We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, lovely hotel”
Review of Continentale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Continentale
Ranked #4 of 50 Hotels in Trieste
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great location, lovely hotel”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Service - No issues with the service - check in was problem free. We had an issue with our wifi code which was sorted out promptly.

Room - Our room was a double on the second floor. The double bed was huge - more like a superking and was very comfortable. There was antique oak furnature in the room which gave it a very regal feel. The room and en-suite were very clean and fresh linen was provided and the bed made on a daily basis.

Location - Ideal location - right in the centre of Trieste. Lots of restaurants nearby.

Breakfast - Amazing breakfast with a selection of continental and cooked options. The breakfast area has a lovely outside area so you can eat in the sunshine

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlieMarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    194
    35
    4
    3
See reviews for
85
163
29
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
spain
Level Contributor
70 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

For more than 15 years I have been traveling regularly to Italy, North to South, West to East. My rule of thumb for Italian hotels: Star rating-1. Well, with Continentale, this is the exception that confirms the rule. A very nice 4 star hotel, with all the amenities and services expected. Reception staff were always friendly and helpful, check-in and -out was a breeze.
I got an accessible room, so it was a little bit different, bathroom was exceptionally large but not that practical. The bed was magnificent and the room had enough space to work with complementary WiFi (excellent strength).
The hotel is located on Via San Nicolá, a couple of minutes walk from Piazza de la Unitá (a must see), right in the middle of the shopping area.
Breakfast very good (included), and Cappuccino just superb.
Only complain, update the minibar price list! To cheap to be true, and it wasn't.
This is a very good option to stay while visiting Trieste, actually, I would say the right choice. Excellent quality for a reasonable price.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with views to the pedestrian street; the rooms are quiet while allowing to get some o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acisclo71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Loved it here, stayed 7 nights and were given a balcony room (No.201) so we could people watch and soak up the wonderful local atmospehere. Our room was spacious and airy, the breakfast substantial and varied enough to keep us fed until dinner. The reception and sitting room were airy and bright, friendly staff. Look out for the everflowing jar of amaretti biscuits. The area outside the hotel is ful of lovely pavement bars and we'd heartily recommend the Expo, MittelSchool restaurant for their taster menu, amazing quality for a reasonable price, funky place too.

Everyone who knew we were going away asked where Trieste is, obviously not on the regular tourist trail and all the better for it, a genuine city with bucket loads of history and also a gateway to other gems. We used the well priced train to go to Udine for a day, not to be missed for art lovers and of course Venice so close had to be revisited.

Muggia by boat or bus, we did both on different days was a gorgeous place to chill.

Stay at Continentale for a grown up few days away and treat yourself. 15 minutes walk away from the station along the seafront so a lovely way to introduce yourself to the city. If that's too arduous stop off on the Grand Canal for a breather and cool glass of local wine.

Room Tip: Room 201 overlooked street with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank birminghamguys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We stayed in the Palace Suites part of the hotel but just around the corner. This was the best accommodation of our holiday/trip to Italy and the Balkans. We booked the classic suite, and paid extra for the car parking, which we chose not to use for the period of our stay. The accommodation was right in the centre, in a pedestrian area, and close to all amenities. Our room had all that we wanted and was spacious and was good. Breakfast at the Continentale Hotel, was good. Staff were very helpful.We would definitely recommend this place to fellow travellers.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiger46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Hotel is in center of everything in Trieste :) . It is in pedestrian zone, but there is hotel parking (just to unload your things) 20 m from hotel. Parking is available but on another location but it is not free (you can leave your key on reception and guys will take good care of it ). Rooms are little bit small but it was ok. Wi-fi is free, breakfast was excellent with variety of everything.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nemanja D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Pros: Clean, large room and bathroom, comfortable bed, effective air-condition, quiet (situated on a pedestrian street), friendly and helpful staff, great location only 5 minutes from the central square.
Cons: Breakfast buffet only so so, ie. luke-warm coffee and semi-stale bread. But acceptable.
All in all great value for the price.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
66 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

I stayed at this hotel in the hottest August week-end with my husband and I really appreciate the air conditioning
Style: modern and elegant: you can smell the “Belle Epoque” era, with all the modern comforts.
Location: in the centre of Trieste, 5 minutes walking from Canal Grande and Piazza Unità d’Italia. Rooms: my room was perfect. Not big, but extremely comfortable. Modern furniture, with a large desk, two chairs, flat screen television, large wardrobe and chest of drawers. Comfortable bathroom with tub. Spotless clean and silent, excellent for light sleepers like me.
Food: had a b&b treatment. Breakfast was fantastic, with a large choice of cakes, croissants, fruit, etc.
Staff: the best feature of the hotel. Always attentive and helpful.
Really enjoyed my staying, in case I visit again Trieste I will definitely choose this hotel.

Room Tip: Never by car! Very hard to find parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Trieste hotels
0.4 mi away
Starhotels Savoia Excelsior Palace
0.4 mi away
Victoria Hotel Letterario
0.3 mi away
Urban Hotel Design
Urban Hotel Design
#8 of 50 in Trieste
4.0 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Duchi D'Aosta
0.3 mi away
NH Trieste
NH Trieste
#10 of 50 in Trieste
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,574 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Residence L'Albero Nascosto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Continentale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Continentale

Property: Continentale
Address: Via San Nicolo' 25, 34121, Trieste, Italy
Region: Italy > Friuli Venezia Giulia > Province of Trieste > Trieste
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Trieste
#3 Luxury Hotel in Trieste
#4 Romantic Hotel in Trieste
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Continentale 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Continentale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continentale Hotel Trieste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing