We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, but very noisy”
Review of Albergo alla Posta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Albergo alla Posta
Ranked #7 of 50 Hotels in Trieste
Certificate of Excellence
Minnesota
Level Contributor
186 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Good location, but very noisy”
Reviewed 6 October 2012

I stayed here on business for two nights. It is located on a very busy street. I could not have the window open because of all the noise from people, cars and buses. My room was very disappointing - very small room on top floor, reminded me of a jail cell. It was clean. I think the rooms on lower floors may have been nicer but didn't see any other rooms.
The contintental breakfast was included and was very generous with cereals, meats, cheeses, apples, bread and pastries. I especially liked the coffee machine that was available 24 hours. The lounge and breakfast area was very nice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not overlooking the main square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ReeSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    361
    69
    15
    3
See reviews for
106
262
51
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
florence
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

We overnighted at the Albergo alla Posta and were sorry we didn't have more time to spend there and in Trieste. The staff was exceptionally polite and helpful and our room (three beds) was very clean and very comfortable. Good breakfast. Parking available (your car is taken away when you arrive and brought back to you when you need it). Excellent location. Great value. Excellent restaurant suggestions.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ggflorence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

I had a very good experience in this hotel. The room was at a very high standard for a three star hotel, all the services are top notch, and the staff is professional and helpful.
It's location is perfect, close to the train station and to the city center. This is better than a previous hotel I stayed at that was on the beach at Barcola. There's nothing easier than taking a bus or a boat to Barcola from the city center during the day. However, when going out to the city center at night, it is a great advantage to have the hotel near by. After about 23:00 there are no buses, and the only way to get a cab is call the station, you can't just whistle for a cab on the street (apparently they don't do that in Trieste).

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FatUglyJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin Ireland
Level Contributor
91 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

One night, good location, good staff, good value ... Possibly a little tired internally, but stislid pick and span ... Not fancy and Does what it says on the tin! Definitely on the list of value fork money options in Trieste.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Breakingoutnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

We visited hotel on 7th - 9th July and had wonderful time there. Rooms are nice and clean and we had a lovely balcony. The stuff at the reception were brilliant, helpful and kind. Whatever we asked for they provided for us. When we asked about some outlet centre they printed out the maps and gave us all information we needed. Always with a smile in spite of early hours when we disturbed them with some orders.

The breakfast was fine, not a big variety but enough of ham, mortadella, cheese, eggs and fantastic croissants. Coffee machine was in the lobby and you could help yourself.

The position of the hotel is perfect as all the shops and deprtment stores are in walking distance from it.

I wish to go back to this lovely city and my hotel destination will always be Albergo Alla Posta.

Well done to all the fantastic stuff there.

Room Tip: The best rooms are on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SanjaL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Rooms very clean and comfortable, good shower. Great breakfast. Free internet (ask at recetion for a code). Very helpful and friendly staff. Good location for the bus / train station (approx 5 minutes walk away). Would happily recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NLJSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymington, Hampshire,England
Level Contributor
289 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

I stayed one night

Hotel looks a bit tired from the outside and the lift & landings are from another generation but my room was fine, modern, clean, comfortable bed, good shower and plenty of wardrobe space and looking over the central area so very quiet (as requested).

The breakfast room was fine but there is nowhere else to sit downstairs. Breakast OK - but nothing remarkable - not hot options (eg scrambled eggs/bacon etc.). Coffee from a machine - adequate espresso but nothing remarkable.

My laptop was bust and I needed to confirm my flight and get a boarding pass. There is no guest computer as such but I was allowed to use the hotel PC.

Really easy to get to the railway station, central Trieste shops, waterfront and other sights.

Very friendly and helpful staff.

Room Tip: If quiet is what you want ask - the rooms at the back overlloking the central space were very peacef...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david-the-banker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Trieste hotels
0.6 mi away
Starhotels Savoia Excelsior Palace
0.5 mi away
Victoria Hotel Letterario
0.2 mi away
NH Trieste
NH Trieste
#10 of 50 in Trieste
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hotel Miramare
Hotel Miramare
#8 of 50 in Trieste
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
0.5 mi away
Urban Hotel Design
Urban Hotel Design
#6 of 50 in Trieste
4.0 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Residence L'Albero Nascosto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo alla Posta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo alla Posta

Property: Albergo alla Posta
Address: Piazza Guglielmo Oberdan 1, 34133, Trieste, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Friuli Venezia Giulia > Province of Trieste > Trieste
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Trieste
#6 Business Hotel in Trieste
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo alla Posta 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Albergo alla Posta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Alla Posta Trieste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing