We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good for one night”
Review of Hotel Filoxenia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Filoxenia
Ranked #30 of 50 Hotels in Trieste
Reviewed 4 May 2013

in my opinion hotel should have maximum 2 stars. We booked a room for a family. Room was spacy but it is the only positive thing about it. Room was at fourth floor vis a vis elevator. Since a door are thin like a paper so we could hear every movemement in the hotel. Beds are not comfortable , creaking...
If You go by car ... forget about parking in nearby.
The positive thing is service at the reception desk. Young Lady were helpful and friendly
Breakfast rather poor with limited choice.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarekPoland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2012

Stayed one night prior to cruise. Should have read reviews a bit more carefully. Traveling with our son - stayed in the family room, one king bed and 2 twins. Room was very clean, bedding OK, although my side of the bed was a bit lumpy. Lots of blue ceramic tile on floor of room. Bedspreads very blue and very thin. Room was quiet. Bathroom shower very small. Bathroom towels not terrycloth, more like dishtowels! Location was good - walking distance to pier, restaurants, outdoor cafes. Breakfast was good. Questionable if this should be a 3 star hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kylieh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

Hotel Filoxenina in Trieste is a very nice, calm and relaxed place. It is very close to the central part, you can walk anywhere. The personell is extremely friendly. It is not luxury or top standard but it is good enough for a weeks stay. The breakfast did not have a very big sortiment, but the things was well chosen and it was fully acceptable. The prices are good.

Room Tip: I believe all rooms were quite equal as far as i know.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank answede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank vernitiaj
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We stayed 1 night for the Bruce Springsteen concert. Staff: extremely helpful, especially Federica who went out of her way to help us. Typical Italian air conditioning, in other words, not great but functioning. Breakfast: also typical.

We paid 100 euros on a night when there was not a room available for miles around. Seemed a totally fair price. Easy, 5 minute walk from the train station. Great location for Trieste centro storico.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

We stayed in a family room (4 persons). Room has Not an attraktive Atmosphäre, but was very Big and quiet. Breakfast Buffet Good.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Christoph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2011

I traveled to Trieste in October and stayed three nights. The location is super - a short walk to the Adriatic, to museums, to transportation, to Piazza Unita', to Teatro Verdi! The room was comfortable and clean and quiet, even though my room faced the street. The people working at the hotel were very nice and very helpful. This is a terrific value in a very interesting city.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tobytlk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Trieste hotels
0.2 mi away
Nuovo Albergo Centro
Nuovo Albergo Centro
#11 of 50 in Trieste
440 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Abbazia
Hotel Abbazia
#22 of 50 in Trieste
168 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Capitelli
Hotel Capitelli
#44 of 50 in Trieste
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel James Joyce
Hotel James Joyce
#14 of 50 in Trieste
207 reviews
0.3 mi away
Albergo alla Posta
Albergo alla Posta
#9 of 50 in Trieste
714 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#29 of 50 in Trieste
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Filoxenia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Filoxenia

Address: Via Giuseppe Mazzini 3, 34121, Trieste, Italy
Region: Italy > Friuli Venezia Giulia > Province of Trieste > Trieste
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 50 Hotels in Trieste
Price Range: £57 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Filoxenia 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Filoxenia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Filoxenia Hotel Trieste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing