We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic and creaky”
Review of B&B Hotel Trieste

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
B&B Hotel Trieste
Ranked #20 of 50 Hotels in Trieste
Reviewed 14 June 2012

Have just spent one night in this hotel and would not stay there again. Room small and basic. Toiletries were of the sachet variety. Main thing hotel has going for it is it's proximity to the railway station.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
Thank Taralulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (376)
There are newer reviews for B&B Hotel Trieste
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 377 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2012

Good Hotel with friendly staff ideally located for the railway station and buses.
convenient for visiting the town. Rooms are large and well furnished and spotlessly clean although the lighting is a bit dim but comfortable beds The one drawback is the internal plumbing can be a little noisy particularly from the next room, but I suppose this is to be expected from an older Hotel. Breakfasts are continental but the choice is a bit limited and the same everyday. Does not have a restaurant nor a bar. Would recommend it if you want simple straight forward accommodation.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Arthur C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012

We spent 2 nights here in May 12 on a long weekend visiting Trieste,

The hotel is in the same square as the bus / railway station and easy to spot. The receptionist (in fact all the staff we encountered) spoke really good English and were friendly and keen to help in any way they could.

OK - its an old building and han't been rennovated recently BUT it has a certain charm - a large sweeping stairway - chandaliers and a real sollidity reminiscent of yesteryear - a charachter missing from so many hotels. The room was roomy - good tv, comfy bed etc but only 1 pillow each. Bathroom was good - only a shower BUT a good one. The free toiletries were those nasty little tear open sacheys though.

The range of stuff on offer for Breakfast was limited - usual Itallian cold buffet but no meats and just processed cheese slices but the bread rolls were freshly made each day.

All in all for the price we really liked the place.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Me_n_my_rucksack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Had I written this review 20 years ago it probably would have been much more enthusiastic. The hotel has a lost-grandeur feel to it which indicates that 50 years ago this was probably a great place to stay at.
Today however it is simply far below par. And I am not referring to the old-styled furniture, the marble floors etc. In honesty, beds are pretty comfortable and the bathroom is very decent, everything seems clean.
What is intolerable nowadays are things like the incredible amount of noise (there are no carpets on the floor, room doors have to be slammed in order to close, anti-fire doors in the corridor also open and close with the great deal of noise, walls and ceilings sound paper-thin), the awful breaksfast (I've had the worst coffee and orange juice of my life) and the overall feeling of coldness and decadence that rules the place. And it's not that cheap either.
The only reason why I give it 2 stars (as opposed to 1) is the convenient location, right in front of the train station.

Room Tip: stay away from the anti-fire doors in the corridors
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank audiopink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2011

I could not believe, that there could be so poor 3 stars hotels in Italy! They proud for big rooms, but they are terrible, furniture is old and the towels are dirty, like someone has cleaned shoes with them. Breakfast is impossible to eat and bathroom looked liked communism style. Don't stay there until they make a renovation!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Viktor K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2011

Stayed in this hotel on our single night passing through Trieste and we were very impressed. Cheap accommodation, clean spacious rooms, and very friendly customer service. Receptionists and manager went out of their way to exceed customer expectations. We left very happy and would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hanban91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2011

Chosed this hotel based on trip adviser's reviews. After staying there got a bit disappointed! Relatively helpful staff that couldn't communicate with us in English so we had to understand a mixture of Italian and gestures)
Our room was ok but really really outdated! A tiny window goes to a small yard and to a sewege pipe on a wall covered with pigeons' poop that live right above the window)
Very poor breakfast, suitable for a one star hotel!
But it is located in the city center, close to a bus going various directions, train station that is just right across a square, and it takes max 10 mins to the main Piazza(square)

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MyrziKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Trieste hotels
0.3 mi away
Nuovo Albergo Centro
Nuovo Albergo Centro
#11 of 50 in Trieste
434 reviews
0.2 mi away
NH Trieste
NH Trieste
#10 of 50 in Trieste
1,700 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albergo alla Posta
Albergo alla Posta
#8 of 50 in Trieste
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel San Giusto
0.6 mi away
Starhotels Savoia Excelsior Palace
0.7 mi away
Hotel Residence L'Albero Nascosto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Hotel Trieste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Hotel Trieste

Address: Via Sant'Anastasio 1, 34132, Trieste, Italy (Formerly Novo Hotel Impero)
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Friuli Venezia Giulia > Province of Trieste > Trieste
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Trieste
Price Range: £48 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — B&B Hotel Trieste 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your B&B Hotel Trieste reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novo Hotel Trieste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing