restaurant around the corner, which was good and inexpensive. (The restaurant was frequented by locals and little English was spoken. We sat next to the local police chief, who ensured that after dinner we were offered free Limoncello.) The included breakfast was good. The next morning we asked about sightseeing and were given careful directions including detailed instructions on the bus schedule and where to buy a ticket before boarding the bus.

Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank EveSp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Trieste hotels
0.3 mi away
Nuovo Albergo Centro
Nuovo Albergo Centro
#11 of 51 in Trieste
451 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albergo alla Posta
Albergo alla Posta
#9 of 51 in Trieste
741 reviews
0.2 mi away
NH Trieste
NH Trieste
#10 of 51 in Trieste
1,799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hotel Miramare
Hotel Miramare
#6 of 51 in Trieste
467 reviews
0.6 mi away
Savoia Excelsior Palace – Starhotels Collezione
1.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel San Giusto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Hotel Trieste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Hotel Trieste

Address: Via Sant'Anastasio 1, 34132, Trieste, Italy (Formerly Novo Hotel Impero)
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Friuli Venezia Giulia > Province of Trieste > Trieste
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 51 Hotels in Trieste
Price Range: £51 - £543 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — B&B Hotel Trieste 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your B&B Hotel Trieste reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novo Hotel Trieste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing