We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Riviera & Maximilian's
Ranked #13 of 50 Hotels in Trieste
Certificate of Excellence
Bad Homburg, Germany
Level Contributor
73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“What a view”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The Maximilian’s Residence is situated opposite and above the Hotel Riviera. If you intend to spend some days in this area, Max is a great place to stay. We had a one-room suite. It comprised a double bed, bathroom with shower, a large, enclosed balcony, air conditioning, kitchenette (to have this you must stay 5 days or longer) with fridge, microwave oven, dishwasher, plus all utensils and crockery. The suite was serviced everyday, and what I found very pleasant was that we had fresh towels every day and every 3-4 days fresh bed linen., Breakfast is included in the rate, as well as free Wi-Fi in the room. Staying in Maximilian’s, you can use all the facilities of the Riviera hotel: parking, swimming area, etc. The entrance hall is rather dark and chilly (however, I heard that it will be renovated in the future). But the view from the balcony of the Residence fully compensates for the hallway. You see the Golf of Trieste , the small harbour of Grignano and Miramare castle spread out before you. Breathtaking and ever changing.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    120
    33
    17
    10
See reviews for
54
132
9
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Nice rooms. Great bathrooms. Sea side seating/deckchairs are quite limited when busy. Restaurant overpriced. Breakfast decent. The hotel is about a €20 euro taxi ride back from Trieste (Grand Square area), and €30 from the hotel to the city (+ surcharge). Internet kept falling out from the bedroom, but was fine at reception.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N0M8D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

This hotel's best asset is its location: over the Adriatic, on the slopes of a small cliff, the sea is outside of the windows to smell and gaze day and night. The rooms are split between those in the older hotel below the Strada Costiera and those above it, which- although further away from the restaurant- have a broader view because they are perched higher up. The rooms are pleasant, extremely clean, with a/c for when there is no natural breeze, and good wifi; some could be characterized as small, but for single travelers they are comfortable within European standards.
One needs to use public transportation to reach Trieste, walk for about 1h30' (2/3 of which is a very pleasant stroll on the promenade), or drive. That can be a drawback, especially if one needs to be in Trieste for work. Another drawback is the significant cost to eat at the hotel's restaurant. At the feet of the Castello di Mitamare are 2 restaurants, about 5-10' walk from the hotel. Unfortunately, neither these nor the hotel's own kitchen produce unforgettable meals, and at the cost to eat in house, one is almost obligated to go to Trieste.

I would stay at this hotel again because the location is more important to me than the "inconvenience" of going to town for dinner. But for others the equation might provide a different result.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arlingtonian2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Stayed in may for 2 nights in two different rooms.
The view is absolutely amazing. This is not so easy to find on a coast where the most hotels have no view at all. Theay reopened after a reconstruction and I would say all the precedent reviews can be now forgotten. The food is from good to very good, nice presentation but rather expensive. All staff very helpful, still sometimes I had the impression that in front of many people they would have their difficulties to serve well and in time.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Giorgio K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexBenvenuti, Direttore generale at Hotel Riviera & Maximilian's, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for sharing your experience.

As you rightly said, Hotel Riviera is now a new hotel, which compared to the past, maintains only its outside and its stunning location.

with my best regards,

Alex Benvenuti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

situated just out of trieste, this hotel scores on it's location: built on the cliffs above the sea, all rooms offer a fantastic view of the adriatic... i spent a night there with my girlfriend and waking up in the morning, opening the large windows, looking out at the blue with ships moored at the distance - it was beautiful, romantic and memorable. our room was not too big, but not to the point where it would bother us. the breakfast buffet offered a good selection, nothing outstanding but nothing to complain either; weather permitting, one can sit outside on the large terrace overlooking the sea - nice! the staff was friendly and helpful - some of the other reviews were pretty negative on this issue, nothing i can confirm.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Lovely hotel with fantastic view over the sea. Beautiful restaurant terrace and good food and wine selection. Rooms are not very big but have all the necessary amenities. Most rooms face the sea. Breakfast is good and reception very helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mvzakharova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

A magnificent venue, unfortunately spoiled badly spoiled by stingy maintenance and inadequate 'food and beverage' staffing levels and competence. We were assigned a room in the original wing (built 1898) and found it quaint if somewhat tired. Having spent eight nights there we had the opportunity of observing the various services..... breakfast service: two waiters to serve over a hundred guests; bar: basically un-staffed at all hours and offering very little choices; restaurant: friendly staff but disorganized service, usually behind in trying to catch up with something, be it weather changes or insufficient planning. The restaurant's food is adequate in both quality and presentation.
Front desk competent, friendly and very helpful and room servicing is also in line with the establishment's level. The swimming arrangements are acceptable and as good as they can be given the coast-line nature: there is no beach as such, you enter the water via concrete stairs and the pool is quite a walk off.... these facilities are open to the public and free to the hotel's guests but loungers and umbrellas are - expensively - for hire.
Overall we would concur with other reviewers in that service levels need lots of improvement to deliver the value to be expected at this pricing level.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank F1937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Trieste hotels
5.0 mi away
Starhotels Savoia Excelsior Palace
1.1 mi away
Hotel Miramare
Hotel Miramare
#6 of 50 in Trieste
402 reviews
5.5 mi away
Victoria Hotel Letterario
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Duchi D'Aosta
5.1 mi away
Urban Hotel Design
Urban Hotel Design
#7 of 50 in Trieste
751 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hotel Residence L'Albero Nascosto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riviera & Maximilian's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riviera & Maximilian's

Property: Hotel Riviera & Maximilian's
Address: Strada Costiera 22, 34151, Trieste, Italy
Region: Italy > Friuli Venezia Giulia > Province of Trieste > Trieste
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 50 Hotels in Trieste
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Riviera & Maximilian's 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a natural park, straight on the sea, Hotel Rivera & Maximilian's offers classic, superior and deluxe rooms, as well as suites, all with seaview. Most of the rooms have a private balcony. The breakfast room and the restaurant have big panorama windows on the sea and a large terrace overlooking the Gulf and Miramare Castle. The high level restaurant serves local dishes and from italian tradition, based on fresh fish. The restaurant is an ideal location for weddings, as well as banquets, also for dinner for two with candle light. From the end of May until September our guest can descend to our beach wit a 30 m high lift, where they find a snack bar. The large parking area is free of charge for hotel guests. The conference room, with sea view, is at disposal for meetings. City centre can be reached with city bus nr.6 And in summer with a ship. Free wifi all over the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Riviera & Maximilian's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Riviera And Maximilian`s
Riviera Maximilians Trieste
Riviera Maximilians Hotel Trieste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing