We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not impressed”

Affittacamere Ghega
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Affittacamere Ghega
Ranked #41 of 50 Hotels in Trieste
Reviewed 28 July 2011

I stayed here for 2 nights on my own. On the positive side, it is a fairly handy location, being 15 mins walk into the town, and 5 mins from the train and main bus station. Also on the plus side, I booked a shared room but had a very spacious private room to myself.

My arrival was problem free, I was greeted by a quiet couple who didn't appear to want to answer any questions I had about where to eat/visit etc.

The bathroom was not great., it was spacious but the toilet was filthy. The shower was ok.

The first major problem I had was when I went out and returned to the hostel around midnight, my building front door key clearly did not work. I tried buzzing but had no response. After 20 mins of standing alone and quite concerned on the street by myself, someone (not connected to the hostel) finally entered the building and let me in. There was noone in the hostel when I got upstairs. There was noone in the hostel the next morning when I woke up, or the next afternoon when I got back from siteseeing, so I could not speak to anyone about my key, in fact I felt like I may have been the only person in the whole hostel which was unnerving. The same problem happened when I got back that night, I couldn't get in again and had to stand on my own on the street for half an hour.

The morning I went to check out the owner was quite hostile, he didn't even end his phone conversation to check me out. He accused me of not closing the hostel door (even though I distinctly remember doing it as the door slammed quite loudly - he said he had proof on his security camera), and then told me there was no problem with my key, I just didn't know how to use it properly.

Stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NephOzB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (33)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2011

We stayed in this hotel for 1 night. Based on the written location that it is close to the city centre and the beach, I must say it is a lie. City centre is 15 minutes walking and yet yo are not sure if you are already there because noone is in the city in the evening. The beach is very far, like 15min by car and it has very difficult access to the sea (which is dirty, full of jellyfish and hard stones).
The service is awful, we had to call the number written on the entrance door and then wait for the hotel guy to come in 10 minutes. The accommodation is on the 3rd floor, but at least it has a vintage elevator.
Rooms are very spacey and equipped with ventilator. Bathrooms are shared and are very dirty. There are signs everywhere what not to touch and not to use...
Sleep quality is low because the rooms are situated into the busy street and it is close to the train station.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlameLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2010

We'd booked into this hostel based on relatively positive reviews on here, but our experience was a lot less positive. Firstly, despite having booked ages ahead for a double room, we were given a room with two beds pushed together - this is common and not normally a problem at all but these were two completely different sized beds with very different mattresses meaning that we in fact pushed the beds apart again as trying to treat them as a double bed felt like going on a rollercoaster ride.

The hostel itself is one of these wonderful establishments that insists on putting aggressive notes everywhere 'Close the shower door', 'Don't open the windows', 'Don't flush sanitary products down the toilets' etc etc.

Cleanliness was questionable - I've stayed in a lot worse but it wasn't exactly what I would call clean.

The rooms are very spacious, but unnecessarily so and it results in the whole hostel being extremely echo-y and so when fellow guests come hurtling in after a night out at 2am in the morning, the whole place is woken up.

There were no coffee or tea making facilities, which when it is cold and wet outside would be appreciated. Although there was yet another sign telling guests about a coffeeshop nearby where we could purchase a coffee.

On the positive side, it's very close to the train station so as a quick stopover between Croatia and Venice/rest of Italy it serves a useful purpose. Also the member of staff we met was very friendly and when we asked him for advice on what to do in Triest he was happy to offer us a map and indicated possible places to visit.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kcstar99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank Gianluca D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank MINOU1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giulia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Trieste hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Roma
Hotel Roma
#18 of 50 in Trieste
427 reviews
0.6 mi away
Residence Sara
Residence Sara
#33 of 50 in Trieste
130 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Coppe
Hotel Coppe
#16 of 50 in Trieste
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#28 of 50 in Trieste
154 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Capitelli
Hotel Capitelli
#44 of 50 in Trieste
86 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nuovo Albergo Centro
Nuovo Albergo Centro
#11 of 50 in Trieste
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Affittacamere Ghega? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Affittacamere Ghega

Address: Via Carlo Ghega 3, 34132, Trieste, Italy
Region: Italy > Friuli Venezia Giulia > Province of Trieste > Trieste
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 50 Hotels in Trieste
Price Range: £89 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Affittacamere Ghega reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing