We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not quite worth 4 stars” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Continentale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Continentale
Ranked #5 of 50 Hotels in Trieste
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
88 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Not quite worth 4 stars”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

Maybe we're too demanding, but we found this hotel just about average at best. The double rooms are basic, yet comfortable enough. We were three travelers, so the third person was first checked into a tiny single room with no view. When she voiced her objections she was offered another single room on a lower floor, which was even worse, dark and stuffy. Eventually she was upgraded to a double room even better than ours. That was the good news. That solved we found there was no real air-conditioning. We were told the hotel uses a different cooling system but that it would take a few hours to cool the room. Didn't quite work. We still felt the room was uncomfortably hot at night.

Breakfast was alright, nothing special though. The coffee was a brew from hell, utterly undrinkable. A hostel in Burkina Faso serves better coffee that that. What they don't tell you is that you can order a freshly brewed coffee or cappuccino directly from the waiting staff. We saw some guests drinking cappuccinos, so we ordered some as well, not knowing that it was actually included.

The best thing about the Continentale is the location, very close to the Canale Grande and just a few minutes walk to Piazza Unita d'Italia. The front desk staff was fantastic too, all multi-lingual and always helpful. No complaints about them. But that's just not good enough for a price tag of 150 Euronians per night. Upon our return from Slovenia we stayed at a different hotel, where we paid less but where twice as happy. Food for thought.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the pedestrian area rather than the street. It's much quieter. As a sol...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kookoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    190
    35
    4
    3
See reviews for
81
159
27
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

I stayed here for a couple of nights. The hotel is very well located. Staff is friendly and professional. The room was comfortable and clean. Not what I would call cosy, but still nice to stay in. The bed was very comfy too. Internet access was good, and the breakfast buffet delicious. One night I ordered pizza from a restaurant they recommended and it was outstanding! I highly recommend it. ;) This is by no means a luxury hotel, but also not a budget hotel. Somewhere in between. I would recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Therooster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
187 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2012

The combination of the firm mattress and the extreme quiet of the hotel fooled me into thinking I was home when I woke up: that's not happened for a long while.

Overall I liked the hotel, although it would not suit all tastes. For a start €150 seemed a lot to pay for a night in a relatively small hotel hidden away in Trieste, albeit one right in the centre of town. What made it for me was the aforesaid firm bed, the lovely big bath towel, the big room, the WiFi, and most of all the quiet.

Against that was that the curtains didn't meet so in the summer you do need eye cover if you are a light sleeper, plus the buffet breakfast was nothing special.

Room Tip: Bring an eye cover if you are a light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

Lovely hotel, Excellent location. Comfortable rooms. Good breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aquarius0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

Yes, this isn't a huge hotel BUT it is in the centre of Trieste - it is is sparkling clean with a lovely buffet breakfast!

The Manager walks around interested to know if anyone needs anything - he explained to me that it belongs to his family and therefore he want it to be at it's best!

It is !

I recommend this hotel very much

Just down the road , all of the shops, wonderful homemade ice cream parlor and 5 minutes away from the beautiful sea front

Room Tip: Try to be on a side not facing main street although it was quiet except for one night - and even th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nonie20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

This hotel is as central as you can get and really embodies the chic and simple style of Italian independent hotels. The room we had was a spacious, cool double with a great bathroom (stand-up shower was powerful and easy to control), free wifi and had the character which is so often lacking in large, faceless chain hotels. The hotel parked our car in their private garage (which is expensive, but safe. To be fair, parking in the city is a nightmare, so we understand that the cost of a private garage is high) and the staff always helped us with any queries we had. Breakfast was also superb - a real focus on quality, fresh items.

Go for this if you want a proper Italian-style independent hotel with character and class.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hamish1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyne and Wear, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

We were there only two nights - quite enough, as we had a very limited view. But breakfast outside was great.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alpujarra2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Trieste hotels
0.4 mi away
Starhotels Savoia Excelsior Palace
0.4 mi away
Victoria Hotel Letterario
0.3 mi away
Urban Hotel Design
Urban Hotel Design
#8 of 50 in Trieste
4.0 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Duchi D'Aosta
0.3 mi away
Hotel Residence L'Albero Nascosto
0.3 mi away
Albergo alla Posta
Albergo alla Posta
#7 of 50 in Trieste
4.0 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Continentale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Continentale

Property: Continentale
Address: Via San Nicolo' 25, 34121, Trieste, Italy
Region: Italy > Friuli Venezia Giulia > Province of Trieste > Trieste
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Trieste
#4 Romantic Hotel in Trieste
#4 Luxury Hotel in Trieste
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Continentale 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Continentale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continentale Hotel Trieste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing