We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Newly renovated hotel, brand new room”
Review of Hotel Abbazia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Abbazia
Ranked #22 of 50 Hotels in Trieste
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We had a great stay here. The hotel has just been totally renovated so our room had all new furnishings, including bed and mattress. A big plus for us. And spotlessly clean! The couple that run the place were lovely and knew all the ins and outs of the city. The hotel is close to the main train/bus station but importantly on a very quiet street so we slept very well.
Would come back again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SarahP373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (166)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 166 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2013

The hotel is an ideal base from which to explore the city of Trieste. A ten minute walk takes you to the magnificient Piazza Unita' d Italia, the many different churches of Trieste ( Sant' Antonio, Greek and Serb orthodox churches), the Sinagogue, museums etc. The hotel Abbazia is just a 5 minute walk form the train station. We stayed on the first floor. The rooms and bathrooms have been recently refurbished and are spotlessly clean. The staff is very friendly. Breakfast was good especially the cappuccino partly because they serve illy coffee. Illy coffee is produced in Trieste and you can also tour the illy factory. The hotel has got no restaurant but there are so many good restaurants in town. We really enjoyed the Enoteca Nanut in via Genova. Overall a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dona41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012

I took this hotel because they had Wifi, and the address was convenient.
I have never been in a more worn down hotel. The paint was coming of the walls, water stay in the shower, the 1. room I had was so cold I had to sleep in my clothes. When I got another, the only chair was falling apart, they placed a closet so big in there, it had to be angled i a corner,- taking up 10 % of the room.
Safe and mini bar ? forget it..... - leaving things in the hotel safe, ment they tape it in with an envelope around....
I really think I have seen been quality in e.i Thailand on a 350 BHT guesthouse- than on this 105 € hotel.
It it's the only option, it can be used.....- but I hope I never come back....

Room Tip: don't go for 4. floor if it's raining. They have roof windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank byngz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbazia H, Proprietario at Hotel Abbazia, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2013

Dear guest, we are very sorry for the bad experience. We are the new managers of the hotel (from January the 01th, 2013). We are renovating the hotel: new heating, new rooms, a little bit of everything.. Each room has a minibar and a safe, now. We really hope to see You again in a warm and confortable hotel, best regards Kristina e Oriano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Hotel was a very pleasant experience, everybody from front desk to room cleaning to breakfast were friendly and helpful. Hotel and room was clean and attractive. Somewhat expensive. Would stay again on a trip to Trieste, especially if the price could be lowered a bit.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WhoeverYouAre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

We stayed for three nights in this hotel. The staff was very helpful and nice and the reception staff spoke very well English. They even got a doctor to visit our room when my boyfriend was very sick. They also gave us useful sighseeing and restaurant tips. The room was clean and comfortable. The hotel is located close to the train and bus station and it didn't take long to walk to the city center either.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tripsarenice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

I was quite surprised when I came upon this hotel, as it differed GREATLY from the photo of the entrance shown on booking sites.There is no longer a marquee, and compared to the newly renovated Hotel Columbia a few doors down, it looks like no one cares about it, either.

Once stepping inside, the lobby area seemed a little shabby as well. As we had just stayed at a 4* in Bologna, we were quite surprised at the the difference 1* made. The room, a triple, as I was staying with my mom and son, was quite large, utliitarian, and the bathroom was quite narrow - no shower curtain and the water sprayed everywhere.

The hardest beds and pillows I've ever experienced - like sleeping on sodden bags of flour), well-functioning A/C - we got the room down to 17C!

Terrific location, close to the train station, supermarket (a small one, about 1.5 blocks away), major bus stop (take the tram to Opicina!). On a side street, so not as much traffic as one street over, but a late night garbage pickup at the end of the block. Helpful staff (Nicolo was great!), limited breakfast, but GREAT coffee and tasty yogurt. About an 8-10 minute walk down to the main drag.

Room Tip: Higher floor to avoid street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank DivineMsH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2010

Wonderful, polite and friendly staff, free wifi.

Ended up staying an extra few nights in Trieste due to ash cloud from Iceland; the inconvenience was made much more tolerable by finding this friendly, conveniently-located comfortable hotel with free wifi. Would reccommend above several other places in Trieste of similar price (am I allowed to name them?) anyway, they are Hotel Roma and Hotel Alabarda.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank apg7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Trieste hotels
0.2 mi away
Nuovo Albergo Centro
Nuovo Albergo Centro
#11 of 50 in Trieste
438 reviews
0.1 mi away
Albergo alla Posta
Albergo alla Posta
#8 of 50 in Trieste
705 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel James Joyce
Hotel James Joyce
#15 of 50 in Trieste
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Best Western Hotel San Giusto
0.2 mi away
NH Trieste
NH Trieste
#10 of 50 in Trieste
1,726 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Roma
Hotel Roma
#18 of 50 in Trieste
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Abbazia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abbazia

Address: Via della Geppa 20, 34132, Trieste, Italy
Region: Italy > Friuli Venezia Giulia > Province of Trieste > Trieste
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 50 Hotels in Trieste
Price Range: £70 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Abbazia 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Trieste Abbazia is a quality hotel located in a quiet residential street of Trieste, 400 meters from the railway station and the air terminal, and just 200 meters from the central Piazza Oberdan, main transportation junction to all tourist, scientific and industrial destinations of the area. Museums, monuments and restaurants, present in large quantity in the Hasburg town planning and along the shores of the Adriatic sea, can be reached in few minutes through a pleasant walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Abbazia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing