We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel if arriving by train but not if you arrive by car/motorbike”
Review of Continentale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Continentale
Ranked #4 of 50 Hotels in Trieste
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Hotel if arriving by train but not if you arrive by car/motorbike”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

This is a very comfortable hotel well located in the centre of town on a pedestrian street. Easy to walk to the canal area. Breakfast was excellent. Highly recommend if using public transport.

However, if you need parking then the hotel's car park is 2 km away. It's actually a public municipal car park. The driver of the hotel's minibus is phoned, you wait for him to arrive & then you go through the busy traffic to get across town to the car park. This is a real pain if you have luggage, kids in tow & it's hot. Also if a number of people are checking out at the same time you may have to wait for one mini-bus load to go & the bus to come back before you can use the service.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldseerCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    193
    35
    4
    3
See reviews for
85
163
29
110
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Very nice hotel with excellent position in the center of town. Pleasant and helpful staff, comfortable and clean rooms, comfortable atmosphere. A wonderful restaurant in the hotel with outdoor garden on the promenade in one of the most beautiful streets of the city. A very wide range of foods, especially rich offer for breakfast. We would strongly recommend this hotel to any tourist or business trips.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baki26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

This is a wonderful hotel -- quiet, well located, comfortable rooms, super well maintained and clean. Breakfast was excellent. One evening, I ordered room service for dinner, at that was terrific, as well. A real stand out is the hotel's staff. They are helpful and friendly way beyond expectations. Case in point -- they arranged for a taxi to pick me up from the airport. Due to bad weather, my flights through Germany were delayed. I emailed the hotel and they stayed in timely contact, rescheduling my pick up to meet my flight when it finally arrived. And this wasn't a quirk -- all other special requests for taxi arrangement, directions to local restaurants and so forth were met with friendliness and enthusiasm. I would gladly stay at the Continentale on my next trip to Trieste.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gmansc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We were arriving by train and wanted a hotel within easy access to the station. We had no trouble walking from the station to the hotel (luggage in tow) and quickly were checked in. Our room, a superior on 4th floor (facing the pedestrian street) was spacious, relatively quiet especially at night), had a comfortable king bed, crisp linen and spacious marble bathroom with small but well appointed shower. Breakfast was enjoyable with good choices of hot and cold items, cereals, fruit and pastries. Well priced hotel and highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claudia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
111 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We stayed here the end of March of this year (2014) for 3 nights while we toured the city of Trieste and environs. We had a fairly long train ride from Milan and when we got in, we were checked into a very large and wonderful room with a small balcony. The restaurant doesn't actually do dinner (at least at this time of year), however, they were happy to make us something and it was delicious (pasta with artichokes). Both the hotel and restaurant staff are just wonderful. Breakfast was great. This hotel is located in a pedestrian only zone with some very good shopping and wine bars right down the street. It is just minutes to the main square and all the historic sites.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CatConnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
US
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Was a most excellent stay... room was great , location perfect for cafés, shopping and sunset on the sea. Staff was great and helpful- in English thank you! Breakfast was varied and better than you usually see in a B&B. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank higbycopeland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Service - No issues with the service - check in was problem free. We had an issue with our wifi code which was sorted out promptly.

Room - Our room was a double on the second floor. The double bed was huge - more like a superking and was very comfortable. There was antique oak furnature in the room which gave it a very regal feel. The room and en-suite were very clean and fresh linen was provided and the bed made on a daily basis.

Location - Ideal location - right in the centre of Trieste. Lots of restaurants nearby.

Breakfast - Amazing breakfast with a selection of continental and cooked options. The breakfast area has a lovely outside area so you can eat in the sunshine

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlieMarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Trieste hotels
0.4 mi away
Starhotels Savoia Excelsior Palace
0.4 mi away
Victoria Hotel Letterario
0.3 mi away
Urban Hotel Design
Urban Hotel Design
#8 of 50 in Trieste
4.0 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Duchi D'Aosta
0.3 mi away
NH Trieste
NH Trieste
#10 of 50 in Trieste
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,571 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Residence L'Albero Nascosto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Continentale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Continentale

Property: Continentale
Address: Via San Nicolo' 25, 34121, Trieste, Italy
Region: Italy > Friuli Venezia Giulia > Province of Trieste > Trieste
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Trieste
#3 Luxury Hotel in Trieste
#4 Romantic Hotel in Trieste
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Continentale 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Continentale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continentale Hotel Trieste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing